Reviews - Healey House Hotel (formerly Alder House)


Towngate Road, Healey Lane, Batley, Wakefield, WF17 7HR

Price From 83.40 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (63)

43% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Burnley

  • October 2015

safe place with friendly staff

We only stayed one night but the staff were all very friendly and helpful, including phoning for taxis for our group.

It is in a safe part of the town. Breakfast was varied and filling which was just as well as I had a 12 hour journey ahead of me. Wifi was fast but it does need a password. My only negative was the weak mobile phone reception but as I said, they will phone taxis and restaurants on your behalf.

  • michael p

  • October 2015

healey house hotel overnighter

Faultless full english breakfast, really helpful staff, lovely clean nice-feel hotel, one and only complaint was that the bedroom carpet looked a bit grubby but this was more than offset by the overall experience.

We would definitely stay here again next time we're in the Leeds area.

  • Duncan R

  • October 2015

Another great stay

I have stayed in the Healey House Hotel before and received excellent service.

This visit was to provide the same exceptional level of service. All the staff go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Both my evening meal and breakfast were fantastic and extremely good value for money. Since my last visit they have made some improvement to the decor of the hotel. I travel a lot with my job and stay in hotels of various quality and price. This hotel may not have all of the trimmings of some more expensive hotels but you would struggle to find a more welcoming hotel anywhere and I will definitely be staying again. If you are looking for a hotel which is comfortable, has excellent customer service and offers excellent value for money then you cannot find any better than the Healey House.

  • P Johnson

  • July 2015

The bedding was clean.

We did not use the shower as the shower head was black and looked dirty. The grouting in the bath was brown needed a good clean or replacing as was the shower screen. There was dust on the skirting boards. In the wardrobe there was a grubby blanket.

  • steve mason

  • July 2015

Great for over night stay

Good hotel for one night over night stays.

  • Ian J

  • March 2015

Great value for money and more character than a cookie cutter chain hotel.

Ok it could be a it more organised and a few bits like carpet & shower rubber could do with a bit attention but I paid nearly double for far worse the week before in chain hotel near the airport.

The staff are friendly & very well meaning, the food is homely with some range in variety rather than a TGI's. The bed was also up to Lenny Henry standards. A bit off the beaten track for business in Leeds but worth it for the value and genuine service. I shall be back.

  • j baker

  • March 2015

shower room dirty.

TV did not work.

I also paid cash when checked in. i asked if they had taken payment off my card i was told no but hotel had taken payment of my card

I have phoned 4 times to get this sorted but payment still not sent back to me

When in bar thay also could not give change girl could not open till. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Andy R

  • March 2015


Basic but functional.

Desperately needs a refurb. Staff excellent and food good. Cooked breakfast made a nice change from usual cold buffets.

  • Amy S

  • March 2015

Old fashioned

The room was clean but very old fashioned.

Double bed uncomfortable with two very thin pillows. A tv with no signal... Pointless

Ridiculously thin walls which you hear everything and everyone. Around 3:00 in the korning a group of young teenagers running around shouting and laughing for a good half an hour and no sign of management, even though we was told that they would be there night and day.

  • Daniel Evans

  • February 2015

excellent food and good value for money

Recently stayed for one night and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

A few minor comment. 1, chair in the room was very unstable and falling apart really needs replacing. 2, shower had had been taped up and was leaking badly. 3, hair dryer was damaged to the point you could see the electrical wiring inside. Food in the hotel was top notch, staff were very helpful and polite.

Lovely hotel will definitely recommend it in the future.