Reviews - Healey House Hotel (formerly Alder House)


Towngate Road, Healey Lane, Batley, Wakefield, WF17 7HR

Price From 104.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (61)

41% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • P Johnson

  • July 2015

The bedding was clean.

We did not use the shower as the shower head was black and looked dirty. The grouting in the bath was brown needed a good clean or replacing as was the shower screen. There was dust on the skirting boards. In the wardrobe there was a grubby blanket.

  • steve mason

  • July 2015

Great for over night stay

Good hotel for one night over night stays.

  • Ian J

  • March 2015

Great value for money and more character than a cookie cutter chain hotel.

Ok it could be a it more organised and a few bits like carpet & shower rubber could do with a bit attention but I paid nearly double for far worse the week before in chain hotel near the airport.

The staff are friendly & very well meaning, the food is homely with some range in variety rather than a TGI's. The bed was also up to Lenny Henry standards. A bit off the beaten track for business in Leeds but worth it for the value and genuine service. I shall be back.

  • j baker

  • March 2015

shower room dirty.

TV did not work.

I also paid cash when checked in. i asked if they had taken payment off my card i was told no but hotel had taken payment of my card

I have phoned 4 times to get this sorted but payment still not sent back to me

When in bar thay also could not give change girl could not open till. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Andy R

  • March 2015


Basic but functional.

Desperately needs a refurb. Staff excellent and food good. Cooked breakfast made a nice change from usual cold buffets.

  • Amy S

  • March 2015

Old fashioned

The room was clean but very old fashioned.

Double bed uncomfortable with two very thin pillows. A tv with no signal... Pointless

Ridiculously thin walls which you hear everything and everyone. Around 3:00 in the korning a group of young teenagers running around shouting and laughing for a good half an hour and no sign of management, even though we was told that they would be there night and day.

  • Daniel Evans

  • February 2015

excellent food and good value for money

Recently stayed for one night and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

A few minor comment. 1, chair in the room was very unstable and falling apart really needs replacing. 2, shower had had been taped up and was leaking badly. 3, hair dryer was damaged to the point you could see the electrical wiring inside. Food in the hotel was top notch, staff were very helpful and polite.

Lovely hotel will definitely recommend it in the future.

  • Gary M

  • January 2015

Very good for the budget conscious

Good value for money but TV reception was not available during my stay.

  • Mark S

  • December 2014

cheap and bearable

Got what I paid for I suppose, bathroom was tiny, the wash hand basin was in my room.

I booked a double room and 2 days later my brother booked a single room and somehow got a better double room than mine for cheaper. not got too much complaints, was really a bed for 2 nights for me, doesn't look like the pictures at all!

  • dave d

  • December 2014

nice stay

A lot Better than expected