No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Waverley Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 Gordon Street, Workington, Cumbria, Workington, CA14 2EN
The Waverley Hotel Workington is situated in the historic coastal town of Workington, Cumbria. The Waverley Hotel is within easy walking distance of bus and rail terminals, local shops, theatres, parks, Workington speedway, Workington Rugby League and Rugby Union, Workington Reds Football stadium as well as other Workington central amenities. Nearby attractions include a variety of craft outlets and artisans producing beautiful gifts and momentos to remind you of your stay. This Workington hotel has recently refurbished all public areas creating a crisp modern bistro restauarnt and new Banqueting and Conferencing facilities for Business Meetings and Seminars, Societies, Clubs and Associations providing Business Dinners and Lunches in relaxed and comfortable surroundings. We have also added new executive rooms for the more discerning overnight traveller, or those who spends a lot of time away from home and require something more luxurious. We have 25 en suite bedrooms, 4 standard rooms and a selection of individually designed executive suites giving a maximum occupancy of 50 guests. The Waverley Hotel offers a wide range of additional facilities Weekly Tariff: Weekend Breaks; Conference & Training Facilities; Restaurant; Business Lunches; Bar Meals; Functions; Wedding Receptions; Dinner Parties and Outside Catering The Waverley Hotel also offers discounted accommodation to all sporting events visitors e.g Workington Rugby League, Football, Workington Comets Speedway. Other events in the area include Maryport Blues Festival, Cockermouth Cock Rock and Cockermouth Woolfest, our Workington hotel is an ideal base for all these events our Hotel can make your stay in Cockermouth and Maryport and great weekend.
Picture of Waverley Hotel, Workington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Clean, comfortable room, good staff. Even bumped me up from a single to a double.

Reviewed by
c b

From Elland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Tardis of a hotel
I'll be honest, when i first pulled up outside the hotel I was a bit put off and worried, it looked a little run down from the outside, but as soon as i stepped in it was like i was in a different hotel.
I was greeted by very friendly staff and given a key card and directions to my room, this place is a lot bigger than it looks!
I went to my room to drop bags off and was amazed, everything was so clean and fresh, the double bed was huge (which was a free upgrade from a single) and the room was just lovely.
The free breakfast included was beautiful too (help yourself hot buffet) and all of the staff i encountered couldn't do enough to help me.

Reviewed by
D Mack

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful and friendly staff, went out of their way for us. Comfy beds too. Sofa bed in family room only really suitable for children but perfect for us.

Reviewed by
Rachel B

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great customer service
Couldn't ask for better staff. Very helpful

Reviewed by
Callum M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old style hotel
Old style hotel, but the staff make you feel so welcome . Nothing was a problem for the staff here, makes a refreshing change.

Reviewed by
R Holliday

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no hot water
Nice friendly staff, room was nice, clean,comfortable however there was no hot water and no phone to ring down. Not a nice way to start the morning. This spoilt the whole stay.
Parking also an issue

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind review we are pleased you found everything satisfactory but regret the issue with the shower, we looked into this when you informed us at check out and there was a trip switch needed resetting this was rectified immediately, it is unfortunate we were not notified earlier. There are no restrictions for parking from 5.00pm Saturday until Monday 8.30am with alternate free parking 50 yards away and chargeable park safe 300 yards away.

Reviewed by
S King

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was nice and warm staff nice and cheerie very helpful would stay here again central to shops

Reviewed by
anthony patterson

From Stranraer, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed.
This is obviously a Contractors Hotel, and some of the fittings in the hotel reflected this. For instance, when I opened the bottom drawer of the chest of drawers to access the kettle, the drawer above was hanging off! The sink in the bathroom had a massive crack in it, although it did still hold water. When I used the shower in the evening, it was hard to get wet, as the pressure was very low. When I came to reuse the shower the next morning, It would not work and had to be given another room to shower in. When I'm paying around £75 for a room, I do not expect any of this.

Reviewed by
Vince Galvin

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

YES!
WHAT A NICE HOTEL!!!

Reviewed by
J Proctor

From Lydney, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good
Beware

Reviewed by
Keith G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next