No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Waterton Park Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Balk,Walton , Wakefield, WF2 6PW
Our hotel is set in the delightful Yorkshire countryside, yet only a few miles from the city centre, rail and motorway networks

The Waterton Park Hotel is a 43 bedroomed purpose built hotel, within the hotel grounds is the unique Walton Hall, a magnificent Georgian Mansion, with 22 bedrooms, set on an island surrounded by its own 26-acre lake. Accommodation is available in both buildings

Within Walton Hall we have extensive leisure facilities available for our residents including indoor heated swimming pool, gymnasium, sauna, steam room and spa bath

Free WIFI is available throught the hotel
A member of Classic British Hotels.

Picture of Waterton Park Hotel, Wakefield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice setting. shame about the room
Beautiful setting. My booking said room overlooking golf course or lake- I got a view of wall 5 foot from my window! Did not expect to have mold on shower curtain that remined for days I was there. Shame.

Reviewed by
T B

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Below expectations but above average
Given the blurb, cost and room description (executive) the hotel was below expectations. Fittings feel dated not retro or vintage and simple changes such as better lighting schemes or gilt frames around bathroom mirrors could really up the image and style factor. Coffee stains on a chair in the bedroom for example let down the overall feel.
Lack of high quality room facilities, no room safe, fridge etc. Worried what standard rooms may be like for the cost.
If you can get a deal here the hotel is in a lovely scenic location and if you like golf all the better.

Reviewed by
ADAM B

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased with the accommodation and the ease of the booking transaction via late rooms.

Reviewed by
M Hall

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful location, tired hotel
A fantastic location but unfortunately the hotel and our room has seen better days. It was a warm room and the fan provided squeaked badly so much so that it had to be switched off making for an even more uncomfortable evening, the toilet roll holder was loose and coming away from the wall, the Venetian blinds in the bathroom were bent and buckled and practically ineffective. The double bed in our superior room was uncomfortable and my partner complained of feeling springs through the mattress. Far from the best hotel we have stayed in. I would recommend the location but not the hotel.

Reviewed by
T Evans

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous
Great hotel - lovely room brilliant location. Only criticism is a slightly poor restaurant menu

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I pleased you liked the hotel and room and I will pass your comments onto Chef.

Reviewed by
steven D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single night stay
This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room extremely comfortable and of a very generous size.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your great review, I will pass your kind comments on.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From Thornton Heath, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect
Excellent

ManagementResponse

Thank you!

Reviewed by
trevor n

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unusual hotel setting
Was amazed to find we were booked in hotel where we had to cross a bridge over the water.
First time staying on such a small Island !!
Spacious room, excellent breakfast, ok bar meal but great customer service accessing the gym and swimming pool.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your great review.

Reviewed by
Debbie Blachford

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
Wonderful hotel, wonderful room, wonderful meal, excellent service, beautiful surroundings.

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much.

Reviewed by
Tim S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An oasis of calm.
After a 5 hour drive after work our arrival at Waterton Park Hotel was very welcome. The hotel is like an oasis of calm in a most beautiful setting. Luckily there was a 24hr check in as we were late in arriving. The Hotel was lovely and warm and we would definitely stay there again whilst visit friends.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to write your great review and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Reviewed by
Kim Metcalf

From Surrey, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next