No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rye Lodge Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Hilders Cliff , Rye, TN31 7LD
Located in the heart of the ancient town of Rye, by the 13th Century Land Gate, this hotel offers free car parking, Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna and Champagne Bar.

Perched on the East Cliff with panoramic views across the Estuary and the Romney Marshes, yet close to the High Street with its quaint old shops, tea rooms, pubs and restaurants and within 'a stones throw' of the Landgate, an ancient monument built in 1326 as the Entrance to the town and still standing to this day but a few steps from Rye Lodge. Virtually the whole town within the Citadel is a conservation area designated as of historical interest.

All the 20 luxurious bedrooms at Rye Lodge are furnished and equipped with a rare attention to detail which ensures your comfort whichever style of room you choose. Every room has,Direct Dial Telephone, Satellite Television Radio Hospitality Tray either Shower & W.C. or a luxurious private bathroom en suite.

The Venetian Leisure Centre opened in 2000. Rye Lodge Hotel is the only hotel in the town which has its own leisure centre. Facilities include: heated indoor swimming pool, aromatherapy steam cabinet, sauna, spa bath and exercise cycle. All the facilities in the Venetian Leisure Centre are free of charge and are for the exclusive use of guests staying at Rye Lodge Hotel.

WI-FI is available within the hotel at no extra charge and Breakfast is available everyday.

Picture of Rye Lodge Hotel, Rye at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what we expected from a three-star AA hotel
Bed unmade on arrival but offered coffee whilst we waited.
We expected some form of food in evening for a AA rated hotel

Reviewed by
c howell

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation was very nice, only negatives were curtain pulley system did not work properly on both sets and instructions on safe were very hard to read due to print being too small.
Swimming pool and other facilities were fantastic.
Overall we had a great stay.

Reviewed by
D Williams

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a rip off!
We paid £95 for a £135 room. The staff on reception were unwelcoming, unfriendly, unhelpful and when we turned up to check in there was no apology that our room wasn't ready and no time given as to when it would be. Luckily we did not have a tight schedule but this was a shame as it inevitably impacted on our short stay.
Along with the unfriendly welcome, we were somewhat taken aback by the. Reception and 'Champagne Bar'. My husband was quick to draw on the similarities between Rye Lodge and Fawulty Towers.
Once we were allowed to check in, we were disappointed by the room. Although clean, it was laughably dated and overly decorated. This isn't a big problem normally but considering we'd paid neArly £100 it seemed we were being completely over charged. The door didn't fit the frame and the toilet didn't flush properly.
The 'spa' was far from what I would call a spa but was a welcome addition to our stay.
Rye Lodge needs to reassess the service they offer.

Reviewed by
K Fraser

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a rip off!
We paid £95 for a £135 room. The staff on reception were unwelcoming, unfriendly, unhelpful and when we turned up to check in there was no apology that our room wasn't ready and no time given as to when it would be. Luckily we did not have a tight schedule but this was a shame as it inevitably impacted on our short stay.
Along with the unfriendly welcome, we were somewhat taken aback by the. Reception and 'Champagne Bar'. My husband was quick to draw on the similarities between Rye Lodge and Fawulty Towers.
Once we were allowed to check in, we were disappointed by the room. Although clean, it was laughably dated and overly decorated. This isn't a big problem normally but considering we'd paid neArly £100 it seemed we were being completely over charged. The door didn't fit the frame and the toilet didn't flush properly.
The 'spa' was far from what I would call a spa but was a welcome addition to our stay.
Rye Lodge needs to reassess the service they offer.

Reviewed by
K Fraser

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little piece of 50s England (including stewed prunes)
This hotel is stuck in a time warp.
The positives:
Staff are very eager to please.
The position is excellent. Most of Rye's "attractions" are within walking distance.
Free car parking
Nice towels and pleasant toiletries
Lots of milk sachets, teas and coffees.
The rest
Imagine Groundhog Day returning you to the Queen's jubiliee daily.
Everywhere there are pictures of the Queen, menus from dinners 10-20 years ago and the most awful kitsch pictures and furniture.
We were in the "Attic Suite" reached up 2 flights of stairs and then a cramped and very steep final set that I had to struggle with a suitcase up. No lifts and no assistance. Understandable, as the staff were in their 60s, 70s and possibly 80s.
The suite itself had 2 areas and a bathroom.
The bath had a shower attachment but no curtains so a shower was impossible. Taps when turned on obviously activated a pump to get water up to the attic. The noise was similar to standing 10 yds from a helicopter and at night was positively frightening.
The ceiling was at angles into the roof. In 3 days I managed to hit my head at least ten times. Once quite severely. It was impossible to reach the bed without contortions.
The room also had a sofa and good tv.
We chose this hotel because it was advertised as having a pool and spa facilities. We went the afternoon we arrived. The receptionist looked slightly surprised when we asked about it and said we should collect towels from her and she would turn on the sauna and the spa pool. We did.
On reaching the "Venetian" spa it was clear we were probably the first users for a very long time.
The steam "closet" was broken, the jacuzzi was the same temperature as the pool and the pool itself was absolutely freezing. We did swim while waiting for the sauna to warm up a bit. It was never really hot but was better than the temp of the pool. The sauna is however a bit of a safety hazard. It is tiny and the sauna coals are unprotected. Most residents are pensioners and would it be very easy to slip and fall onto them. One window in cabin was cracked.
When we went to the shower/changing room showers were less than wonderful.
We visited the pool twice more and the towels we left under the bench each time (as instructed) were still there on our last visit.
We ordered in advance the full cooked breakfast which cost £12.50 each.
The dining room is frozen in time, again the 50s.
The cold buffet "sideboard" was packets of cereal, prunes in syrup, tinned grapefruit segments, individual yoghurts and apples, pears and bananas.
Only bread available was brown or white toasted sliced bread.
Cooked breakfast served to you from a choice of classic english or smoked haddock/kippers.
Again, the room, the food, the service seemed like a time machine trip back to 1955. Some may like it but it felt like a B&B, not a hotel.
The "champagne bar" had a tiny fridge with a couple of beers and cokes. Don't go expecting bar facilities as usual in a hotel
Essentially this place is for those in their 70s. One younger French family looked perpetually embarrassed.
I think this is the Britain UKIP is yearning to return to.

Reviewed by
Alan M

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Nice Surprise
Located right in the heart of Rye in the high part of town, the first impression was good. The breakfasts looked a bit pricy so we didn't have that. ideally located for strolling around the town and picking out a restaurant.

Reviewed by
Geoff S

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We have stayed in rye before and booked this accommodation as a late get away.The staff were all very helpful and welcoming, explaining how to reach the car park which is situated behind the hotel. Our room was quite small but nicely furnished. The bathroom was a decent size with a lovely deep bath. The room was very warm as the heating was on high, but it was easy to turn the radiators down to a more bearable temperature. Breakfast was included in our price and was lovely, however on our second day it was a little slow as there was a problem in the kitchen. We later found out that there was an electrical problem in the hotel.
My husband used the pool and sauna which opened at 7.30 in the morning!
The only negative I would have is that the wifi was intermittent and the tv reception was not that great, this did not spoil our stay as we were hardly in our room.

Reviewed by
Gill J

From Chessington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with a few concerns
I chose this particular hotel over others in the area, because of the mention of their pool and spa facilities. The pool is 1.2m deep, and the spa adjoins it, so that the water from the spa flows into the pool. This means that the spa is kept cool, rather than warm. That said, the jets are great, and I did relax completely as a result of being in it, it just wasn't quite what I expected. The sauna was lovely, and not set too hot, so I could actually enjoy being in it.
The walls of all the corridors have lovely period prints, so do spend some time having a wander around to look at these, especially the ones on the hallway and staircase leading to the pool. They're really elegant. My room was nicely presented, complete with chandelier, and a little sitting area beneath the window. As well as tea, coffee and biscuits, there was shower gel, mouthwash, a shower cap, mini-sewing kit, and a pack containing cotton earbuds and cotton wool, so I was well-catered for.
The locks were good (they could use a light just above the lock on the external door, for those customers who come in late at night), so it felt secure. I was glad of that, because when I left my room (to head down to the spa) in the morning, I was startled to find that the fire exit door opposite had been left propped open, to let in the breeze.
I came back to the room about 10:30am, and heard housekeeping knock on several of the doors. Perhaps this ensures people are out before the noon checkout, but I prefer a system where housekeeping don't disturb the guests until shortly before checkout time.
If you're after a beautifully presented hotel, close to the Rye Landgate, this may well be a good option for you. Be aware though, that it does have a fair few stairs, which may be relevant for the mobility-impaired.

Reviewed by
Deborah F

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location and helpful staff. Rooms a little on the small side especially the en suite but the charm of the whole hotel makes up for this. Breakfast a little on the expensive side.

Reviewed by
Tina P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break at Rye Lodge
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rye Lodge hotel. Our accomodation was superb and the staff were attentive. Despite being at the front of the hotel near the road there was no obtrusive noise even with the windows open in hot weather.
My wife unfortunately left a pair of trousers in our room on departure and these were returned in a timely fashion.
My only slight criticism would be the limited choice for continental breakfast where maybe a selection of nuts or seeds and some croissants would be nice. The full english menu was fine.

Reviewed by
alan j

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next