No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Buckingham's Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
85-87 Newbold Road , Chesterfield, S41 7PU
Buckingham’s Award Winning Hotel is the gateway to the Peak District National Park and Chatsworth House plus many more attractions. Originally a pair of Victorian semi detached houses that have been sympathetically converted into this attractive, comfortable and relaxed hotel in Newbold, a residential area of Chesterfield. Nick, Tina, Vicci, Emma and Will Buckingham are well known for their warm and friendly hotel, which specialises in superlative food. The hotel’s modern facilities are combined with an attention to detail and quality of service. The homely hotel bedrooms are full of those little personal touches that you would expect. All ten bedrooms are well appointed and cater for guests traveling either on business or for pleasure. We have focused on increasing the space and quality of the bedrooms. Buckingham's is well known for the Restaurant with One Table and Clowns Conservatory Restaurant, which are both unique and have no menus; it means we can prepare your meal to your personal requirements with the emphasis on quality and freshness.

Please note, the hotel closes at 02:00, after which point the front entrance will be locked.

A 3% surcharged applies to all Credit Card transactions.
Picture of Buckingham's Hotel, Chesterfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant, friendly hotel
A friendly, family run hotel with spacious, clean rooms and superb food. The owners were very helpful and told us about local places to visit and where to eat. Breakfast was superb as owner is a chef and makes his own bread, sausages, black puddings, jams and marmalades ( and anything else you can think of! ). The only reason not to stay at this hotel would be if you want a guaranteed parking space outside ( although parking in the next road was no problem ), or if you have a phobia of clowns.

Reviewed by
Gayle Watkins

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank goodness: did not have to scour a menu but leave matters in Chef's (Proprieter's) hands, entirely. What a joy, and superb too!

Reviewed by
JOSEPHINE FORREST

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay to see the pedak district
we were greeted with a warm family welcome our room food and everything was perfect the chef was left alone to serve us our 3 coarse meal and quality value for money

Reviewed by
francis cavanagh

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel with that personal touch
I travel a lot for work and a decent, comfortable hotel with friendly people makes all the difference. Unfortunately, due to business, I was unable to sample the dinner at the hotel but I was delighted by the breakfast. There was a wide choice and the standard was excellent.

Reviewed by
A Rowan

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Week-end in Derby Dales
Found many hairs in bedding and on bathroom floor. Although we had seen picture of the room the décor is very dated and although the breakfast was excellent it was slightly spoilt by dirty condiment set on table plus water marks on coffee pots.

Reviewed by
M Johnson

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gourmet breakfast
the hotel is very handy for the city centre just a 10 minute stroll it is spotlessly clean and very very quiet our breakfast was superb fresh eggs home cured bacon home made black pudding home made sausage tomatoes mushrooms and fried bread and a extensive range of home made jams to go with your toast. all in all a very pleasant exoerience we would recommend this hotel to anyone .

Reviewed by
kevin reynoldson

From burnhope, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great, friendly, welcoming couple run the B&B. Food excellent.

Reviewed by
J Aram

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent small hotel with fantastic food.
Beautifully looked after hotel with a lot of thought and flexibility for the guests. The breakfasts were particularly good, especially the pork and chive sausages!

Reviewed by
Dennis B

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best little discovery in the UK
I can't more highly recommend this lovely little hotel. The whole family made the experience fantastic, the accommodation was excellent, customer service stellar and the food divine.

Reviewed by
Mheyah Bailey

From North Vancouver, Canada
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful hotel
Had a one night stay, room very clean and comfortable though two large reedy bears on the bed did nothing for me and took up space. Some decent biscuits in the room would have been nice. Minor things I know. En suite fine, good size, shower could do with more power. Staff extremely helpful, an early breakfast cooked for me to accommodate my need to leave early. Food excellent, all freshly cooked and done to a very high standard. Nice bar area to have a drink. Dining room very nice, though too many decorative clowns for me. Food presentation and service excellent. I would stay there again if in area. Reduced price offer made it good value for money, I wouldn't have said so if I had been paying full price as bedroom not the higher price bracket quality.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next