No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
160 Nethergate , Dundee, DD1 4DU
Relax like royalty at BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel! Built in 1878, Dundee's most prestigious privately owned hotel has all the hallmarks of a quality residence, with a fantastic location to match. Ideally situated for golf, with St. Andrews and Carnoustie nearby, you'll have your pick of parkland courses as well as coastal links rounds adding a challenge to your charm-filled break. Minutes from the shopping centre, university, theatre and bustling West End bars and restaurants of this Scottish haven, our own Nosey Parkers is well worth a...well, nosey! Impressive conference and banqueting facilities make working away a hassle-free exercise, while major (and not so well known) towns and cities are nearby for business and leisure outings with a difference.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel, Dundee at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed
I booked a room with King size bed only to find that it was 2 x singles stuck together. One side of the bed was completely gone with shot springs and totally past its sell by date. I was going to complain next morning when I checked out but the receptionist did not even ask if we had a good stay or if our room was okay. I did not think therefore that there was any point comp-laining.

Reviewed by
N Brown

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice

Reviewed by
K Kanda

From Tokyo, Japan
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying with the Queen in Dundee
Friendly staff, clean room and hotel, good parking this near to city centre and breakfast was good. This is an older hotel than most and suffers from the odd squeaking floorboard and banging door at night, otherwise an enjoyable stay and would recommend it to anyone wanting a comfortable hotel in Dundee's city centre.

Reviewed by
DEREK T

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money and very helpful and welcoming staff
We have used this hotel before for short breaks and were glad to come back. All staff we met were welcoming, polite and professional (and keen to ensure we enjoyed our stay). Saturday night was a bit rowdy (kind of what's expected for a weekend in a city or those attending a function in the hotel). The staff were apologetic the next morning even though we did not complain. You can't always choose your guests!!! The hotel can look and sound a bit dated (creaky floorboards) but that's minor stuff for a well priced three star in centre of city. Breakfasts were cooked well and tasted great. We will come back again!

Reviewed by
Donna I

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Queens Dundee
My room at The Queens was quite spacious and the bed was comfortable whilst the bathroom was very clean. I didn't have an evening meal but really enjoyed breakfast, freshly cooked with all the trimmings excellent.

Reviewed by
Ewan E

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

See the Tay
Nice ambience, excellent accommodation.
Only problem was restaurant management which seemed to have trouble coping with numbers.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth M

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived at 12 on sat and tried to book evening meal. We were given only 2 times, which we explained weren't suitable for the times of bridge congress. We discussed with director who said to go for 5pm. However when we went back down at 1pm were told it was fully booked. 2 of our party were nearly 80, so we ended up walking the streetsat 6pm in pouring rain to find a restaurant.

Reviewed by
R Moss

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was snug for a double but had high ceilings so made room feel bigger. Good shower in my room, warm almost instantly. Floorboards creaked so was conscious of how much noise I was making at 06.15... traffic is really bad in Dundee and as this hotel is relatively central, plan your journey times, I got back to Dundee at 16.50 and it took me 45 minutes to do two miles.... a pleasant hotel for the money, typical Best Western really.

Reviewed by
m austin

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suited the purpose almost perfectly
Pleasant helpful staff, everything clean and tidy, breakfast great. Added 'benefit' of loud debating / serenading by Friday nighters in the street, at no extra cost. What a bargain! No deterrent to using again though.

Reviewed by
Margaret P

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Lovely couple of days at the Queen's Hotel

Reviewed by
Diana H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next