No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Waterton Park Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Balk,Walton , Wakefield, WF2 6PW
Our hotel is set in the delightful Yorkshire countryside, yet only a few miles from the city centre, rail and motorway networks

The Waterton Park Hotel is a 43 bedroomed purpose built hotel, within the hotel grounds is the unique Walton Hall, a magnificent Georgian Mansion, with 22 bedrooms, set on an island surrounded by its own 26-acre lake. Accommodation is available in both buildings

Within Walton Hall we have extensive leisure facilities available for our residents including indoor heated swimming pool, gymnasium, sauna, steam room and spa bath

Free WIFI is available throught the hotel
A member of Classic British Hotels.

Picture of Waterton Park Hotel, Wakefield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply Superb
I have stayed In many hotels with my work over the years, this hotel was by far the most comfortable and the food was five star- high.y recommended

Reviewed by
Janine N

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Waterton Park Hotel
All good, good but cold.

Reviewed by
Ro H

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location
Accommodation was superb, as was the breakfast. However, dinner was a little disappointing, and not good value for money. Would recommend room service menu or bar food.

Reviewed by
L W

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, food and room. The staff were welcoming and professional

Reviewed by
leanne B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressive exterior, slightly tired interior.
Friendly helpful staff. Picturesque exterior (I did arrive at night). The public areas appear quite well worn although the standard of the rooms is fairly high.

Reviewed by
Nick V

From Zurich, Switzerland
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sat night getaway !
Looks great on the Web. .. Unfortunately not that great of a Hotel !.... Room was fine until 6am when there seemed to be some idiot banging doors and shutting cupboards continously for 2 hours. ......outside our room was a small shared lobby , on a table was a stack of dirty plates from next doors room service, these were there from our check in and we're still there on our check out 24 hours later ! (The fishy food stunk the lobby out - disgusting! )...........The restaurant menu was minimal, service was terrible, an hour wait for meal, butter on the table but not offered a bread roll as other guests were offered..........breakfast was farcical, toast with no butter on the table, tea and coffee with an emu milk jug........ The Spa could be best described as "retro" .........This Hotel is no more than a 3 star at best .......... Won't return or recommend unfortunately. ...

Reviewed by
paul s

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel & room. Was great to use the spa facilities although a quick clean of the large window overlooking the lake would have given a better view from the poolside.
Sadly we were told the restaurant was full and had to dine in the bar. We were not overly concerned by this but sadly the bar area lacked the grandeur the rest of the hotel had and overlooked the swimming pool meaning a constant chlorine smell. We ate quickly and retreated back to our room...the rest of our stay was lovely.

Reviewed by
Michelle G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation all round

Reviewed by
John Creasey

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interest, peace and comfort
Splendid, attractive, country location in a hugely characterful old hall with a fascinating history revolving around Squire Waterton who was a naturalist and who entertained Charles Darwin at Walton Hall. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and all the rooms we saw were interesting, furnished sensitively, and had marvellous views across the lake to the surrounding golf course, woods and fields.
Of particular note was that this hotel really takes its responsibilities vis-a-vis the environment seriously: heat pumps, solar panels, and extensive recycling - as well as the usual notice about using towels more than once.
It was only one night for us. But should we return to this area, we will undoubtedly stay again.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice room but very warm
The exexutive rooms are excellent but being on the too floor get very hot on a warm dat

Reviewed by
steven D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next