No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
12 Holloway Circus Queensway , Birmingham, B1 1BT
As Birmingham's fantastic renaissance continues; it brings along the landmark Radisson Blu Hotel, adding a stylish twist to the city's skyline. Chic, Fashion and Fresh are the unique styles for the 211 bedrooms including 8 superb suites. All Residential guests can enjoy COMPLIMENTARY high speed WIFIInternet access.

The Hotel provides 10 fully-equipped meeting and event rooms, that are set to impress the most discerning guest. The Filini Restaurant & Bar serves up a whole new food philosophy, blending Sardinian flavors with Mediterranean classics. Visit the Gym & Sauna on the 18th floor which provides spectacular views of Birmingham.

Children less than 17 years stay for free in existing bedding. An extra bed can be booked at £15 for guests under 17 years old, and for at £30 for guests over 17 years old. Maximum 1 extra bed per room possible. Subject to availability and needs to be reserved through the hotel directly.
Picture of Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 229 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel

Reviewed by
darren jensen

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room dated, bed uncomfortable
Staff were friendly and helpful but otherwise nothing to recommend it above budget chains. Room looked rather dated, especially the furniture. Bed was uncomfortable. Unable to get a hot drink at the bar in the evening, and poor quality coffee at breakfast.

Reviewed by
Karen W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maybe 3 star if they gave you a clean room
After entering the room (standard double) I immediately phoned reception as the room was filthy IE stains on chairs, walls,towels, mold growing in the shower and the carpet was disguting! room N0 1217
After waiting 15 mins i was then moved to No 1511 the room layout was exactly as the previous room the bed size is generous but unfortunately thats about as good as my review gets this room also turned out to be fairly dirty, this is not a 4 star hotel as advertised on laterooms.com nor was it a £300 per night room as they advertised it as reduced from. I really wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel

Reviewed by
M stewart

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel, brilliant rooms and value - don't stay in room 1311!!
From start to finish my trip was very easy and pleasant.
Check in was quick and congenial, the gentleman that served me seemed genuinely interested in what I had been up to during the day and made the process very pleasant. I had forgotten to bring nearly all of the information I needed for the booking, but he showed no sign that this was any trouble and checked me in with ease.
I didn't use the bar, but it looked attractive and there were a good number of revellers in it, having a whale of a time.
The room was beautiful; immaculately clean and furnished in a modern/funky kind of way. Even though I was in a standard room, I had plenty of space and the lighting in the room provided for a relaxed atmosphere. High up, the views are stunning, and are sublime at night (not so much in the day!).
If you are checked in to room 1311 I would change it straight away. I nearly asked to change hallway through the night as I didn't get any sleep, but the thought of moving all my stuff out of my room at 3am, into another, seemed like it would make little difference at the time. There seems to be a lot of metal cabling (perhaps lift cables?) in a cavity in the wall adjacent to the room (accessable via a locked door in the room itself). As the building moves in the wind, these metal cables grind, twang and creek incredibly loudly - much louder than the average setting on the TV. It's not a noise you can't ignore and I had a sleepless night because of it.
Breakfast in the morning was in a great setting with a lovely host. The food itself will win no awards; a standard hotel self-serve buffet breakfast that has been under the hot lamps for a little while, but it was by no means terrible. Would have liked to seen another egg option apart from just scrambled, but that's a bit of a first world problem.
If I was situated in another room, I would of had a perfect visit and can wholly recommend a booking.

Reviewed by
Alistair G

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my night at the rad blu
wonderfull room, very clean. polite friendly staff. and value for money. and the breakfast was second to none.

Reviewed by
stephen moore

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing given I upgraded
I was disappointed with the standard of the room mainly because it smelt of drains but also I couldn't see how the room was 'executive'. There was only one gown and slippers and the tea and coffee weren't replenished despite us staying for two nights. The room was no bigger than a standard premier inn room so not worth the money!
The food was good but the service wasn't. Tables weren't cleared and there were long delays being served coffee at breakfast and at dinner service was slow and there didn't appear to be enough waiting or kitchen staff

Reviewed by
Caroline F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was a little shabby. Food in the restaurant was excellent.

Reviewed by
S White

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible
Had to change rooms three times as each one given had not been cleaned.
Smelt of egg in the bathrooms=poor sewage. Only given one pillow each and was told hotel too busy to provide spares!

Reviewed by
A Gregory

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel looked very nice, the room was nice with good view. The towels were dirty and so was the cups and spoons for coffee. The staff were very rude did not seam to care, they had no coustomer service skilles and on check out was quite rude and had no manors.

Reviewed by
Zoe B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First impressions not good but got a little better by the end of our stay
Hotel looked impressive on arrival but our expectations were soon dashed! Where do I start..... when booking in the guy at the checkin was foreign and seemed to struggle a little understanding, after going through the painful checkin process once he pressed the wrong button on his computer meaning we had to start over again, we got to our 'executive' room only to find it marginly larger than a box room, there was no coffee machine, no dressingowns or slipper an no 'free' paytv as advertised, the room looked tatty and a little dirty.... not what Id expect for a 4* £190per night room(and that was with a discount)
After complaining in was asked to email them a copy of my reservation email as they didnt believe I had booked an executive room as their system had standard room on it. Finally I got my confirmation emailed over (took a while as their free wifi wouldnt connect), at this point the manager came over explaining that their booking department had sent over the wrong details to them ..... again (sounds like its a regular problem). He upgraded us (so he said) from an executive booking to a business class room, so we dragged our luggage for the second time to go and find our new room, when we got to the door the card keys didnt work and we couldnt get into the room, we headed back towards the check in again with our luggage only to find we where trapped as the lift wouldn't accept our card keys either (not sure why the worked on the way up). After replacing the cards again we dragged our cases for a third time to our room.
The room was large and bright, the bed was amazingly comfortable but on closer inspection was a bit dirty and run down also the shower in the small but adequate bathroom sprayed everywhere except through the head as the hose had so many leaks and holes in it.
We only got one bath robe and pair of slippers between the two of us but to the defence of the hotel im sure they would have sent up another if we asked.
Like in stated earlier, the closer we looked the dirtyer the room was, covered in dirty marks and stains and we kept finding bits of litter all over the place.
The TV was rubbish, really poor picture when we could actually get one and the remote only worked from about a meter away.
The bed was fantastic and after giving the bed springs a good long test we both sank in the incredibly soft bed and slept like babies.
Breakfast was fantastic, great choice and good quality..... but so it should be for the price.
So my end thoughts were
4* ...... Who do they think theyre kidding?
Executive room.... didnt actually see it but the standard and business rooms were a disappointment.
Customer service..... started bad, real bad! But there was a young girl on the checkin who was so good and nice we're willing to overlook the first few customer experiences encountered.
Bed....Brilliant
Food... fantastic
Cleanliness.... could have been better, lots better!
Would I use them again?.....I used them this time as I own my own engineering company and I stay hotels a lot, was hoping to use the chain with my company for business use but NO I wouldn't use them again.
Would I recommend the hotel? NO! Use the premier inn down the road, it may be budget but it wins hands down for a majority of reasons.
Was it value for money.... again No, use a premier inn!

Reviewed by
B Young

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next