No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tailrace Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Riverside Road, Kinlochleven, PH50 4QH
A warm welcome awaits guests and the clean fresh rooms offer a great space to relax.
Each room offers double and single beds as required suitable for couples, families or small groups.

All rooms have the following:
High quality bed linen and towels
Oil fired central heating
Tea & coffee making facilities
Hairdryer
LCD TVs with integrated DVD players.
Midge screens are fitted on all windows in the summer months.
Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the inn
We have a drying room available for guests and also offer a laundry service
Picture of Tailrace Inn, Kinlochleven at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great walking base
A warm welcome from friendly and efficient staff. Comfortable family room shared by three adults but room for five.
enjoyed both a very good evening meal and good, freshly cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
Colin F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great wee place to stay.friendly staff and great food&drink

Reviewed by
DAVID HENDERSON

From paisley, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation at a
great location

Reviewed by
Siva K

From Stanmore, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tailrace Inn
A lovely little Inn in beautiful surroundings. Stayed for 2 nights room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Had breakfast and dinner twice good wholesome food reasonably priced, as were the drinks in the bar. Would definitely recommend!

Reviewed by
J Young

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic Accomodation Great Location for WHW
Stayed here for one night. The location is ideal if you are doing the West Highland Way and so I think that is why the room price is what it is.
The room is quite small and very basic but reasonably clean.
We ate in the bar and the food was classic pub grub but well cooked. The bar staff were also friendly but I could see that on a friday or saturday night when the pub is busy with locals it could get a bit indimidating.
I don't think this place is value for money as the following evening we stayed in an inn in Arrocher which was the same price and the room was much larger, more modern and cleaner.

Reviewed by
Zoe W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly welcoming place to stay, decent food but walls between rooms are paper thin
We really enjoyed staying at the Tailrace in all aspects apart from one. On entering the Inn the hall area seems a bit dated and you go into the bar to register. The room was a step up from the entrance with fresh decoration and nice clean fresh feel about it. We ate in the bar the food was basic fare filling and enjoyable. After a hard days mountain biking we went to bed early and zonked out pretty quickly. The two guests next door arrived back in their room around 12 and were joking and laughing. I normally sleep through anyhting but the walls are so thin the noise woke me up and I felt as though I was in the room with them. After about an hour of trying to sleep through it I had to get up and ask them if they could talk quietly. Luckily they were decent blokes and apologised. Next thing they were asleep and one of them started shouting in his sleep an snoring loudly at this point I gave up and start reading until I was so exhasuted and snorer next door had piped down I eventually got to sleep around 4. Breakfast was good.
Would I stay again? The room are a good size clean and fresh the owners are very accomodating and there is a good atmosphere but the walls between the rooms desperately need some sound proofing. So yes I would stay ther again but I would definately take ear plugs and headphones.

Reviewed by
david w

From Peebles, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it was great
we found the tailrace to be exactly as we were hoping, for..,staff were friendly and the owner was 1st class,, really nice lady,,, food was good,, traditional pub grub ,,serving late into the evening which was great because we arrived at 8;40,,, rooms were clean and tidy,,,, breakfast was also good ,,with a variety to choose from,, will def stay again

Reviewed by
claire c

From forfar, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for tired walkers
A reasonable pub/hotel, food and bar area quite nice, room and fittings a little tired, but adequate to rest over for one evening. Drying room very limited considering quite a few walking the West Highland Way wanted to use it. Nice staff.

Reviewed by
S Richards

From Christchurch, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Está bien, en un sitio precioso y tranquilo. La comida, buenísima
Las habitaciones son un poco pequeñas (aunque eso, con los precios de Escocia, es lo habitual) pero el sitio está muy bien, la gente es amable, a pesar de tener bar abajo no tuvimos nada de ruido para dormir y el sitio es precioso. La cena, estupenda

Reviewed by
Elena P

From Spain
Who stayed in August 2012

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.