No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Hart Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
West Street , Wiveliscombe, TA4 2JP
The White Hart is a former coaching inn dating back some 350 years, standing in the old town of Wiveliscombe it offers the ideal base for both business and pleasure with its combination of traditional qualities and modern facilities.
Located at the foot of the Brendon Hills and nearby Quantocks Wiveliscombe provides a gateway to Exmoor and is a perfect place if you love walking and the great outdoors. Close to both Taunton and Wellington it is an ideal location for the business traveller who wants something individual.

Following major renovations it obtained a high scoring AA 4 star inn rating with the inspector commenting that “The White Hart has been transformed and the high standards now offered are a credit to the new proprietor and chef. ”

Real Homemade Local Food
Over recent years the White Hart has grown a reputation for high quality home cooked food using locally sourced produce. This commitment has resulted in the White Hart being shortlisted as one of four national finalists in the 2008 Publican Food and Drink awards for local food pub of the year. On offer is the daily changing menu as well as the White Hart Pub Classics.

Real Local Ale
Ales from Wiveliscombe’s two breweries Cotleigh and Exmoor are regularly on offer. In addition a variety of other regional and award winning guest ales are always available.

Real Friendly Service
A relaxed and friendly welcome awaits you to this still little discovered corner of Somerset.

Ensuite Rooms
The White Hart offers 16 quality en-suite rooms which are competitively priced and offer a welcome alternative to the lodge accommodation. Each room is individual in character whilst offering flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, telephones and double glazing.
Picture of White Hart Hotel, Wiveliscombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Hart review
Value for money, but it was a bit noisy at night due to being above a Pub, but I did expect this so was not surprised, overall a good experience value for money and the food was lovely.

Reviewed by
e manton

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place to stay unless you get the room above the bar
This is in a lovely area to visit Somerset and Exmoor. We went as a family and enjoyed it apart from the terrible noise from the bar until the early hours. That's the only reason we wouldn't return. I'd recommend it as long as you don't stay in that room!

Reviewed by
Jo H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent welcome
Really friendly. Godd service. Lovely food. But locating the family room directly above the bar meant the children were awake for quite a long time!

Reviewed by
Edward G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about the heating
Very friendly and helpful staff who made us feel welcome and relaxed. There is a nice bar area and log fire. The food was excellent and would highly recommend eating there. The room was clean and adequate with a very comfortable bed so even though the room was a little tired in places it could be forgiven. A real shame though about the central heating not working as it was really cold, however, we were provided with a small electric oil heater that just about did the job. The on site car park is small and not the easiest to negotiate but there is a free public car park just a few yards away so not really a problem. This is an old coaching inn and as such the building is somewhat quirky but has plenty of character so all in all our stay was good value for money.

Reviewed by
M Parsons

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very welcoming hotel. We were in the smallest double room but it had everything we needed. A heater had been provided as the boiler was broken, and that warmed the room lovely. The food both at the evening meal and breakfast was very good. A very good relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
Linda M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for moneu & customer service but not the creme de la creme!
Welcome - great
VFM - great
Breakfast - great
However, you need to be able to put up with builder's boots covered in mud on landings and a general 'stale' smell in the accommodation which I believe eminates from an old, 'in need of cleaning or replacing' carpet. Also, very steep stairs.

Reviewed by
susan s

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When we arrived we were told the boiler had broken down but the engineer was on the way, we were also told the rooms were not cold anyway and were given a small oil radiator. The bathroom window could not be closed fully and the bathroom door would not close this caused a wind tunnel effect in our room. The soap dish was hanging off the shower wall and the plaster was damaged under the bedroom window. The heating was not repaired and the oil radiator was pointless! We woke to snow no heating and no log fire in the dining room so it was freezing! I would not recommend this place to anyone

Reviewed by
Chris N

From Watchet, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodating
Lovely Hotel, warm and friendly staff. Hotel clean and food excellent. We had a lovely stay at the White Hart Hotel, would definitely recommend and come back again.

Reviewed by
Terry W

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you like cold showers and no heating in February, this place is for you!
Very friendly staff espcially Sam and Alex. Food was very good both nights. Boiler problems let this place down. There was no hot water in the shower also no water pressure, no hot water in the hand basin. The room was freezing, when I tried to call using their phone, it was kept in the bottom shelf of the open wardrobe and it was FILTHY, covered in thick dust and not working. We were given a small (filthy) fan heater, which was very noisy and dried out the air , it gave me an asthma attack, so we had to switch it off. I woke up with "brain freeze", it was 11c, probably less overnight. We would have left, but were told it was in the process of being fixed. Saturday morning I managed a very quick lukewarm shower, not enough water to wash my hair. My husband wasn't so lucky! On saturday we were given a portable heater wich did the trick for the room temperature. I spoke to a man in charge (not sure if he was the manager or landlord), he gave me excuses for this one off occurence, which we then found out, is a recurrent situation. I wish we were told in advance so we could have made alternative arrangements, rather than spoil our Valentine's treat. The room was small but adequate, however the bottom sheet was a flat sheet, which came off the mattress, I was surprised to notice there was no mattress cover! No hot water at all on Sunday! I believe this hotel needs some professionals to fix the boilers and not to attempt to do D.I.Y. We thought it was good value at £39.00 per night! In reality they were better off closing the rooms. We are always looking for places to meet family and friends, although the food was nice, the atmosphere in the bar is cosy, we could never recommend a stay there.

Reviewed by
R O'Flaherty

From Great Torrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice stay, friendly staff, fabulous food, but a bit cold due to broken boiler!
We enjoyed our stay here and had a great Valentines meal, which was first class. The only downside was that the boiler was broken and the room was cold. The windows were open when we arrived so the room was cold on arrival, and with no heating it never really warmed. The staff were helpful and lent us a standalone heater, though unfortunately it never really heated up the room enough. There is a lovely open fire in the restaurant, so we warmed ourselves up a bit in front of that. The lack of warmth didn't unduly spoil our stay. It's a nice enough place and for the discounted price we got it was worth it. The bed was comfortable - that was a big plus - not sure about the 4 star rating, though.

Reviewed by
John Wadsworth

From Glastonbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next