No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Hart Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
West Street , Wiveliscombe, TA4 2JP
The White Hart is a former coaching inn dating back some 350 years, standing in the old town of Wiveliscombe it offers the ideal base for both business and pleasure with its combination of traditional qualities and modern facilities.
Located at the foot of the Brendon Hills and nearby Quantocks Wiveliscombe provides a gateway to Exmoor and is a perfect place if you love walking and the great outdoors. Close to both Taunton and Wellington it is an ideal location for the business traveller who wants something individual.

Following major renovations it obtained a high scoring AA 4 star inn rating with the inspector commenting that “The White Hart has been transformed and the high standards now offered are a credit to the new proprietor and chef. ”

Real Homemade Local Food
Over recent years the White Hart has grown a reputation for high quality home cooked food using locally sourced produce. This commitment has resulted in the White Hart being shortlisted as one of four national finalists in the 2008 Publican Food and Drink awards for local food pub of the year. On offer is the daily changing menu as well as the White Hart Pub Classics.

Real Local Ale
Ales from Wiveliscombe’s two breweries Cotleigh and Exmoor are regularly on offer. In addition a variety of other regional and award winning guest ales are always available.

Real Friendly Service
A relaxed and friendly welcome awaits you to this still little discovered corner of Somerset.

Ensuite Rooms
The White Hart offers 16 quality en-suite rooms which are competitively priced and offer a welcome alternative to the lodge accommodation. Each room is individual in character whilst offering flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, telephones and double glazing.
Picture of White Hart Hotel, Wiveliscombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely clean place to stay.Room was very large. Friendly atmosphere, perfect for our stay as a family of four with two young children.

Reviewed by
L Dyson

From halesowen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel. Lovely food. Staff were friendly. Room was huge! Only criticism is that it lacked finishing touches. Shower curtain was old and curtains and Winow net need replacing. Only small things but it made the room feel grubby.

Reviewed by
A Evans

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great little hotel
Booked into the White Hart at short notice due to previous booking not answering the door , the room was clean and spacious and the staff were polite and welcoming.We had evening dinner and the quality of the food was excellent , I would definitely stop there again

Reviewed by
Craig West

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
The white Hart had everything we needed for our stay. We were working locally and myself and two colleagues stayed overnight. Great to be able to finish work and not worry about where to find a meal later. Would definitely stay again. Thanks

Reviewed by
J Ayres

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We chose this accommodation as it was close to the Western Steam Railway depot.Overall we enjoyed the brief stay, the food was good and the staff very helpful. Bed comfortable. Only criticisms were the very noisy ventilation pipe outside our room which fortunately went quiet around 10.30 otherwise sleep would have been difficult. Also the shower tended to flood and there was mould on the shower ceiling.

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and comfy bed, wifi worked well on laptop but not on tablet, full English breakfast was well cooked with good service, would stay here again, value for money

Reviewed by
William G

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disturbed nights sleep!
We stayed in room 5. Unfortunately the floor of the room above was incredibly creaky and we were woken twice in the early hours ( and I can usually sleep anywhere!! ) The waste pipe from the room above (which was also very noisy ) came down through our room, about a metre from the bed!
Having said that the room was clean and comfortable and the shower was good as was the breakfast.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away Shooting experience
Stayed over the weekend with friends. Excellent food and beers. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
david s

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food ,glorious food !
The food and drinks was excellent and reasonably priced.Can't fault the service either.Well done the White Hart, The rooms were a bit dated but this was reflected in the price.

Reviewed by
John F

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lovely Stay
A warm, friendly hotel.

Reviewed by
Mark Dunn

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next