No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Poplars Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
33 Cross Street, Moulton, Moulton, NN3 7RZ
Run by Susan Henderson - who has taken over the hotel in March 2014.
Tourist Board Silver Award.
A traditional stone-built hotel (over 300 years old) in the thriving village of Moulton.
Wide range of rooms.
Special requirements can be catered for - please contact the hotel.
Reputed for its friendly staff and high level of cleanliness.
Evening meals served Monday to Thursday evenings prepared by our Chef.
There is a limited food service at weekends.
Excellent local pubs within 5 minute walk that also offer meals.
Free broadband in guest lounges and some rooms - currently being upgraded to all rooms!
Picture of The Poplars Hotel, Moulton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Excellent stay
An excellent stay, with an excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Nigel Harrison

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Very warm and welcoming place. Service was perfect and the breakfast (included) was amazing!

Reviewed by
L Common

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all was lovely and friendly

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made a business trip a nice experience
We were made to feel welcome the minute we got there, which was actually technically to late to eat, however we were offered an evening meal and chose from the 'Chinese' menu of the evening, brought into the TV lounge on trays so that we could watch the England game, accompanied by beers from a nice bottled selection. The food and drink was very good value too. Rooms were adequate and very clean, would definitely stay there again. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Steve Stagg

From Epping, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable weekend break
We went as a group of four the hotel was lovely and clean - if we were
To make a comment which only applied to our situation. When we arrived on Saturday
we were dropped off and was expecting to be able to have dinner - they only do evening meals during the week which was fair enough but we should have been made aware beforehand.
Also I don't think the hotel would not be suitable for small children. Otherwise it was a love lace for a break.

Reviewed by
KATHLEEN E DOONAN

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent overall experience every time that I have stayed at the poplars, would highly recommend

Reviewed by
Dewi Byles

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
M Osborne

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant experience :)
Lovely comfy hotel, smelt gorgeous, had a homely atmosphere, received a very warm welcome. Only negative is the shower which seriously lacked power and dribbled and I can see how in previous reviews some mention a sliding door, it didn't affect me even though I was close to it and only one room would be affected by it but it is safety and there's nothing the hotel can do about it. Such friendly employees I think if you did have any issues and raised them with the staff they would bend over backwards to get it sorted for you. Would definitely go back and would recommend.

Reviewed by
Nicholas O

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good stop off hotel nice size room
we were very happy with this hotel , the room was clean and of a good size , breakfast was good but we did not see any one to top up our coffee before we left the table, just as well we did not want any more. Overall very good .

Reviewed by
j greenyer

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay after flight simulator experience
One night stay after a flight simulator experience at nearby aerodrome (birthday present from kids).
Warm welcome on arrival. Very pleasant room in annex to hotel. Clean, well decorated and comfortable. Lovely well equipped bathroom with excellent shower. Extra pillows provided promptly on request. Well cooked breakfast with a wide choice available. All in all, a very pleasant experience!

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next