No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Hart Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
West Street , Wiveliscombe, TA4 2JP
The White Hart is a former coaching inn dating back some 350 years, standing in the old town of Wiveliscombe it offers the ideal base for both business and pleasure with its combination of traditional qualities and modern facilities.
Located at the foot of the Brendon Hills and nearby Quantocks Wiveliscombe provides a gateway to Exmoor and is a perfect place if you love walking and the great outdoors. Close to both Taunton and Wellington it is an ideal location for the business traveller who wants something individual.

Following major renovations it obtained a high scoring AA 4 star inn rating with the inspector commenting that “The White Hart has been transformed and the high standards now offered are a credit to the new proprietor and chef. ”

Real Homemade Local Food
Over recent years the White Hart has grown a reputation for high quality home cooked food using locally sourced produce. This commitment has resulted in the White Hart being shortlisted as one of four national finalists in the 2008 Publican Food and Drink awards for local food pub of the year. On offer is the daily changing menu as well as the White Hart Pub Classics.

Real Local Ale
Ales from Wiveliscombe’s two breweries Cotleigh and Exmoor are regularly on offer. In addition a variety of other regional and award winning guest ales are always available.

Real Friendly Service
A relaxed and friendly welcome awaits you to this still little discovered corner of Somerset.

Ensuite Rooms
The White Hart offers 16 quality en-suite rooms which are competitively priced and offer a welcome alternative to the lodge accommodation. Each room is individual in character whilst offering flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, telephones and double glazing.
Picture of White Hart Hotel, Wiveliscombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Hart Hotel
Very good value for money

Reviewed by
Y Bealey

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location not far from M5 all the staff were friendly food was good i will stay here again

Reviewed by
andrew bretton

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay very much, very polite staff and the food was very good

Reviewed by
L Holland

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff are excellent
We had a very enjoyable stay at the White Hart. The family room is spacious and comfortable - the only possible quibble is that there's a streetlight just outside so, if travelling with young children, you may want to bring a blackout blind. We ate dinner and breakfast, and both were very good indeed. There was a good range of options, and proper food on the children's menu. Service at dinner was rather slow, but the front of house brought us colouring pencils and paper for the children, and came back to tell us what was happening. All the staff we met were excellent, and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, and to make things easy for the children.

Reviewed by
Susan N

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great food
a good hotel with a great breakfast.
Rooms clean and fresh.
Only downside,pillows could be better!

Reviewed by
mark Tynan

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Great price, friendly staff and good food

Reviewed by
Hannah S

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good, straightforward and attentive staff, good food, friendly service
thank you White Hart!

Reviewed by
J Rowlands-Pritchard

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nicely suprised most hotels I've experienced in buildings of character like the hart have afantastic
Sorry I will carry on .most hotels like the hart have a fantastic reception then when you go beyond the the door to your room it feels like you have been sent to room 101. A lovely surprise when it's in reverse. No grumpy staff very helpful including the locals. A lovely hotel in a lovely country town.some lovely shops. Nearby I had booked two nights originally and unfortunately had to leave the next day I thought I would have to pay for both.the simple fact that I wasn't charged for both makes me want to come back because the whole experience felt honest and lovely thank you all at the White hart.

Reviewed by
Michael Dera

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A last minute booking turned out to be a gem!
Lovely hotel with extremely friendly staff- even helped us take all the baby gear out to the car. Room was spacious and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was fab and hubby was even allowed an extra egg and sausage! Will be coming back again soon - thanks guys!

Reviewed by
R Wilson

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely clean place to stay.Room was very large. Friendly atmosphere, perfect for our stay as a family of four with two young children.

Reviewed by
L Dyson

From halesowen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next