No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Hart Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
West Street , Wiveliscombe, TA4 2JP
The White Hart is a former coaching inn dating back some 350 years, standing in the old town of Wiveliscombe it offers the ideal base for both business and pleasure with its combination of traditional qualities and modern facilities.
Located at the foot of the Brendon Hills and nearby Quantocks Wiveliscombe provides a gateway to Exmoor and is a perfect place if you love walking and the great outdoors. Close to both Taunton and Wellington it is an ideal location for the business traveller who wants something individual.

Following major renovations it obtained a high scoring AA 4 star inn rating with the inspector commenting that “The White Hart has been transformed and the high standards now offered are a credit to the new proprietor and chef. ”

Real Homemade Local Food
Over recent years the White Hart has grown a reputation for high quality home cooked food using locally sourced produce. This commitment has resulted in the White Hart being shortlisted as one of four national finalists in the 2008 Publican Food and Drink awards for local food pub of the year. On offer is the daily changing menu as well as the White Hart Pub Classics.

Real Local Ale
Ales from Wiveliscombe’s two breweries Cotleigh and Exmoor are regularly on offer. In addition a variety of other regional and award winning guest ales are always available.

Real Friendly Service
A relaxed and friendly welcome awaits you to this still little discovered corner of Somerset.

Ensuite Rooms
The White Hart offers 16 quality en-suite rooms which are competitively priced and offer a welcome alternative to the lodge accommodation. Each room is individual in character whilst offering flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, telephones and double glazing.
Picture of White Hart Hotel, Wiveliscombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous getaway
Staff really friendly and helpful, location brilliant, friendly relaxed atmosphere. Will gladly return:-)

Reviewed by
Sam H

From Budleigh Salterton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money and very friendly staff
We had an excellent value one night stay at The White Hart. The staff made us feel very welcome and the atmosphere was warm,pleasant and relaxed. We enjoyed a good evening meal in the beamed and candlelit restaurant followed by a short stroll in the town square right outside the hotel. The building is old, quirky and interesting. Our room was a good size with a roomy ensuite. As other reviewers have said there was evidence of black mould on the walls around the windows which is unsightly and probably needs constant attention to keep at bay. The bedlinen and towels were nicely clean though and the room comfortable. Breakfast was tasty with good quality sausages. All in all we felt very welcome and with such an incredible value for money Laterooms deal (£22 B&B)! we would definitely stay at The White Hart again in this beautiful part of the country.

Reviewed by
S Aitchison

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night away

Reviewed by
David R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay
Friendly welcome. The boiler had broken down, however everything was done to warm the room and provide extra blankets. Excellent meal.

Reviewed by
V Connor

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely good value and friendly service. The breakfast was really good, in fact it was better than the dinner the night before, which was a bit cold (although not bad enough to complain). The room was OK - nice and peaceful overnight but chatting in the next room could be clearly heard earlier in the evening. There was hair in the sink, which was a bit disappointing. For the value of our laterooms deal though we can't complain - superb value for money.

Reviewed by
S Evans

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A most disappointing stay here I'm afraid...Room was tired and cold with a window that was missing its fastener so was unable to close it properly which meant I had to endure constant traffic noise and draught. The overall cleanliness of the room was very inadequate especially in the bathroom and finally.... the last but by no means least complaint was a used condom on the floor just beside/under the bed but nevertheless visible whilst standing and without having to go looking under the bed so I stayed well clear as you can imagine!
On a positive note, the breakfast was good and the price per stay is very cheap so I didn't complain during my visit but I was glad to leave and will never return.

Reviewed by
J Gower

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay here
I went with my wife to stay here i couldnt beloieve the value for money. Special thanks to the bar man who greeted us and made us feel so welcome. Room was more than adequate and had a really nice sleep. Breakfast was really good and again the staff very polite and would get you anything you needed. Met the owner who also made us feel very welcome. We did find it hard to park but another man who runs the pizza shop at the rear of the hotel advised us to park on pavement at the rea of the property, again so helpful and moved his car to let us get in. All in all a very pleasant stay with great food and great company, well done, we would stay again. Dave C

Reviewed by
D Coles

From Shifnal, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about the weather
The hotel is very old and creaky, full of winding stairs etc and you can smell the wood burner as soon as you enter the property. The check in was swift and pleasant and we were shown to our room quickly. The room was clean and tidy and warm which was very welcome after a few hours walking around Bath Xmas Markets in the rain!! We didnt eat evening meal at the hotel but we wished that we had of booked a table as there is nothing in the village apart from another pub across the road, which was very nice and served lovely cider with which to watch the Rugby with. However, we did find a little pizza takeaway at the bottom of the road so we ordered pizza and ate in our room.
Breakfast the following morning was a bit hit and miss. There was orange juice to help yourself to and also individual packets of cereal and then a member of staff ( who didnt really have great social skills ) took our order for tea/coffee and then cooked breakfast. He omitted to ask if we wanted toast and when we asked a young waiter for some he forgot all about us. When we chased it up he then brought only one piece and not the requested 3 pieces! Overall it was a clean and tidy stopover in which to lay our heads after a buzy day and at the pice of £39.00 for bed and breakfast for the two of us we couldnt really grumble.

Reviewed by
K Turner

From Barry, Wales
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant
very pleasant little village to stay hotel staff were very friendly.breakfast was very nice.

Reviewed by
s harris

From Wakefield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little tired round the edges in the room, but nothing 'bad' A great hotel to stop in when travelling in the area. I will look to stay again soon.

Reviewed by
Neil E

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next