Reviews - Durker Roods Hotel


Meltham, Holmfirth, HD9 4JA

Price From 145.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (17)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • re F

  • October 2015

Durker Roods Hotel

Extractor fan in en-suite inoperative.

(room 22)

Very comfortable bed (I'm 6ft 3''), room very quiet. This was my second visit. Staff friendly and efficient.

  • s ingley

  • September 2015

very noisey.!!

thought the room was lovely, bed very comfortable, hotel is stunning.

However,there was a wedding on, couldnt get to the bar for a drink for wedding guests and from 11.00 till 3.00am guests were banging on doors, shouting in corridors, walls very thin, heard every noise from above and each side. we had 4 hours sleep max and had a long drive home. shame as everything else was lovely.

  • Barbara W

  • December 2014

pleasant enough for what i needed

£5 room service - I needed to go to reception to order as no-one answered the phone.

Food acceptable. Service charge steep. room OK - acceptable for the price. Had to wait 20 minutes for coffee in the morning though only 4 eating at the time. Suggest coffee be 'self serve 'then this would not happen. Breakfast menus in a pile on a shelf - not seen until leaving the restaurant. Poached eggs very good.

  • c charlton

  • September 2014

Away day

Clean and tidy room, in a nice old hotel within lovely surroundings.

Staff friendly and obliging , easy to find and plenty of parking spaces . On the Saturday night of our stay , we opted to eat on the premises and had a very nice meal in the Public bar area , however if we had been informed that there was a wedding on in the hotel , we would have gone out to eat ,as we were suddenly joined by the wedding guests eating their buffet. This didn`t bother us , but I think we should have been informed of the wedding occasion when we arrived. as it was clear that the function room and restaurant area were not big enough to cope. This proved to be the case the next morning at breakfast. Having enquired at reception were they would like us to sit, we sat in the restaurant with the other guests. The staff acknowledged that we were there , and would return to get our order , having waited 20 minutes , 1 glass of orange juice later , the staff were busy cleaning away empty breakfast plates, when they came across a couple waiting to order, unfortunately it wasn`t us but someone else waiting patiently . This made up our mind`s and promptly explained at the reception desk that I would like a refund , and wasn`t prepared to wait any longer. This was sorted out with an apology. But apart from this the hotel and staff are very good.

  • Gary H

  • August 2014

well worth a visit

This hotel is well worth a stay nice clean and comfy

  • Andy A

  • August 2014

Good value for money. Ample parking. Excellent evening meal and breakfast.

  • F Roberts

  • August 2014

Serene few days

Can't fault hotel.

Going back because we enjoyed our stay that much

  • Michael Palmer

  • August 2014

Country house hotel, full of character

We knew the hotel from when we lived in the area twenty years ago, and had eaten there but not stayed before.

We understand it changed hands recently, and the new owners are ithe process of refurbishing. It's an old house, formerly the home of David Brown (the DB in Aston Martin, and tractor maker in Meltham) set in quiet and pleasant gardens, and a short walk from the village/town of Meltham in beautiful pennine countryside. The staff were very attentive, right down to the handyman - he asked my wife how we liked the room, and she mentioned that the only thing missing was a full-length mirror. Within 24 hours it was fitted. I would recommend the family room (rm 28) we stayed in, with plenty of space and a double and single beds.

  • w wale

  • July 2014

A Little Gem

A very pleasant hotel - thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Staff polite, drinks very well priced, food good, accomodation

comfortable and clean. A little Gem to be fair - hidden away, very peaceful. But close enough to discover the Peak District, Yorkshire Moors.

  • Alan S

  • July 2014

Good value. But not great value

The staff were very nice & tried to be helpful.

Apparently my internet booking didn't necessarily guarantee me a room... The property does fall into the 'faded grandeur' sector. The first room I was offered overlooking the main entrance was potentially noisy & the TV didn't work. Was then offered a different room which was more satisfactory. A good breakfast spread made up for earlier disappointment :-)