No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cavendish Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Church Lane,Baslow , Baslow, DE45 1SP
Set on Chatsworth Estate, within easy walking distance of the Park and surroundings, the highly commended Cavendish Hotel and Restaurant is famous for its excellent food and regularly changing menu. All 23 bedrooms have unique and truly magnificent views over the Chatsworth Estate. Luxuriously appointed, many bedrooms have antique furniture and fine art and Decor chosen by none other than the Duchess of Devonshire, and featuring every modern facility. THIS HOTEL IS COMPLETELY NON SMOKING.

All the Cavendish bedrooms overlook Chatsworth Estate in the Peak District and are luxuriously appointed with twin or double beds, private bathrooms with bath and shower, direct dial phone, computer modems, television, hairdryer, refrigerated bar and beverage facility. The Gallery Restaurant provides imaginative food, using the freshest possible ingredients in relaxed and sumptuous surroundings. A menu with emphasis on fresh and exciting flavours, stylishly presented and surrounded by (in the case of the Gallery Restaurant) some interesting fine art. The a la carte menu emphasises the use of fresh ingredients, many locally sourced.

(Please Note: An additional 5% levy will be charged on all goods and services supplied during your stay - excluding accommodation bookings made via this site)

Picture of Cavendish Hotel, Baslow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cavendish Hotel
Hotel is in a superb location with stunning views......very little to fault with this hotel....food also excellent.
Slightly on the expensive side possibly .......this is London prices in Derbyshire!!...but I suppose if you want a hotel in this quality bracket, these are the prices you will pay particularly in high season!

Reviewed by
Andy Osbourne

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect location
Very nice hotel. Staff very helpful. Very expensive though and the extra 5% service charge on everything seemed excessive. Very nice room and furnishings but it wasn't quite the luxury bathroom or special bed I was expecting from the superior room description. Location was perfect with a beautiful view, quaint village and nice walk down to Chatsworth.

Reviewed by
Carolyn Metcalf

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully appointed and tasteful. Customer service superb. Very quiet, fantastic if that is what you are looking for. Will definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
Mairi B

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel marred by a discriminatory decision
We've visited this part of the country dozens of times and on our way we always pass "The Cavendish Hotel" and my wife expressed a bit of a passion to stay here.It was our tenth wedding anniversary last weekend so I decided to surprise my wife by booking a nights stay here.I must admit I was a little apprehensive as this hotel seemed very upmarket but we have stayed in many many places in Derbyshire and the Peak District and each time we've been treated with the utmost kindness and respect from residents to coffee shop owners.
The room we booked into was of reasonable standard (if a little expensive) and had a lovely four poster bed. The bathroom needed some serious updating too.The food was excellent but again very expensive for what it consisted of.
Now for the negatives.
When we checked in we were made to pay a kind of pre-authorisation payment of £300 (our room came to £219) before we were handed the room key.I thought this was a little strange as we've never had to do this with any hotel we've stayed at in the past. We've had to give card details before but not this.We were then handed the keys and never thought much of it until we were about to go to bed.I checked my account balance and £300 had been debited from my account although I was told it wouldn't.
The following morning before we checked out I confronted Moira the receptionist and said it was a little strange(albeit didn't seem at all bothered) that the money had come out of my account but stated once the bill had been settled the authorised payment will be cancelled and the only debited amount will be your bill.This was another lie because when I checked my balance again after I settled the bill only the difference was paid i.e. The original payment wasn't refunded they just took £69 out as the final bill came to £369.So to sum up they basically wanted us to pay upfront before we entered our room.I was getting a little angry and paranoid about this so I decided to ask a few of the other guests if they had to pay upfront and they all said no.I was fuming at this point and I wanted to confront the management but my wife asked me to let it go.I really didn't take her advice because soon as I got home I decided to contact the last 25 people who stayed here about this and although I didn't get a reply from all of them the ones I did stated they didn't have to pay upfront.Not one of them.
One last thing I must point out is that I'm of Anglo-Indian heritage(you wouldn't know by my name) and I've got dark skin.This has never been an issue before but what I believe(actually convinced) happened last weekend at The Cavendish Hotel was either snobbery or worse but one thing is for certain I've not finished yet.I shall be writing to various people about this and The Duke Of Devonshire(owner).
In a nutshell if your face doesn't fit you'll be required to pay for your stay upfront.
I've actually written to the hotel but they have declined to comment.

Reviewed by
peter f

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

November in Baslow
Having arrived late owing to motorway problems the hotel and the staff were warm and welcoming, and had looked after our dinner guests for us. The room, although a long walk from reception, was beautifully furnished and the bed superb. Our dinner was excellent. The Christmas market on Friday at Chatsworth was a bonus, and we wished we were staying for the weekend. We shall definitely be back!

Reviewed by
stephanie w

From amersham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

luxury with views
Fabulous stay in the Cavendish - upgraded to a 4 poster room, which had lovely views over the fields. The staff are friendly but not obtrusive, especially the receptionist and maître d, in the restaurant. The food is wonderful - tender pigeon and tasty 3 part lamb dish. (The cheese board could have been slightly more generous! ) You can buy tickets for Chatsworth at the hotel and the Devonshire Arms is just yards away if you want a change of scenery and a pint. Steps required for the four poster!

Reviewed by
Lynn G

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
Booked 1 night for birthday treat for my wife. We had first class treatment from start to finish. Staff are very friendly and efficient.. Attention to detail throughout hotel is first class
Very luxurious surroundings, full of history. Food is excellent. Room was beautiful as was bathroom.
A nice touch is fresh milk in room for hot drinks

Reviewed by
robert h

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stopover

Reviewed by
geoffrey Jackson

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolutely stunning hotel with amazing views
On arrival at The Cavendish hotel I was warmly greeted and offered an alternative room as my original room hadn't been cleaned yet. I was helped with my baggage and shown to my room.
The staff offered advice and directions for walks and throughout my stay were very pleasant.

Reviewed by
a carter

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight break with daughter
We were accommodated in annexe which was a long walk from reception on ground floor,which was OK for myself and 30 yr old daughter, but would be inconvenient if somewhat incapacitated. Hotel seemed to have few people staying and therefore I would have thought we would have been given a more convenient room. I did feel we had been (roomed ) on the basis we hadn't paid full price for the stay !!! Guests we did see were all elderly and I did feel it had the atmosphere of a very comfortable residential home. The room itself was very nice and comfy bed, but it wasn't a hotel I would particularly recommend to friends. Because of lack of atmosphere we decided not to eat there so I cant comment on the food. Maybe the hotel would create a better impression in better weather. It is situated to afford a pleasant walk to Chatsworth house across the fields. Overall comfortable stay but nothing exceptional.

Reviewed by
angela hellewell

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next