No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Buckingham's Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
85-87 Newbold Road , Chesterfield, S41 7PU
Buckingham’s Award Winning Hotel is the gateway to the Peak District National Park and Chatsworth House plus many more attractions. Originally a pair of Victorian semi detached houses that have been sympathetically converted into this attractive, comfortable and relaxed hotel in Newbold, a residential area of Chesterfield. Nick, Tina, Vicci, Emma and Will Buckingham are well known for their warm and friendly hotel, which specialises in superlative food. The hotel’s modern facilities are combined with an attention to detail and quality of service. The homely hotel bedrooms are full of those little personal touches that you would expect. All ten bedrooms are well appointed and cater for guests traveling either on business or for pleasure. We have focused on increasing the space and quality of the bedrooms. Buckingham's is well known for the Restaurant with One Table and Clowns Conservatory Restaurant, which are both unique and have no menus; it means we can prepare your meal to your personal requirements with the emphasis on quality and freshness.

Please note, the hotel closes at 02:00, after which point the front entrance will be locked.

A 3% surcharged applies to all Credit Card transactions.
Picture of Buckingham's Hotel, Chesterfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No hot water for a nice bath after long travel .and again no hot water for a bath in the morning.but breakfast was ok

Reviewed by
R Prince

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food Heaven
Only slight problem was the room - it was fine, but impossible to see out of the window. Bathroom very good. Which brings us to the food. To describe it as excellent does not do it justice. Dinner without a menu is an unusual concept outside the home but the result was fantastic. We opted for a single course and have regretted it ever since, should have had a starter as well! Breakfast was as good with an excellent choice albeit with a surcharge for any of the three smoked fish dishes.

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From Eye, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value stay!
Quiet nice room. Good public area decoration and Crown collection. Very good breakfast.

Reviewed by
MIAN M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Female Business Guest
This hotel is a refreshing change from the branded big chains. It is a family business and is a quirky alternative which I would recommend. My local customer had referred to the "Surprise" Dinner idea which means that the chef chooses your meal. I thought the idea quite fun and was intrigued to see what he had decided on. The food was excellent, everything was freshly cooked. Breakfast consisted of their own home made produce, and really good that was too! The decor was tasteful throughout the hotel, with free wi fi. The dining room was a surprise, I will leave it to you to stay there to find out....

Reviewed by
C Lowe

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
Very welcome arrival and check in. Lovely big room with an extremely comfy bed! The full breakfast was carefully prepared, packed full of home made/cured produce and very tasty. The homemade bread was excellent. We would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Carolyn W

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
room was fine, breakfast excellent

Reviewed by
andrew g

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant, friendly hotel
A friendly, family run hotel with spacious, clean rooms and superb food. The owners were very helpful and told us about local places to visit and where to eat. Breakfast was superb as owner is a chef and makes his own bread, sausages, black puddings, jams and marmalades ( and anything else you can think of! ). The only reason not to stay at this hotel would be if you want a guaranteed parking space outside ( although parking in the next road was no problem ), or if you have a phobia of clowns.

Reviewed by
Gayle Watkins

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank goodness: did not have to scour a menu but leave matters in Chef's (Proprieter's) hands, entirely. What a joy, and superb too!

Reviewed by
JOSEPHINE FORREST

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay to see the pedak district
we were greeted with a warm family welcome our room food and everything was perfect the chef was left alone to serve us our 3 coarse meal and quality value for money

Reviewed by
francis cavanagh

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel with that personal touch
I travel a lot for work and a decent, comfortable hotel with friendly people makes all the difference. Unfortunately, due to business, I was unable to sample the dinner at the hotel but I was delighted by the breakfast. There was a wide choice and the standard was excellent.

Reviewed by
A Rowan

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next