No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Waterton Park Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Balk,Walton , Wakefield, WF2 6PW
Our hotel is set in the delightful Yorkshire countryside, yet only a few miles from the city centre, rail and motorway networks

The Waterton Park Hotel is a 43 bedroomed purpose built hotel, within the hotel grounds is the unique Walton Hall, a magnificent Georgian Mansion, with 22 bedrooms, set on an island surrounded by its own 26-acre lake. Accommodation is available in both buildings

Within Walton Hall we have extensive leisure facilities available for our residents including indoor heated swimming pool, gymnasium, sauna, steam room and spa bath

Free WIFI is available throught the hotel
A member of Classic British Hotels.

Picture of Waterton Park Hotel, Wakefield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sat night getaway !
Looks great on the Web. .. Unfortunately not that great of a Hotel !.... Room was fine until 6am when there seemed to be some idiot banging doors and shutting cupboards continously for 2 hours. ......outside our room was a small shared lobby , on a table was a stack of dirty plates from next doors room service, these were there from our check in and we're still there on our check out 24 hours later ! (The fishy food stunk the lobby out - disgusting! )...........The restaurant menu was minimal, service was terrible, an hour wait for meal, butter on the table but not offered a bread roll as other guests were offered..........breakfast was farcical, toast with no butter on the table, tea and coffee with an emu milk jug........ The Spa could be best described as "retro" .........This Hotel is no more than a 3 star at best .......... Won't return or recommend unfortunately. ...

Reviewed by
paul s

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel & room. Was great to use the spa facilities although a quick clean of the large window overlooking the lake would have given a better view from the poolside.
Sadly we were told the restaurant was full and had to dine in the bar. We were not overly concerned by this but sadly the bar area lacked the grandeur the rest of the hotel had and overlooked the swimming pool meaning a constant chlorine smell. We ate quickly and retreated back to our room...the rest of our stay was lovely.

Reviewed by
Michelle G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation all round

Reviewed by
John Creasey

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interest, peace and comfort
Splendid, attractive, country location in a hugely characterful old hall with a fascinating history revolving around Squire Waterton who was a naturalist and who entertained Charles Darwin at Walton Hall. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and all the rooms we saw were interesting, furnished sensitively, and had marvellous views across the lake to the surrounding golf course, woods and fields.
Of particular note was that this hotel really takes its responsibilities vis-a-vis the environment seriously: heat pumps, solar panels, and extensive recycling - as well as the usual notice about using towels more than once.
It was only one night for us. But should we return to this area, we will undoubtedly stay again.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice room but very warm
The exexutive rooms are excellent but being on the too floor get very hot on a warm dat

Reviewed by
steven D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whilst this hotel is in a beautiful setting, I could not recommend this hotel to individual personal bookings at weekends when weddings are taking place. On Sat 2nd Aug, two wedding parties were taking place, staff were very busy and wedding guests everywhere, we felt intrusive and awkward as if we had no place being there at all. All public spaces were full of the wedding party guests making our presence quite uncomfortable. No where to sit and relax even the library was also in use by a third party event.
Due to the high level of activity and noise we decided to leave the hotel and go elsewhere for dinner which not out intention.
It was unfortunate perhaps that one of the wedding parties was very noisy with loud aggressive arguments going on in the grounds in the early hours making me feel quite anxious. Not a restful nights sleep at all.
.Our room was in the main block 76 . I was immediately disappointed to find the Light in the bathroom near the sink did not work and then horrified to raise the seat and find the toilet bowl lightly soiled in two places, and both the toilet seat marked and the porcelain rim dirty. Again not a good first impression. The room generally was ok. .I tried to ignore the dust, dead moth and a bit of rubbish on the floor next to the bedside table.
The lake gardens are attractive, however, the lack of garden seating was surprising given the number of guests and the picturesque venue.
The hotel obviously had a high occupancy rate with offers for wedding guests etc. I feel the hotel should make it clear to individuals when booking that such events are taking place as we would not have chosen the Water Park Hotel on that occasion with that knowledge...

Reviewed by
martin s

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice setting. shame about the room
Beautiful setting. My booking said room overlooking golf course or lake- I got a view of wall 5 foot from my window! Did not expect to have mold on shower curtain that remined for days I was there. Shame.

Reviewed by
T B

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Below expectations but above average
Given the blurb, cost and room description (executive) the hotel was below expectations. Fittings feel dated not retro or vintage and simple changes such as better lighting schemes or gilt frames around bathroom mirrors could really up the image and style factor. Coffee stains on a chair in the bedroom for example let down the overall feel.
Lack of high quality room facilities, no room safe, fridge etc. Worried what standard rooms may be like for the cost.
If you can get a deal here the hotel is in a lovely scenic location and if you like golf all the better.

Reviewed by
ADAM B

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased with the accommodation and the ease of the booking transaction via late rooms.

Reviewed by
M Hall

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful location, tired hotel
A fantastic location but unfortunately the hotel and our room has seen better days. It was a warm room and the fan provided squeaked badly so much so that it had to be switched off making for an even more uncomfortable evening, the toilet roll holder was loose and coming away from the wall, the Venetian blinds in the bathroom were bent and buckled and practically ineffective. The double bed in our superior room was uncomfortable and my partner complained of feeling springs through the mattress. Far from the best hotel we have stayed in. I would recommend the location but not the hotel.

Reviewed by
T Evans

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next