No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gwesty Carreg Mon Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
CHURCH LANE , LLANFAIRPWLLGWYNGYLL, LL61 5YH
Gwesty Carreg Mon Hotel is located in a country setting, yet with easy access from the A55 Expressway, the Gwesty Carreg Mon Hotel nestles in 3 acres of garden close to the Menai Straits. We offer the highest standards of service, hospitality and cuisine. Our staff will be delighted to put at your disposal their experience and expertise to help you enjoy your stay. Please note all bookings are on a room only basis. Should you wish to add breakfast please state so on your arrival at the hotel. Check in is from 2:00pm until 10:30pm. Check out is from 7:00am until 11:00am Monday to Friday and 8:00am until 11:00am on Saturday & Sunday.
Picture of Gwesty Carreg Mon Hotel, LLANFAIRPWLLGWYNGYLL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Lovely little place! Friendly staff and great location

Reviewed by
R Eason

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noisy and overpriced
Party on at hotel. Disco below room so we heard all.
Walls to room thin could hear toilet being used. Trains passing and road noise also.
People nice but...never again.

Reviewed by
Roger N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
We stayed one night on our way to catch the ferry to Ireland - and it was perfect: restaurant was really good (lovely chipsa dn huge puddings!); breakfast in good time to get off. Staff very, very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Elaine H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent for Bangor University
We had 2 rooms so we could stay near Bangor for my sons Graduation day celebrations.
The rooms we excellent, the Hotel easy to find. The bar and restaurant were very good, with a nice menu at reasonable prices. The food was on the whole very good, my wife was a little disappointed with her sirloin steak. But we are ex farmers and are a bit fussy about our meat, so others might not find this an issue.
So friends joined us for drinks in the bar and remarked their hotel was not as nice and a lot more expensive. So book via Late Rooms!!!
I would loobe to stay in this hotel again it was brilliant.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 nights at Llanfairp... the Gwesty Carreg with real ale
Excellent staff, service, cleanliness and meals (with real beer)
A good quality hotel
Spacious grounds, outdoor seating area, peaceful walks etc close by.
Good location for travel
But ------------------- beware there are a fair number of steps, at main entrance and plus 2 flights up and 1 down to my room

Reviewed by
I Hall

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ExcellentHotel, shame about the noisy Wedding taking place!!!
We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who ansured that we knew about breakfast & evening meal arrangeents and avised that there was a wedding party going on, and that we should eat before 8pm, as they had a hog roast at that time.
We elected to eat out in Caernarfon instead (Black Boys Innrecommended) and returned later that evening. since it was a warm evening, all the windows downstair we open and we were treated to hours of load blaring disco music for the wedding, followed by half an hour of fireworks let of right outside the fron of the hotel which our room overlooked.
Eventually got to sleep around midnight, which after a long trip to North Wales and exploring for the whole afternoon was not what we really wanted!
Breakfast was excellent value @ £5 per head, with full Welsh plus buffet continental to eat. After breakfast we strolled down the lane through the churchyard to the Menai Strait to see the Britannia Bridge from below and also the statue of Nelson standing guard over the water.
So overall, a very nice hotel, excellent service & food but spoilt by a noisy wedding party.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay
Nice hotel, good service reasonable price

Reviewed by
C Chatzidimitriou

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly small hotel
Great stay with very friendly staff

Reviewed by
David H

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Not got any complaints at all everything I expected from an hotel and more highly recommend

Reviewed by
D Mchugh

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
We enjoyed our two night stay. The staff although quite young, were friendly and efficient.
The room was a little tired in decor but clean and everything functioned as it should.
We found the restraunt very nice with a plesent atmosphere and good food.
Hidden behind the main road there was no view of the straights as expected but was very convenient for Anglesy and the coast. I would recomend it and would consider staying there again

Reviewed by
Clive R

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next