Reviews - Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

4

12 Holloway Circus Queensway, Birmingham, B1 1BT

Price From 285.34 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (116)

60% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • holly k

  • August 2014

Excellent customer service !!!!!

First impressions great .

We got greeted by a lovely receptionist who made us feel very welcomed. On to entering our room, the decore wasn't great as the colour scheme was multi ...which I guess doesn't appeal to all, also our room was very warm even with aircon on full so I called reception and they sent up a fan right away, sorted. The bed was very comfy and hotel in a great location for bars and food. All in all I would 100% stay again because I felt so welcome and location was handy.

  • John Smith

  • August 2014

Our anniversary

Had a gt stay only real issue was it advertised stunning views over the city, but we were face away from the city so not quite what I would call stunning .

I asked for move but no

More suites available. So a little disappointed in that but overall enjoyed it !

  • GERRY A

  • August 2014

Grubby

I booked the room after careful consideration and online comparison against other comparable hotels.

The room price booking direct with Radison would have been £139 but I found an offer on Late Rooms. com for £82. To say we were disappointed is an understatement. Arriving on the 12th floor landing we found the carpets to be dark, dingy and grubby. The room itself (1204) was just as grubby -

The lampshade and curtains, once a cream colour, were covered with dirty brown stains and the bathroom sealant was covered in mildew. TV reception was poor in terms of picture quality and there were about 6 channels to watch including the Radison Propaganda Channel. One pillow each, no bottle opener to allow use of the mini bar were other issues we had. If this had been more than just a single night booking I would have demanded that we be moved. The all inclusive buffet breakfast (£18 each if not all inc !!) is reasonable in terms of choice We had a Full English breakfast which was unfortunately luke warm at best courtesy of those useless heat lamp arrangements. At £18 a head I don't think it unreasonable that a freshly cooked breakfast should be the norm. On the plus side the choice is good as they cater for those who prefer something healthier or pastries. The best thing about the Radison Blu was the fact that you could not access your particular floor without your room card so in terms of security this was a plus.

  • Katie C

  • August 2014

Spa?

Decided to choose the Radisson over Malmaison due to better reviews and a better spa menu.

However once we had checked in we asked one of the housekeepers if we needed to call the spa ahead of visiting only to be told there was no longer a spa. Had only booked about 10 days before we visited and it was on their website then. Little bit disappointed but everything else was on par with other reviews and the price we paid. Beds were super comfy!

  • Anna S

  • August 2014

Great location and friendly staff

We stayed in Birmingham for a work awards presentation and we selected this hotel as it offered good value and was in the right location for us.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • N Woodley

  • July 2014

Wow we

I am a person who has traveled around and stayed in many hotels and when booking this 1 bedroom suite i was not really sure it would be worth the price i paid but with that said me and my wife was blown away at the quality the size the views the bathroom absolutely amazed by everything had a few issues with a light but the staff came up sorted out the issue quick and fast

defo want to stay again if it was cheaper i would stay there all the time

  • Susan White

  • July 2014

Good value

Particularly enjoyed our stay.

The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The room was clean and is a good state. Ate in the restaurant and the service and food were excellent.

  • Robert C

  • July 2014

Given a wheelchair access twin room for some reason?

The room was reasonably spacious & the bathroom large due to its wheel chair accessible design.

This design left the bathroom looking/feeling very National Health rather than luxurious. Functional & clean, but basic. We were given a twin bed layout rather than the expected double, but on this occasion that wasn’t an issue. Perhaps because the room was booked through a 3rd party booking site the large picture window faced the car park not the front, but being high up (10th Floor) there was still an interesting if not attractive view. Breakfast was included, but we paid the extra £3 to have it delivered efficiently to the room. We paid £84 for a Sat. night, but for that money there are nicer rooms to be had staying centrally in Brum. (Some PremInns such as the Wellington street one, the 3 Hilton/Hamptons & the Novotel.) Staying at the Jurry’s Inn this weekend, so may add that to the better value V's room quality list once checked out, so will leave a review on that. The main entrance & reception is grand & reasonably impressive, but access through the Fire Door/Tradesmen’s Entrance definitely is not. This is the access to the hotel if you've parked in the Holloway car park (£24!. = 24Hrs) but due to costs I'd stay in other car parks for the usual £6/£7 (6 to 7 mins walk away) if I stayed here again. The two different reception team members I dealt with were very friendly, helpful & smartly turned out. Letting people in & out of the back ‘car park’ fire door entrance has to be a constant drain on their time, but the reception staffing numbers was high, so not an issue for hotel residents.

  • Brian T

  • July 2014

A good hotel with a great location

I've stayed at the Radisson before on business but this time chose to stay there for the central location and good facilities.

It's a great hotel, my only gripe would be they've had new mattresses and they are a little soft for my liking but I think that's totally down to personal preference. The staff are very helpful and polite and there are some great views from the higher floors.

  • Francesca A

  • July 2014

lLovely Hotel

Fantastic hotel, the reception staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was lovely and clean and Breakfast was very good. The hotel was within walking distance to New Street station and the Bullring shopping centre. I would certainly stay there again.