No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Durker Roods Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Meltham , Holmfirth, HD9 4JA
Located in the foothills of the Peak District National park but only 15 minutes from Huddersfield and within easy access of the motorway network. This family run 19th century manor house hotel is the perfect location for the business traveller who prefers great service in a peaceful location or from which to explore the beautiful countryside where both "last of the Summer Wine" and Where the Heart is" are filmed. The Hotel has just finished refurbishing most the area including some bedrooms, Alexandra Rose Suite, Oscars Restaurant and David Brown Lounge Bar, with freshly prepared, traditional meals being served both Lunchtime and in the Evening.

Come and experience West Yorkshire's Warmest Welcome
Picture of Durker Roods Hotel, Holmfirth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little Gem
A very pleasant hotel - thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Staff polite, drinks very well priced, food good, accomodation
comfortable and clean.
A little Gem to be fair - hidden away, very peaceful.
But close enough to discover the Peak District, Yorkshire Moors.

Reviewed by
w wale

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value. But not great value
The staff were very nice & tried to be helpful. Apparently my internet booking didn't necessarily guarantee me a room... The property does fall into the 'faded grandeur' sector. The first room I was offered overlooking the main entrance was potentially noisy & the TV didn't work. Was then offered a different room which was more satisfactory. A good breakfast spread made up for earlier disappointment :-)

Reviewed by
Alan S

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no continent in breakfast
poor value continental. limited choice of Danish that's it continental = 3/4 empty tray of Danish selection. coffee poor.

Reviewed by
david r

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All that you really need, in a brilliant location
I got the impression that everything is carefully budgeted at this hotel; money is not thrown around on facilities, staffing or food. But I have no argument with that, and certainly got the benefit in the price I paid. Everything that really matters was fine - a good-sized room with a comfortable bed and a good-sized en-suite bathroom with bath with shower over, and almost instant very hot water. The hotel is a pleasant 19th Century mill-owner's mansion house, more recently (in the post-WW2 days until about 1973) a part of the estate associated with David Brown tractors. I did not notice anything that was seriously run-down or decrepit.
The room had a kettle and cups, plenty of sugar and tea bags, but just one sachet of coffee and one small tub of milk. The waste bin had not been emptied after the previous visitor, so it seems that part of the room service had not been carried out.
Two pillows on the bed were one fat, one thin, which I thought good as it offers flexibility for the sleeper.
Free wi-fi is a major consideration for me. It connected without fuss and worked well. The TV in the room may be small and possibly old by modern standards, but that is of no concern to me. There was a Corby trouser press, which I appreciated.
Not everything on the breakfast menu was actually on offer - an apology was offered only for the lack of mushrooms - and portion control seemed to be the order of the day. I didn't ask for more toast or coffee - or for more coffee and milk for the bedroom. They would probably have been provided if I had asked, so I have no grounds for complaint. I don't like wastage either!
The hotel was very quiet on the night I stayed and I was enjoying reading at the breakfast table when that was made harder for me by public-address muzack suddenly coming on - it coincided with the arrival of cleaners. Worse yet, just the one song was repeated over and over. Someone must be fixated on whatever it was - Elton John perhaps.
But I didn't complain, so don't know what the response would have been if I had.
The location, set well back from the main road (whch is itself fairly quiet) and in several acres of trees, flowers and lawns, is excellent. There is plenty of parking space. My brother and I undertook a moorland walk from the hotel, taking in a stretch of the Pennine Way. All in all, I expect it will prove one of the most enjoyable days of my year.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel, friendly staff, room rate is good value for money which include cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
h ybas

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at Durker Roods
A very nice and comfortable hotel offering competitive rates and excellent service.

Reviewed by
P McNevin

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
Hotel was fine. Will need transport if going into holmfirth itself. Not walkable. Taxis appear plentiful so obviously factor this in.

Reviewed by
peter c

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durker Roods Hotel
Reasonable hotel clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
J Charlesworth

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Well worth the visit will stop here again whn in the area

Reviewed by
Gary H

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good budget accomodation
Nice budget hotel. I stayed here overnight while moving house, arrived very late, friendly staff, quick check in. Nice full English breakfast next morning (inc with price).
Only downside was that room ( I had a single room up in the attic of the building) was showing its age. Bathroom was fine, but bed left my feet off the end and I'm only 5'9!
Fin for no frills or there might be better rooms available.

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next