No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Durker Roods Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Meltham , Holmfirth, HD9 4JA
Located in the foothills of the Peak District National park but only 15 minutes from Huddersfield and within easy access of the motorway network. This family run 19th century manor house hotel is the perfect location for the business traveller who prefers great service in a peaceful location or from which to explore the beautiful countryside where both "last of the Summer Wine" and Where the Heart is" are filmed. The Hotel has just finished refurbishing most the area including some bedrooms, Alexandra Rose Suite, Oscars Restaurant and David Brown Lounge Bar, with freshly prepared, traditional meals being served both Lunchtime and in the Evening.

Come and experience West Yorkshire's Warmest Welcome
Picture of Durker Roods Hotel, Holmfirth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
Hotel was fine. Will need transport if going into holmfirth itself. Not walkable. Taxis appear plentiful so obviously factor this in.

Reviewed by
peter c

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durker Roods Hotel
Reasonable hotel clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
J Charlesworth

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Well worth the visit will stop here again whn in the area

Reviewed by
Gary H

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good budget accomodation
Nice budget hotel. I stayed here overnight while moving house, arrived very late, friendly staff, quick check in. Nice full English breakfast next morning (inc with price).
Only downside was that room ( I had a single room up in the attic of the building) was showing its age. Bathroom was fine, but bed left my feet off the end and I'm only 5'9!
Fin for no frills or there might be better rooms available.

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
The TV was as old as the hotel and the background noise on meant it could be on quiet so as not to disturb the next room.
The Shower head had been dropped in the past and cracked so squirted out at a strange angle and there was not much pressure.
the room was basic but clean and the staff very helpfull.
I did report this to reception on my departure so hopefully these items will be sorted

Reviewed by
Philip W

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room not as booked but discount given, everywhere need a little attention, decor in need of expert h

Reviewed by
G Adey

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durker Roods 26th May
Having arrived at Durker Roods we were informed that we were in 'Room 30' and the receptionist was confused as we had paid £90 for a double room and apparently room 30 was not a £90 value room, as it had a very old bathroom. As there was no other room available we were shown the room and asked what we thought. Not having much choice in the matter we did not know what to do, but the receptionist offered to half our room price which was nice.
Apart from the 1960's bathroom with avocado suite the room was fine, bed comfy and fairly quiet. The TV only seemed to show one channel though and there were no instructions for it, even turning on the mystery box in was plugged into did not seem to make much difference.
The shower was a bit too low and could not be adjusted, which would have been a pain if we'd needed to wash our hair.
Cooked breakfast was fairly reasonable, and standard stuff. We were however shown to a table which had the remains of old jam pots from the previous occupiers, and had obviously not been cleared properly.
All in all a nice hotel but with a few niggles.

Reviewed by
Tim Pearson

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful setting
very nice building in a great setting, very clean and breakfast good. room was very comfortable

Reviewed by
Jane Nightingale

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth a look,
Excellent value for money - especially after they had re-roomed me as the atic room had a faulty TV. Ground floor room MUCH better. I travel with my dog, and only downside was that I couldnt even sit in the bar with him and have a pint. Obviously I accept no dogs in restaurant, but 'dog firiendly hotel' could do better. Had to sit in the hall - beer was good tho! 15 min wait for toast at breakfast was a bit over the top tho! I see what other guests mean....

Reviewed by
Mike S

From Kedington, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always friendly

Reviewed by
Gerrit Vloedgraven

From Netherlands
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next