No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Roker Lodge

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
15 Roker Terrace , Sunderland, SR6 9NB
Tradational in style this Sea Front Bed & Breakfast is an ideal location to visit the beautiful North East Coastline. With stunning Sea Views of The Roker Pier.
The Roker Lodge is adjacent to the Best Western Roker Hotel, where you are able to use all the facilities including The Tavistock Retro Italia and Thai-China restaurants which are renowned in the local area for there fine food and fantastic atmospheres. You can also visit the R-Bar with its traditional bar meals and fantastic sea views.

** This is a non smoking establishment**

**Please note the lodge is not part of Best Western Roker Hotel and only has the use of the facilities of this hotel.**
Picture of Roker Lodge, Sunderland at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1970's Accomadation!
I really wouldn't recommend staying here as it is rather poor standard harking back to the bad old days of the 70's! Old brown carpet with brown wallpaper. On a cold December night in Sunderland the heater in the room didn't work and they replaced it with an inadequate tiny portable heater. The tv didn't work and the light above the sink didn't work so couldn't have a shave in the morning.
Communal toilet!
The only positives were that the room was clean and great view of Roker beach but apart from that I wouldn't recommend staying here. £50 a night you're having a laugh!

Reviewed by
marc w

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Roker Lodge
Got upgraded by staff very friendly. Nice clean room fairly basic but what you pay for, great value for money

Reviewed by
Al S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was very cold

Reviewed by
david r

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Roker Lodge
I stayed in the adjacent lodge not the hotel proper, my mistake. The room was okay for one night, but very tired and in need of loving.
The shared bathroom and toilet was a reminder why I go for ensuite these days.
The staff in the hotel itself were very helpful and the sea view was a bonus.

Reviewed by
N Coneybear

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good budget accommodation
The Roker Lodge is very well situated on the seafront. It has the benefits of being part of the Best Western which is 2 doors away but a lot cheaper as it's an old B and B that they have bought to use as extra accommodation.

Reviewed by
David P

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel and lodge are not the same
I did not know until i arrived that the lodge and hotel are separated by private residences and that the lodge has no lift however the standard of the lodge accomodation is fine but only as a place to bed down but not a place you could spend a lot of time in, but who wants to spend all day in a hotel room. The breakfast which is served in the main hotel is excellent

Reviewed by
Iain H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Stayed for a wedding arrived early Saturday morning before rooms were ready but we were provided a room to change in. We stayed in the lodge and the rooms were dated but were clean and comfortable. The bar is excellent, live football in the afternoon, disco in evening and 5 real ales. Breakfast was first classs.

Reviewed by
Martin Russell

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
Nice setting on the sea front, access to the Best Western Hotel for breakfast which was good. Not the most comfortable bed in the world and the room was ok but it was cheap! The service at the Hotel reception was excellent

Reviewed by
Lindsay V

From Stonehaven, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would stay again

Reviewed by
ricky v

From Greenhithe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money
For an extremely small room with 2 single beds, was not worth £43 per night. Corridor electric box, water dripping from ceiling onto it. Paid on arrival, on departure said I hadnt paid, which I had and they were going to sort out !!

Reviewed by
c gordon

From North Berwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next