Reviews - The Beach View Lodge


15 Roker Terrace, Sunderland, SR6 9NB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

71% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Sheila C

  • May 2015

Our experience

We had booked a twin room for my daughter and myself and a single room for my son.

We couldn't find Roker Lodge as it had been renamed to Beach View Lodge. My son's room was small - just room for a bed. It did have an ensuite. There was a tv on the wall as you went in which was covered in dust. My daughter and I went to our room which was a nice size. When we went into the en suite there was a disgusting deposit in the toilet which hadn't been flushed let alone cleaned. There was no phone attached so went it would appear the phone handset had beenstolenand she was really apologetic about the toilet. In our new room, we had loads of room and a great view. The room was clean albeit dated. I couldn't fault the staff and they were very friendly. Would I stay again. Not in the lodge but I would in the hotel.

  • mike houghton

  • April 2015

Roker Lodge

Ideal accommodation for working lads.

  • S Keillor

  • April 2015

Great stay for a group of lads

Perfect place to stay for a group of lads for a weekend.

Breakfast was amazing, plenty of pubs nearby (all reasonably priced) and a brilliant walk along the shore. Would definitely stay again!

  • Julian C

  • March 2015

first class service

The room was up two flights of stairs and very small but functional the decor was straight out of the seventies.

It was however clean and tidy if a little cramped. The bed bed linen etc was spotless and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The shower was small but there was plenty of hot water and the towels were changed in between nights. The night porter couldn't have been more helpful and got us a jug of iced water at two in the morning which was a life saver.

We were late down to breakfast on the Sunday and it was past its best as to be expected but the breakfast on the Monday morning was absolutely first rate. Couldn't be faulted. Overall the staff were courteous and efficient.

  • d thomas

  • March 2015


booked a room at rocker londe when we arrived was informed it was at the now bayview lodge which is a seperate b and b when we entered the hall way to go to our room the carpets were dated and not so clean not a good first impression we went up to our room on the 4th floor as we entered the twin room it was dark with two beds pushed into a room which was no bigger than our own box room at home there was no wardrobe or draws a small bathroom which a cat could not swing itself around the litter bin was not emptied the painted walls had areas were the wall paper had been picked of next to both beds and the gap between the beds was a one person first then secound person could get in the room and beds shown in the pictures on site are of the family room not the other rooms so very deceving the window to sea the sea view if you are 4 foot then great other wise tou see the wall when stood there an old and musty smell also greats you and 2 coat hangers for your clothes are the wordrobes all in all do not book the rocker lodge or as its called now bay view lodge but on a better note the staff at the hotel side the rocker hotel were brill they offered us an up grade to the hotel at a cost of £15 for standared double room or £25 for a better excet room so took the excet room it had nice sea view super king bed wardrobes and draws large bathroom this was like going from the tudor days to the now days as i said the staff were great cant fault them at all and the main hotel if you had to book somewere then book this food at breakfast was great the r bar was nice and the pizza place next door food was lovley so i would recommend the rocker hotel but not i repeat not the rocker lodge it needs to be updated and rooms regraded on a plus side they did refund the extra £25 upgrade fee as i and my wife were still upset to the first impressions of our room at the lodge the following day but the staff made it a lot better by the way they looked after us all i can say A************************* for the staff ps on review its a yes to the hotel not the lodge

  • Pauline B

  • February 2015

A surprise for elderly parents

We stay just the one night our parents room was fine for the money paid.

Steps to the bathroom was a little problem for them.The 2nd twin room was also ok The rooms and ensuites could do with updating. The breakfast was more than we expected for the price paid. Overall we were pleased.

  • C Wharton-Logue

  • January 2015

Best western recently acquired the Roker lodge B/B, it needs work to bring it up to their standard

The room was adequate, great value for the money, fab views of the beach.

the service at the main Best western Roker Hotel was superb as was the breakfast. I would certainly stay in the main hotel next time.

  • meli d

  • December 2014

Great place but I wouldn't go for the logde

The Lodge room was a box room with very low ceiling and had two single beds when I asked for a double bed.

Bad smell also. I asked why I was given a room with tow single beds and I was upgraded to a hotel room without a window free of charge. I though great, but when we came to the room it was very hot and the shower didn't work. As we stayed one night it wasn't that much of a problem. It also says breakfast included but it should say coffee included in the cupboard (we had a kettle and sachets of coffees in a tray inside the wardrobe).

  • N Coneybear

  • December 2014

Roker Lodge

I stayed in the adjacent lodge not the hotel proper, my mistake.

The room was okay for one night, but very tired and in need of loving.

The shared bathroom and toilet was a reminder why I go for ensuite these days. The staff in the hotel itself were very helpful and the sea view was a bonus.

  • marc w

  • December 2014

1970's Accomadation!

I really wouldn't recommend staying here as it is rather poor standard harking back to the bad old days of the 70's.

Old brown carpet with brown wallpaper. On a cold December night in Sunderland the heater in the room didn't work and they replaced it with an inadequate tiny portable heater. The tv didn't work and the light above the sink didn't work so couldn't have a shave in the morning. Communal toilet. The only positives were that the room was clean and great view of Roker beach but apart from that I wouldn't recommend staying here. £50 a night you're having a laugh!