No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Anchor Hotel Shepperton

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Church Square, Shepperton, TW17 9JZ
Nestled within the charming village of Shepperton, overlooking the Church Sqaure, The Anchor Hotel exudes a warm and inviting glow. Rich in legend and history, this establishment was once a regular haunt for Dick Turpin. In fact, a pistol was once uncovered in the rafters bearing the chilling inscription ‘Dick’s Friend’! The Anchor Hotel also housed the beginnings of Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor’s tempestuous affair. Perhaps due to its colourful past or perhaps due to its resplendent decor and design, the hotel encapsulates a certain vivacity, a certain romance. The 29 en-suite bathrooms are classically furnished and adorned with an opulent decor. All are well-appointed and fitted with all modern comforts. Our hotel restaurant offers diners a cosy setting and hearty, traditional cuisine.
Picture of Anchor Hotel Shepperton, Shepperton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anchor Hotel Shepperton
Fantastic, friendly staff. Booked into room 9 but could'nt find the key so put in room 10. Room was very clean and looked out onto the square. Facilities very good and their was a very good selection for breakfast. We chose the full english which was superb.

Reviewed by
Julia Smith

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was very tired, however,had a certain charm ,lovely location, needs new furnishings.
Room was extremely small.

Reviewed by
N Furniss

From Stockbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab place me and the wife really enjoyed it and would 100% stay here again

Reviewed by
Louise C

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We visited our son who lives a short distance away so stayed overnight to ease the family accommodation. We were made extremely welcome. The staff were friendly, approachable and very helpful. The next morning we had to leave but suggested our family, including our 3 year old grandaughter, joined us for a family breakfast. They could not have been more accommodating and did not charge us for the little one at all. We will stay here on each of our visits to Shepperton, it is a lovely little hotel with lots of character and good value. Great bed and lovely pillows too.

Reviewed by
Pauline Twist

From Alrewas, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice spot..good value
this is 2 secs walk to the side of the Thames,a lovely spot.The hotel offers good value for money for an overnight stop when visiting the area

Reviewed by
jane j

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service and value formoney

Reviewed by
Jan S

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The price paid for the area it is situated is excellent. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms where a bit dated but fine. The only thing which would make it a bit better is a new shower.

Reviewed by
Ben O

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The size of the room is on the small side but, stay there is only of value if, as in our case it was priced at a 50% discount. This remark applies to both the questions below. The breakfast was excellent with a very good selection.

Reviewed by
Robert B

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4th time of staying here fab as always
I have stayed here many times now going to Thorpe Park/London, the rooms are fab and clean the food is fantastic, nice and friendly staff very helpful, locals nice in the bar area, will be booking again for October

Reviewed by
Jennifer Morris

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly hotel with good food. Let down now by ageing bathrooms, windows etc. needs a total refurbishment but retain its old features on the ground floor. Won't be staying again. A pity as we have stayed there around 10 times now.

Reviewed by
Philip Hughes

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next