Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > Canvey Hotels > Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Baylis Business Centre,Stoke Poges Lane , Slough, SL1 3PB
Baylis House is one of the architectural jewels in Slough’s crown. Set in four acres of landscaped grounds, the stunning Grade 1 listed building provides unique hotel, conference and banqueting facilities.

The stunning entrance with its long sweeping drive will captivate you from the moment you arrive. The newly built extension of beautifully appointed en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms offers superb accommodation for any traveller and Baylis House prides itself on its high standard of service and attention to detail. All rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, wireless internet and satellite TV. A large complimentary car park is also available for guest use. Dining at Baylis House is not to be missed too; Season’s Restaurant offers a wide selection of the best of Indian Cuisine freshly prepared by talented chefs and led by Head Chef D S Thapa. The well stocked bar offers a great range of wines and beers for guests to enjoy.

Slough Trading Estate plays home to many major international companies and is a short 5 minutes drive away.

The hotel is also ideally placed for visiting the many tourist attraction in the area from Legoland to Thorpe Park and Ascot Racecourse and London Heathrow is less than 10 miles away. For a superb day out, take time to visit Windsor castle, located less than 5 miles away.

Whether celebrating a wedding, an anniversary or attending a conference, Baylis House has superb conference and events facilities for up to 600 guests. Its flexible design allows for the smaller meetings for around ten people or for something a bit special the Boardroom in the Grade 1 listed mansion would be perfect.

Please note that when checking photo ID is required when making payment for your reservation.
Picture of Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre, Slough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not quite as advertised
The hotel itself it's really sweet from the outside. The inside dosent match although at all. And the room wasn't quite as advertised! Felt more like a hostel or so. Could have gotten much better for that price

Reviewed by
Noemi K

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good spot
Very helpful staff and room was ample for an overnight stay. This is more of a conference centre than a hotel but it was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
I Dunn

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre
Had my back screen smashed and contents stolen from out of my boot when parked overnight. Car Park should be a lot lighter.

Reviewed by
Ann R

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would look elsewhere for the same money
I stayed at this hotel because I was going to a wedding nearby, I picked this hotel over another hotel (which was the same price except for breakfast) because it had breakfast. However, I wish I had stayed at the other hotel. When we arrived we were greeted by helpful and friendly staff who told us that although we had booked breakfast they do not supply it on a Saturday and could only provide a cold continental breakfast, I promptly refused and I was given a refund for the breakfasts.
The staff were pleasant and friendly and the hotel looked impressive from the outside but that is where the good points stop. The room we stayed in was tiny and very dark. The bathroom had cracked tiles on the floor, the wooden flooring did not have a proper edge finish to where it met the tiles leaving a rather sharp edge to stub your foot, the shower (which is at a fixed height) was too low (I am only 5ft 5) and I had to bend down to wash my hair at a very uncomfortable angle, the paint was peeling off the window sill, the blind looked like it had been there for 20 years and the grouting around the bathroom was all stained a nasty yellowy colour. The bed felt like it had come straight out of the nearest dump (you could feel the springs in the mattress) and there were only 2 pillows supplied (1 for each person) that were not even worth having!
Now on to the noise ... we were on the ground floor and heard every guests conversation as they walked along the corridors and down the stairs from the upper levels over the TV. You could not hear them when they were in their rooms.
This hotel is more of a £30-£40 night stay, it is a far cry from a £70 stay and I would recommend you look elsewhere for a more comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
H Broom

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet place for overnight
Lovely place to stay.

Reviewed by
Stella B

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slough? Shocker
Fantastic value for money, the room was as it should clean,big enough, everything worked , shower was great , as I turned onto the driveway I couldn't believe the view the driveway , gates and house , I stopped took a photo and put it onto Facebook, all this for the price and just outside the M25 fantastic

Reviewed by
G Jenkins

From Llandudno Junction, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely approach to the hotel - very disappointing inside
I arrived very late having got lost as the postcode on the website was not the postcode I had to follow.
The staff on check in were friendly. The room looked like a recent poor quality refurbishment. The sockets had holes around them, there was no mattress or pillow protectors (2 very poor quality pillows were stuffed into a pillowcase too small to accommodate them). The shower curtain was broken and filthy. I could not lock the window of my ground floor room and had to kill 4 very large spiders before a very uncomfortable night. The interior of the hotel was shabby and again not overly clean. I did not eat there.

Reviewed by
Paula M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great

Reviewed by
Baboo Pramodh M

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over-rated
When we arrived, receptionist didn't have any details of our booking. When we explained we booked through Laterooms.com she managed to find details, but needed to print out our sign-in form, but she didn't have any paper! After a 15 minute wait it arrived. I was then shocked to be asked for photographic ID (driving licence was used), and to then pay in advance - some 4* treatment!!! We were then told that the standard room that we booked was not available, but that we would be upgraded to a better room at no extra cost. When we found the room, it was minute. The bath was no more than a glorified shower tray/hip bath. I dread to think what the standard room would have been like! The room seemed clean, with laminate flooring, but the kettle had a really thick layer of dust on the lid, and the large circular mirror was dirty. The wardrobe was the cheapest available from somewhere like IKEA and was broken. The entrance door into our corridor was next to our room and very squeaky - quite loud in our room. No one on reception when we left.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a little unloved
Customer service is excellent. The hotel just needs a little touch up, there are chips out of the paintwork and it looks a little unloved in the public areas and the bedrooms. My room had several noticeable chips out of the paint on the walls. The lighting was poor in the bathroom - a blessing when you are 'a certain age' but not brilliant. The mattress listed badly so that my head sank down low when lying down, and when sitting up in bed, I was tilted backwards. I had to wash a teaspoon in the room before using it as it had chocolate on the handle. This was a little off putting and I didn't use the tea and coffee making facilities as a result.
That said, the customer service really was excellent, staff were welcoming and warm.

Reviewed by
Debbie H

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next