No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lonsdale House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Lake Road , Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 2JJ
The fabulous Lonsdale House, Bowness-on-Windermere is an ideal base for your Lake District break. Originally built in 1851 as a private gentlemen’s residence, it was sympathetically transformed into a Hotel in 1937. The standard of lodging and service is undoubtedly the finest in the Lake District. Bowness on Windermere is a picturesque little town perched on the banks of Lake Winderemere. Boasting an abundance of restaurants, shops and attractions it makes for an idyllic retreat. Whether you are looking for a relaxing break taking long strolls by the beach or something slightly more invigorating – a round of golf perchance – you will certainly find something to delight you here!
Picture of Lonsdale House, Bowness-on-Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay
Lovely and warm place very welcoming, The staff were very helpful ,the room was lovely and clean The bathroom was on the small side size only a shower but still nice and clean. Well positioned to local shops. Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Stefan W

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very welcoming and friendly.
Great location, room was lovely and spacious. Only thing I wasn't too happy with was the ensure bathroom, extremely tiny, no bath for my little one, apart from that perfect.

Reviewed by
natasha b

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact room
Very compact room at the front on a very busy main road. Might not have been so bad if it hadn't had a big four poster bed in which took up all the room and was very high,at 5ft2ins I struggled to get onto . Again very compact bathroom.

Reviewed by
Deborah W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont be fooled as we were
If you want to stay in a hotel with the description on this website go somewhere else. I could recommend one down the road that would fit the description, but I wont.

Reviewed by
Carey R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good communication with me . Gave us a choice of two rooms. Excellent service.

Reviewed by
andrea withington de la cruz

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Brilliant price, fantastic hotel, lovely kind staff, pavel was a true gent and his breakfast rocks! :) room was cosy with plenty of character.. Can't wait to stay again! Just what we wanted, clean, cosy, straight forward and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Andrew Smith

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad customer service
We were 5 minutes late for breakfast and were refused a hot breakfast which I thought was disgusting considering we'd paid £99 for one nites stay , I would suggest a fifteen minute lea way on your food. complained and was told 9.30 is 9.30, shocking customer service which let down a lovely clean guest house , so they will never get our business again .

Reviewed by
P Bowyer

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room
My husband and I both had a lovely stay in this hotel. The room was nicely decorated and very clean, as was the bathroom. The only criticism I would give is that the room was very warm, even after we turned the radiators off, as we were unable to open the window for air due to it having been painted shut! Apart from that, everything about our stay was perfect and we would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Joyce Gormley

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Lobsdale House doggie Hotel experience !!
The hosts if the Hotel were very friendly on arrival. We unpacked then went out as the weather was good. We had a takeaway for tea , then spent two hours relaxing in the bar with our dogs. Then off to relax in our room with a bit of TV. A very relaxing experience.

Reviewed by
J Richards

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small room
Was given a really small family room even though hotel was empty, bathroom and shower really small

Reviewed by
M prout

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next