No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Roker Lodge

2自行分類 Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
15 Roker Terrace , Sunderland, SR6 9NB
Tradational in style this Sea Front Bed & Breakfast is an ideal location to visit the beautiful North East Coastline. With stunning Sea Views of The Roker Pier.
The Roker Lodge is adjacent to the Best Western Roker Hotel, where you are able to use all the facilities including The Tavistock Retro Italia and Thai-China restaurants which are renowned in the local area for there fine food and fantastic atmospheres. You can also visit the R-Bar with its traditional bar meals and fantastic sea views.

** This is a non smoking establishment**

**Please note the lodge is not part of Best Western Roker Hotel and only has the use of the facilities of this hotel.**
Picture of Roker Lodge, Sunderland at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would go back!
Stayed at both Roker hotel and Roker lodge and in my opinion there was not much difference! Cheaper alternative for when you are on a budget. Rooms seemed the same lay out and plenty of space, room service was very quick. Staff lovely. Will be returning.

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff, great hotel but apartment needs upgrade
Having arrived as per my conversation with one of the staff room that we had agreed to be given it was not at all available. This was a negative as the room have a bathroom and would have had a court for the baby. However the friendliness and help that the staff gave us could not be faulted. We were given complimentary coffee and cakes which were delicious. The new upgrade in the hotel was perfect the layout and obversely the decor. When we had breakfast in the morning again the location of the breakfast eating area was perfect and the food was of the highest standard. The staff throughout the state were very friendly from the reception through to the cleaner and especially in the cafe/restaurant area. However one small downside was the upgrade to an apartment near to the hotel was not quite as good. It was raining on the time when we arrived and also in the morning for breakfast and the journey back and forward to the apartment or to the hotel was not so friendly. The worst part of the hols day was that the apartment is large and spacious as it is unfortunately was very tired and needs the same level of refurbishment as the hotel. On a very small note we have a young child and the apartment had a very dangerous staircase which was not dated off and could have caused a serious accident. However having said that I think as it wasn't planned and it was just an upgrade the Hotel should not be criticised for this. In short the hotel is immaculate beautiful well presented and a pleasure to stay at, however the apartment is large and spacious as it is is very tired and need an update. I must add that the people at the hotel could not have been friendly up all of more assistance in everything we will definitely stay there again but not in the apartment.

Reviewed by
David L

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed with new italian restaurant
We ate at the newly opened Italian Restaurant attached to the hotel. The ambience was excellent and welcome on arrival very cordial. I was therefore very disappointed when my pork chop had one end completely uncooked and was told it was smoked and therefore would do me no harm!!! No offer of recompense or sorry.
NB I would stay at the hotel again but in a better room but not eat at the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Stella P

From Epping, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room
I was lucky enough to be upgraded to the hotel on arrival. Room had everything I needed, comfy bed, tea making facilities, bath/shower and hair dryer. Only small issue was the room was very warm. Not much of a view from the window but I only had to walk outside to see the sea so not the end of the world. The staff were very helpful and accomodating, would recommend.

Reviewed by
Polly F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money,clean room & friendly helpful staff, breakfast excellent, plenty of choice

Reviewed by
E Owen

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reunion
Excellent service

Reviewed by
Mark wise

From hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as bad as some reviews say ...
Firstly you must remember this is the Roker Hotel Lodge..NOT the Roker Hotel!
The Roker Lodge is another property belonging to the hotel and as such you have to check in at the hotel.
On arrival we were directed to check in at the hotel and noticed there was an evening bar directly next door and many people outside eating and drinking, some in the car park on chairs. This is fair enough, but a little too congested out there for my liking, too many groups of people drinking, bearing in mind the Roker Hotel Rooms are directly above this, I was not too disappointed to be put away from it 3 doors or so down at the Roker Lodge.
OK Roker Lodge....its not as nice as the hotel so you will think uurrgghh straightaway, coupled with the fact that not one member of staff have taken it upon themselves to sweep the many old cig butts from the front door! (first impressions guys!)
But once in, its not too bad for a couple of nights, they have obviously patched it up for now, some rooms look better than others, my friend had the downstairs room which had a private shower/toilet (not all rooms do at the lodge and will be shared) leather chair, wardrobe, flat screen tv but no view to speak of.
I had a room at the very top of the building at the front (no bathroom but used my friends) which had an INCREDIBLE view of the sea & beach!! stunning to wake up to, so i was happy.
All the hallway Doors are really squeaky, as well as the stairs etc, can get a little annoying but we didnt spend much time in the hotel so...hey ho
RED FLAG: There was a door leading outside on the second floor, which had been wedged open that i noticed on arrival, this door stayed open ALL NIGHT! not good from a safety prospective.
BREAKFAST: Served in the Roker Hotel Restaurant, lovely ambiance, attentive staff ,fruits, cereals etc full english was just ok actually, sausage was over cooked and a little "porky" lol as was the bacon, not much flavor going on, plus i asked for a hard egg and got a runny one (they never cook the egg enough, i like it like a frisbee!)
To sum up:
Its cheap, it has a great sea front location, its quiet and unpretentious, could do with more decor work but no doubt will get done. Communal shower looked spotless.
A good one if you are looking to keep costs low and be in a nice location with the kids etc and dont mind roughing it just a little bit, the Four Seasons its not, so dont expect too much.

Reviewed by
DENISE H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room not up to scratch for the money

Reviewed by
M Swallow

From North Walsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check which part of the hotel you are staying in
We booked for a 2 night stay to visit the Empire theatre, Thankfully the show was brilliant.
We were put in a basement room, which was damp, the door banged everytime the front door opened and had to be wedged shut with a newspaper.
A charity dinner on thursday night, finished at around midnight and at 2am the guests from that were still banging about. we checked out at 2am and drove home, the night manager was great and did apologise and try and find us another room.
Don't stop here unless you are part of a hen/stag party or a contractor on a budget.
Did complain to the General manager, but never even received an acknowledgement of my complaint, that's what they think of their guests

Reviewed by
C Elcock

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No hot water

Reviewed by
g reavley

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next