No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Roker Lodge

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
15 Roker Terrace , Sunderland, SR6 9NB
Tradational in style this Sea Front Bed & Breakfast is an ideal location to visit the beautiful North East Coastline. With stunning Sea Views of The Roker Pier.
The Roker Lodge is adjacent to the Best Western Roker Hotel, where you are able to use all the facilities including The Tavistock Retro Italia and Thai-China restaurants which are renowned in the local area for there fine food and fantastic atmospheres. You can also visit the R-Bar with its traditional bar meals and fantastic sea views.

** This is a non smoking establishment**

**Please note the lodge is not part of Best Western Roker Hotel and only has the use of the facilities of this hotel.**
Picture of Roker Lodge, Sunderland at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would stay again

Reviewed by
ricky v

From Greenhithe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money
For an extremely small room with 2 single beds, was not worth £43 per night. Corridor electric box, water dripping from ceiling onto it. Paid on arrival, on departure said I hadnt paid, which I had and they were going to sort out !!

Reviewed by
c gordon

From North Berwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best in Town
This is the best of both worlds, basic but clean and comfortable rooms with the advantage of the excellent hotel facilities right next door

Reviewed by
David Cope

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Find another room or hotel
Upon our arrival we struggled to find parking, Reception staff were helpful and gave us our room key. When we opened the room door it was clear the room was little better than a box room, the double bed only just fitting in the room with just enough space to slide your leg between the wall and bottom of the bed to reach the other side of the room. The bathroom/shower/toilet room was the smallest you can get and the toilet roll holder was on the floor and the only wall mirror had a three inch centre part worn away to the backing board. after calling reception on the internal phone requesting a room change or refund as it was clearly not fit for purpose a member of staff gave us another set of key's which was a much more suitable room however in great need of updating. this room had a four poster bed that had been well used and it's posts work independently the base was loose and the mattress ....you can guess! I don't recommend this hotel which is used as an over flow for the main Roker hotel which is of a very high standard.

Reviewed by
J Thompson

From Crewkerne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would go back!
Stayed at both Roker hotel and Roker lodge and in my opinion there was not much difference! Cheaper alternative for when you are on a budget. Rooms seemed the same lay out and plenty of space, room service was very quick. Staff lovely. Will be returning.

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff, great hotel but apartment needs upgrade
Having arrived as per my conversation with one of the staff room that we had agreed to be given it was not at all available. This was a negative as the room have a bathroom and would have had a court for the baby. However the friendliness and help that the staff gave us could not be faulted. We were given complimentary coffee and cakes which were delicious. The new upgrade in the hotel was perfect the layout and obversely the decor. When we had breakfast in the morning again the location of the breakfast eating area was perfect and the food was of the highest standard. The staff throughout the state were very friendly from the reception through to the cleaner and especially in the cafe/restaurant area. However one small downside was the upgrade to an apartment near to the hotel was not quite as good. It was raining on the time when we arrived and also in the morning for breakfast and the journey back and forward to the apartment or to the hotel was not so friendly. The worst part of the hols day was that the apartment is large and spacious as it is unfortunately was very tired and needs the same level of refurbishment as the hotel. On a very small note we have a young child and the apartment had a very dangerous staircase which was not dated off and could have caused a serious accident. However having said that I think as it wasn't planned and it was just an upgrade the Hotel should not be criticised for this. In short the hotel is immaculate beautiful well presented and a pleasure to stay at, however the apartment is large and spacious as it is is very tired and need an update. I must add that the people at the hotel could not have been friendly up all of more assistance in everything we will definitely stay there again but not in the apartment.

Reviewed by
David L

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed with new italian restaurant
We ate at the newly opened Italian Restaurant attached to the hotel. The ambience was excellent and welcome on arrival very cordial. I was therefore very disappointed when my pork chop had one end completely uncooked and was told it was smoked and therefore would do me no harm!!! No offer of recompense or sorry.
NB I would stay at the hotel again but in a better room but not eat at the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Stella P

From Epping, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room
I was lucky enough to be upgraded to the hotel on arrival. Room had everything I needed, comfy bed, tea making facilities, bath/shower and hair dryer. Only small issue was the room was very warm. Not much of a view from the window but I only had to walk outside to see the sea so not the end of the world. The staff were very helpful and accomodating, would recommend.

Reviewed by
Polly F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money,clean room & friendly helpful staff, breakfast excellent, plenty of choice

Reviewed by
E Owen

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reunion
Excellent service

Reviewed by
Mark wise

From hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next