No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Buckingham's Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
85-87 Newbold Road , Chesterfield, S41 7PU
Buckingham’s Award Winning Hotel is the gateway to the Peak District National Park and Chatsworth House plus many more attractions. Originally a pair of Victorian semi detached houses that have been sympathetically converted into this attractive, comfortable and relaxed hotel in Newbold, a residential area of Chesterfield. Nick, Tina, Vicci, Emma and Will Buckingham are well known for their warm and friendly hotel, which specialises in superlative food. The hotel’s modern facilities are combined with an attention to detail and quality of service. The homely hotel bedrooms are full of those little personal touches that you would expect. All ten bedrooms are well appointed and cater for guests traveling either on business or for pleasure. We have focused on increasing the space and quality of the bedrooms. Buckingham's is well known for the Restaurant with One Table and Clowns Conservatory Restaurant, which are both unique and have no menus; it means we can prepare your meal to your personal requirements with the emphasis on quality and freshness.

Please note, the hotel closes at 02:00, after which point the front entrance will be locked.

A 3% surcharged applies to all Credit Card transactions.
Picture of Buckingham's Hotel, Chesterfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Week-end in Derby Dales
Found many hairs in bedding and on bathroom floor. Although we had seen picture of the room the décor is very dated and although the breakfast was excellent it was slightly spoilt by dirty condiment set on table plus water marks on coffee pots.

Reviewed by
M Johnson

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gourmet breakfast
the hotel is very handy for the city centre just a 10 minute stroll it is spotlessly clean and very very quiet our breakfast was superb fresh eggs home cured bacon home made black pudding home made sausage tomatoes mushrooms and fried bread and a extensive range of home made jams to go with your toast. all in all a very pleasant exoerience we would recommend this hotel to anyone .

Reviewed by
kevin reynoldson

From burnhope, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great, friendly, welcoming couple run the B&B. Food excellent.

Reviewed by
J Aram

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent small hotel with fantastic food.
Beautifully looked after hotel with a lot of thought and flexibility for the guests. The breakfasts were particularly good, especially the pork and chive sausages!

Reviewed by
Dennis B

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best little discovery in the UK
I can't more highly recommend this lovely little hotel. The whole family made the experience fantastic, the accommodation was excellent, customer service stellar and the food divine.

Reviewed by
Mheyah Bailey

From North Vancouver, Canada
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful hotel
Had a one night stay, room very clean and comfortable though two large reedy bears on the bed did nothing for me and took up space. Some decent biscuits in the room would have been nice. Minor things I know. En suite fine, good size, shower could do with more power. Staff extremely helpful, an early breakfast cooked for me to accommodate my need to leave early. Food excellent, all freshly cooked and done to a very high standard. Nice bar area to have a drink. Dining room very nice, though too many decorative clowns for me. Food presentation and service excellent. I would stay there again if in area. Reduced price offer made it good value for money, I wouldn't have said so if I had been paying full price as bedroom not the higher price bracket quality.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem where you MUST dine in the restaurant
A wonderful welcome from the family at Buckingham's, A comfortable night's rest in clean room with all we needed. Ours was an attic room with a sloping ceiling and not much of a view but as we only slept there for one night was perfectly fine. What was totally amazing and unexpected was the restaurant - a 'surprise' 3 course menu which was absolutely delicious from starter to pudding and served by the Chef himself in the restaurant run by his lovely, outgoing and very capable wife. It all made our overnight stay into a great short break. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top-notch, excellent, quality, succulent and well-prepared lamb shank for a 3-star hotel. Excellent food all round.
Good customer service and would defintely use again.

Reviewed by
R Ogunleye

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The customer service and the food was excellent and they made you feel at home.

Reviewed by
kevin m

From Washington, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spoilt by penny pinching and lack of car parking
Chesterfield seems to lack a good hotel so one tends to be forced to stay in what amounts to a glorified B & B such as Buckinghams. I decided to try Buckinghams given the excellent reviews it has had. On arrival I was lucky to obtain use of one of the 4 parking places. Most guests have to park on the street round the corner but this on-street parking is only available for a small part of the day so if you want to leave your car at Buckinghams, it may be a problem. My next task was to iron the shirts which has become creased in my small suitcase. No irons are provided for the guests but use may be made of the ironing facility used by the staff. The bedroom was well presented but the net curtain had not been washed for some time, the room had something of a musty smell and the noises from the plumbing had to be heard to be believed. Clearly, using the loo during the night would waken most of the guests, if not most of the street ! Having a few minutes to spare, I asked if any newspapers were available, only to be told that these were not provided. I ate my evening meal elsewhere but breakfast was freshly cooked . Refills did not appear to be available either for orange juice or for tea and it seemed that the amount of milk available had been carefully calculated to avoid any danger of waste. A single rasher of bacon was provided where two is the norm, in my experience, in those places where a buffet service is not available. On departure I paid by credit card, discovering that this cost a further 3% above the price indicated by Laterooms, applied to both the room cost and the VAT on the room cost. VAT was then applied again on the 3% surcharge, making the total surcharge for using a credit card 3.2%.

Reviewed by
Paul J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next