No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Roker Lodge

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
15 Roker Terrace , Sunderland, SR6 9NB
Tradational in style this Sea Front Bed & Breakfast is an ideal location to visit the beautiful North East Coastline. With stunning Sea Views of The Roker Pier.
The Roker Lodge is adjacent to the Best Western Roker Hotel, where you are able to use all the facilities including The Tavistock Retro Italia and Thai-China restaurants which are renowned in the local area for there fine food and fantastic atmospheres. You can also visit the R-Bar with its traditional bar meals and fantastic sea views.

** This is a non smoking establishment**

**Please note the lodge is not part of Best Western Roker Hotel and only has the use of the facilities of this hotel.**
Picture of Roker Lodge, Sunderland at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 83 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rocker
booked a room at rocker londe when we arrived was informed it was at the now bayview lodge which is a seperate b and b when we entered the hall way to go to our room the carpets were dated and not so clean not a good first impression we went up to our room on the 4th floor as we entered the twin room it was dark with two beds pushed into a room which was no bigger than our own box room at home there was no wardrobe or draws a small bathroom which a cat could not swing itself around the litter bin was not emptied the painted walls had areas were the wall paper had been picked of next to both beds and the gap between the beds was a one person first then secound person could get in the room and beds shown in the pictures on site are of the family room not the other rooms so very deceving the window to sea the sea view if you are 4 foot then great other wise tou see the wall when stood there an old and musty smell also greats you and 2 coat hangers for your clothes are the wordrobes all in all do not book the rocker lodge or as its called now bay view lodge but on a better note the staff at the hotel side the rocker hotel were brill they offered us an up grade to the hotel at a cost of £15 for standared double room or £25 for a better excet room so took the excet room it had nice sea view super king bed wardrobes and draws large bathroom this was like going from the tudor days to the now days as i said the staff were great cant fault them at all and the main hotel if you had to book somewere then book this food at breakfast was great the r bar was nice and the pizza place next door food was lovley so i would recommend the rocker hotel but not i repeat not the rocker lodge it needs to be updated and rooms regraded on a plus side they did refund the extra £25 upgrade fee as i and my wife were still upset to the first impressions of our room at the lodge the following day but the staff made it a lot better by the way they looked after us all i can say A************************* for the staff ps on review its a yes to the hotel not the lodge

Reviewed by
d thomas

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A surprise for elderly parents
We stay just the one night our parents room was fine for the money paid. Steps to the bathroom was a little problem for them.The 2nd twin room was also ok The rooms and ensuites could do with updating. The breakfast was more than we expected for the price paid. Overall we were pleased.

Reviewed by
Pauline B

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best western recently acquired the Roker lodge B/B, it needs work to bring it up to their standard
The room was adequate, great value for the money, fab views of the beach. the service at the main Best western Roker Hotel was superb as was the breakfast. I would certainly stay in the main hotel next time.

Reviewed by
C Wharton-Logue

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place but I wouldn't go for the logde
The Lodge room was a box room with very low ceiling and had two single beds when I asked for a double bed. Bad smell also. I asked why I was given a room with tow single beds and I was upgraded to a hotel room without a window free of charge. I though great, but when we came to the room it was very hot and the shower didn't work. As we stayed one night it wasn't that much of a problem. It also says breakfast included but it should say coffee included in the cupboard (we had a kettle and sachets of coffees in a tray inside the wardrobe).

Reviewed by
meli d

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1970's Accomadation!
I really wouldn't recommend staying here as it is rather poor standard harking back to the bad old days of the 70's! Old brown carpet with brown wallpaper. On a cold December night in Sunderland the heater in the room didn't work and they replaced it with an inadequate tiny portable heater. The tv didn't work and the light above the sink didn't work so couldn't have a shave in the morning.
Communal toilet!
The only positives were that the room was clean and great view of Roker beach but apart from that I wouldn't recommend staying here. £50 a night you're having a laugh!

Reviewed by
marc w

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Roker Lodge
Got upgraded by staff very friendly. Nice clean room fairly basic but what you pay for, great value for money

Reviewed by
Al S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was very cold

Reviewed by
david r

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Roker Lodge
I stayed in the adjacent lodge not the hotel proper, my mistake. The room was okay for one night, but very tired and in need of loving.
The shared bathroom and toilet was a reminder why I go for ensuite these days.
The staff in the hotel itself were very helpful and the sea view was a bonus.

Reviewed by
N Coneybear

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good budget accommodation
The Roker Lodge is very well situated on the seafront. It has the benefits of being part of the Best Western which is 2 doors away but a lot cheaper as it's an old B and B that they have bought to use as extra accommodation.

Reviewed by
David P

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel and lodge are not the same
I did not know until i arrived that the lodge and hotel are separated by private residences and that the lodge has no lift however the standard of the lodge accomodation is fine but only as a place to bed down but not a place you could spend a lot of time in, but who wants to spend all day in a hotel room. The breakfast which is served in the main hotel is excellent

Reviewed by
Iain H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next