No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Hart Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
West Street , Wiveliscombe, TA4 2JP
The White Hart is a former coaching inn dating back some 350 years, standing in the old town of Wiveliscombe it offers the ideal base for both business and pleasure with its combination of traditional qualities and modern facilities.
Located at the foot of the Brendon Hills and nearby Quantocks Wiveliscombe provides a gateway to Exmoor and is a perfect place if you love walking and the great outdoors. Close to both Taunton and Wellington it is an ideal location for the business traveller who wants something individual.

Following major renovations it obtained a high scoring AA 4 star inn rating with the inspector commenting that “The White Hart has been transformed and the high standards now offered are a credit to the new proprietor and chef. ”

Real Homemade Local Food
Over recent years the White Hart has grown a reputation for high quality home cooked food using locally sourced produce. This commitment has resulted in the White Hart being shortlisted as one of four national finalists in the 2008 Publican Food and Drink awards for local food pub of the year. On offer is the daily changing menu as well as the White Hart Pub Classics.

Real Local Ale
Ales from Wiveliscombe’s two breweries Cotleigh and Exmoor are regularly on offer. In addition a variety of other regional and award winning guest ales are always available.

Real Friendly Service
A relaxed and friendly welcome awaits you to this still little discovered corner of Somerset.

Ensuite Rooms
The White Hart offers 16 quality en-suite rooms which are competitively priced and offer a welcome alternative to the lodge accommodation. Each room is individual in character whilst offering flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, telephones and double glazing.
Picture of White Hart Hotel, Wiveliscombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay here
I went with my wife to stay here i couldnt beloieve the value for money. Special thanks to the bar man who greeted us and made us feel so welcome. Room was more than adequate and had a really nice sleep. Breakfast was really good and again the staff very polite and would get you anything you needed. Met the owner who also made us feel very welcome. We did find it hard to park but another man who runs the pizza shop at the rear of the hotel advised us to park on pavement at the rea of the property, again so helpful and moved his car to let us get in. All in all a very pleasant stay with great food and great company, well done, we would stay again. Dave C

Reviewed by
D Coles

From Shifnal, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant
very pleasant little village to stay hotel staff were very friendly.breakfast was very nice.

Reviewed by
s harris

From Wakefield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about the weather
The hotel is very old and creaky, full of winding stairs etc and you can smell the wood burner as soon as you enter the property. The check in was swift and pleasant and we were shown to our room quickly. The room was clean and tidy and warm which was very welcome after a few hours walking around Bath Xmas Markets in the rain!! We didnt eat evening meal at the hotel but we wished that we had of booked a table as there is nothing in the village apart from another pub across the road, which was very nice and served lovely cider with which to watch the Rugby with. However, we did find a little pizza takeaway at the bottom of the road so we ordered pizza and ate in our room.
Breakfast the following morning was a bit hit and miss. There was orange juice to help yourself to and also individual packets of cereal and then a member of staff ( who didnt really have great social skills ) took our order for tea/coffee and then cooked breakfast. He omitted to ask if we wanted toast and when we asked a young waiter for some he forgot all about us. When we chased it up he then brought only one piece and not the requested 3 pieces! Overall it was a clean and tidy stopover in which to lay our heads after a buzy day and at the pice of £39.00 for bed and breakfast for the two of us we couldnt really grumble.

Reviewed by
K Turner

From Barry, Wales
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little tired round the edges in the room, but nothing 'bad' A great hotel to stop in when travelling in the area. I will look to stay again soon.

Reviewed by
Neil E

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming host. Efficient service. Cooperative staff. Hearty breakfast. No hassles. No disappointments.

Reviewed by
D C

From , England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

whate hart stay
the quality of the hotel was very good staff friendly food EXCELLENT The only criticisms i have is the black mould around the bathroom and bedroom windows which is a health hazzard to people who suffer with chest promblems like me if these were sorted then it would be an excellent hotel to stay in i would stay again if i knew it was clear of mould

Reviewed by
maureen k

From Poole, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed on a saturday night with our 2 children aged 14 and 7 years. This was our first stay in a pub hotel and we were pleasantly surprised as there was very little noise and the room was clean and a good spacious size. We've decided to stay again for a short break. Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Susan O

From Northampton, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room and hotel was lovely for the price, food was ok but we only had breakfast as thought the meals were pricey in comparison to the price of the room. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
a lancaster

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Hart is great
Staff were very friendly,polite & effiicient and accomodating, the room was very comfortable & clean. Shower worked very well. Breakfast was lovely and I was pleased that they offered veggie sausages and a very decent "full" veggie breakfast. The town itself seemed very pleasant, although our stay was brief. Do note there was only one cash machine in the town in the co-op which was closed, although the White Hart offered cashback. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Tom O'Shea

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, Hotel full of charachter, excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
C Clow

From Portsmouth, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6