Waterton Park Hotel

4

The Balk,Walton, Wakefield, WF2 6PW

Price From 179.73 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (33)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • CLIFFORD R

  • April 2015

Big room, awful bed.

Bridal Suite bed badly needs replacing, middle has bottomed out, rolled together despite it being a huge bed.

  • Janine N

  • February 2015

Simply Superb

I have stayed In many hotels with my work over the years, this hotel was by far the most comfortable and the food was five star- high.y recommended

  • Ro H

  • January 2015

Waterton Park Hotel

All good, good but cold.

  • leanne B

  • January 2015

Beautiful hotel, food and room.

The staff were welcoming and professional

  • L W

  • January 2015

Lovely location

Accommodation was superb, as was the breakfast.

However, dinner was a little disappointing, and not good value for money. Would recommend room service menu or bar food.

  • Nick V

  • December 2014

Impressive exterior, slightly tired interior.

Friendly helpful staff.

Picturesque exterior (I did arrive at night). The public areas appear quite well worn although the standard of the rooms is fairly high.

  • paul s

  • October 2014

Sat night getaway !

Looks great on the Web.

.. Unfortunately not that great of a Hotel !.... Room was fine until 6am when there seemed to be some idiot banging doors and shutting cupboards continously for 2 hours. ......outside our room was a small shared lobby , on a table was a stack of dirty plates from next doors room service, these were there from our check in and we're still there on our check out 24 hours later . (The fishy food stunk the lobby out - disgusting. )...........The restaurant menu was minimal, service was terrible, an hour wait for meal, butter on the table but not offered a bread roll as other guests were offered..........breakfast was farcical, toast with no butter on the table, tea and coffee with an emu milk jug........ The Spa could be best described as "retro" .........This Hotel is no more than a 3 star at best .......... Won't return or recommend unfortunately. ...

  • Michelle G

  • October 2014

Nice hotel & room.

Was great to use the spa facilities although a quick clean of the large window overlooking the lake would have given a better view from the poolside. Sadly we were told the restaurant was full and had to dine in the bar. We were not overly concerned by this but sadly the bar area lacked the grandeur the rest of the hotel had and overlooked the swimming pool meaning a constant chlorine smell. We ate quickly and retreated back to our room...the rest of our stay was lovely.

  • John Creasey

  • August 2014

Excellent accommodation all round

  • Helen M

  • August 2014

Interest, peace and comfort

Splendid, attractive, country location in a hugely characterful old hall with a fascinating history revolving around Squire Waterton who was a naturalist and who entertained Charles Darwin at Walton Hall.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and all the rooms we saw were interesting, furnished sensitively, and had marvellous views across the lake to the surrounding golf course, woods and fields. Of particular note was that this hotel really takes its responsibilities vis-a-vis the environment seriously: heat pumps, solar panels, and extensive recycling - as well as the usual notice about using towels more than once. It was only one night for us. But should we return to this area, we will undoubtedly stay again.