No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Anchor Hotel Shepperton

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Church Square, Shepperton, TW17 9JZ
Nestled within the charming village of Shepperton, overlooking the Church Sqaure, The Anchor Hotel exudes a warm and inviting glow. Rich in legend and history, this establishment was once a regular haunt for Dick Turpin. In fact, a pistol was once uncovered in the rafters bearing the chilling inscription ‘Dick’s Friend’! The Anchor Hotel also housed the beginnings of Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor’s tempestuous affair. Perhaps due to its colourful past or perhaps due to its resplendent decor and design, the hotel encapsulates a certain vivacity, a certain romance. The 29 en-suite bathrooms are classically furnished and adorned with an opulent decor. All are well-appointed and fitted with all modern comforts. Our hotel restaurant offers diners a cosy setting and hearty, traditional cuisine.
Picture of Anchor Hotel Shepperton, Shepperton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab
Stayed Here a Few Times now and it is always a pleasure. Staff are Lovely, Room Fine. Breakfast is Brill. We will be Back.Great Value.

Reviewed by
Helena Weston

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
What great value .Old style charm if a little threadbare .Service excellent with a smile .Breakfasr first class all at such a good rate .Very convenient to Twickenham without the matchday hike in prices .r

Reviewed by
paul bedford

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay, would recommend
Very nice. Hotel staff were brilliant, very friendly at every stage. Only criticism is the noise from the bar and next door, very thin walls. Would recommend, very good value for money!!

Reviewed by
Matthew Bennett

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but basic
The room and bathroom were clean, bed was comfortable and linen was clean. Too much furniture in a tiny room, and generally could do with updating and a bit of 'TLC'
The walls were very thin, and with the creaky floorboards, we could hear a lot of moving around from other guests, including their TV on the other side of the wall!
For the price we paid, for the area it's in, it was a reasonable rate.
Breakfast was good, and very fast efficient service - apart from the scrambled egg (was it powdered?!). I would have liked the provision of soya milk at breakfast - I did ask, but there was none.

Reviewed by
R Yates

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for a night
Pleasant situation, seemed nice people - I only stayed in a very small single room for one night, but it was fine. A bit noisy from neighbouring rooms, and no internet but for one night it was comfortable and the breakfast was fine.

Reviewed by
Colin J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stress free stay
Stayed over for one night as we had business in the area the next day. Food was excellent, beer and wine were good too! Staff were very helpful - only small complaint was that the room was too hot as we couldn't manage to turn the rads down but manager said he would get it sorted.

Reviewed by
nigel r

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shepperton Break
Character hotel with nice friendly welcome and good food. The bedroom was a little cramped for two people and the bathroom was difficult to use for tall people.

Reviewed by
J Stark

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Cozy Hotel
My partner and I stayed here for the Fright Night at Thorpe Park. It is around 5km walk through quite nice scenery. The hotel has a wonderful manager who kind, friendly and chatty.
The rooms are a little old but have a TV, kettle and a bath/shower. It's good that for the price you get a breakfast, which was great for myself; however, they did not offer a vegetarian option which was a shame.
Would recommend for a comfortable stay in a nice area.

Reviewed by
N Deaves

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
A Lovely Hotel,Great Value for Money. Staff Fab and Food Yum. We will be Back.

Reviewed by
Helena Weston

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noise
The walls between the rooms would appear to be thin and it was easy to be disturbed by a next door room if they rose early and had a tv turned on

Reviewed by
Margaret Ann Local

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next