No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Hart Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
West Street , Wiveliscombe, TA4 2JP
The White Hart is a former coaching inn dating back some 350 years, standing in the old town of Wiveliscombe it offers the ideal base for both business and pleasure with its combination of traditional qualities and modern facilities.
Located at the foot of the Brendon Hills and nearby Quantocks Wiveliscombe provides a gateway to Exmoor and is a perfect place if you love walking and the great outdoors. Close to both Taunton and Wellington it is an ideal location for the business traveller who wants something individual.

Following major renovations it obtained a high scoring AA 4 star inn rating with the inspector commenting that “The White Hart has been transformed and the high standards now offered are a credit to the new proprietor and chef. ”

Real Homemade Local Food
Over recent years the White Hart has grown a reputation for high quality home cooked food using locally sourced produce. This commitment has resulted in the White Hart being shortlisted as one of four national finalists in the 2008 Publican Food and Drink awards for local food pub of the year. On offer is the daily changing menu as well as the White Hart Pub Classics.

Real Local Ale
Ales from Wiveliscombe’s two breweries Cotleigh and Exmoor are regularly on offer. In addition a variety of other regional and award winning guest ales are always available.

Real Friendly Service
A relaxed and friendly welcome awaits you to this still little discovered corner of Somerset.

Ensuite Rooms
The White Hart offers 16 quality en-suite rooms which are competitively priced and offer a welcome alternative to the lodge accommodation. Each room is individual in character whilst offering flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, telephones and double glazing.
Picture of White Hart Hotel, Wiveliscombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming host. Efficient service. Cooperative staff. Hearty breakfast. No hassles. No disappointments.

Reviewed by
D C

From , England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

whate hart stay
the quality of the hotel was very good staff friendly food EXCELLENT The only criticisms i have is the black mould around the bathroom and bedroom windows which is a health hazzard to people who suffer with chest promblems like me if these were sorted then it would be an excellent hotel to stay in i would stay again if i knew it was clear of mould

Reviewed by
maureen k

From Poole, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room and hotel was lovely for the price, food was ok but we only had breakfast as thought the meals were pricey in comparison to the price of the room. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
a lancaster

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed on a saturday night with our 2 children aged 14 and 7 years. This was our first stay in a pub hotel and we were pleasantly surprised as there was very little noise and the room was clean and a good spacious size. We've decided to stay again for a short break. Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Susan O

From Northampton, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Hart is great
Staff were very friendly,polite & effiicient and accomodating, the room was very comfortable & clean. Shower worked very well. Breakfast was lovely and I was pleased that they offered veggie sausages and a very decent "full" veggie breakfast. The town itself seemed very pleasant, although our stay was brief. Do note there was only one cash machine in the town in the co-op which was closed, although the White Hart offered cashback. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Tom O'Shea

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, Hotel full of charachter, excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
C Clow

From Portsmouth, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average Hotel

Reviewed by
S Pinkney

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little love
The hotelier is attempting to make this a cosy, welcoming and memorable place and is succeeding on all three. It without doubt needs an injection of money but for a place to lay your hat whilst visiting a beautiful and peaceful (in October) part of England, you would have a hard and long search for something that matches the value for money test better than this.
Don't expect the Ritz but then again I imagine the welcome is every bit as good. The town of Wiveliscombe is old but quant for it, and anywhere that is this small but still has two of its own breweries can't be that bad.

Reviewed by
David H

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting
The hotel was in a lovely setting with a good car park. The breakfast was of a high standard but the menu in the restaurant was restricted.
We were woken very early by a delivery van delivering across the road so we didn't have the best night's sleep.

Reviewed by
Yvonne Holliday

From Shipley, England
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly service and good value
An interesting old building that is no longer in its prime, but provides pretty much what you need without having to pay a great deal. Good selection of real ales,friendly service, and good selection of food.

Reviewed by
C West

From Wokingham, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next