No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Poplars Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
33 Cross Street, Moulton, Moulton, NN3 7RZ
Run by Susan Henderson - who has taken over the hotel in March 2014.
Tourist Board Silver Award.
A traditional stone-built hotel (over 300 years old) in the thriving village of Moulton.
Wide range of rooms.
Special requirements can be catered for - please contact the hotel.
Reputed for its friendly staff and high level of cleanliness.
Evening meals served Monday to Thursday evenings prepared by our Chef.
There is a limited food service at weekends.
Excellent local pubs within 5 minute walk that also offer meals.
Free broadband in guest lounges and some rooms - currently being upgraded to all rooms!
Picture of The Poplars Hotel, Moulton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Hotel At A Good Price
Fantastic hotel. Would stay there again for sure. Breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
JASON S

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good small hotel, room small but clean and comfortable. Service was excellent and the evening meal again was very good with excellent friendly service. Will definitely stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Jonathan C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restless sleep
There was a hum that went on all night which stopped me from sleeping – buzzing light or electrical appliance somewhere in the building very frustrating.
Lots of noisy coming and going to toilets all night – creaky floor and steps didn't help.
Nothing wrong with the bed or bedding and the room was comfortable enough if a little dated in style.

Reviewed by
Ian Thorp

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Poplars
Very friendly owners, room a bit dated but clean and comfortable but very hot on the second floor in the heatwave! Car Park a bit of a squeeze but later found out that there is more parking a bit further up the road. Good recommendations as to local places to eat.

Reviewed by
Roger G

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Excellent stay
An excellent stay, with an excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Nigel Harrison

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Very warm and welcoming place. Service was perfect and the breakfast (included) was amazing!

Reviewed by
L Common

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all was lovely and friendly

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made a business trip a nice experience
We were made to feel welcome the minute we got there, which was actually technically to late to eat, however we were offered an evening meal and chose from the 'Chinese' menu of the evening, brought into the TV lounge on trays so that we could watch the England game, accompanied by beers from a nice bottled selection. The food and drink was very good value too. Rooms were adequate and very clean, would definitely stay there again. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Steve Stagg

From Epping, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable weekend break
We went as a group of four the hotel was lovely and clean - if we were
To make a comment which only applied to our situation. When we arrived on Saturday
we were dropped off and was expecting to be able to have dinner - they only do evening meals during the week which was fair enough but we should have been made aware beforehand.
Also I don't think the hotel would not be suitable for small children. Otherwise it was a love lace for a break.

Reviewed by
KATHLEEN E DOONAN

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent overall experience every time that I have stayed at the poplars, would highly recommend

Reviewed by
Dewi Byles

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next