Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > Canvey Hotels > Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Baylis Business Centre,Stoke Poges Lane , Slough, SL1 3PB
Baylis House is one of the architectural jewels in Slough’s crown. Set in four acres of landscaped grounds, the stunning Grade 1 listed building provides unique hotel, conference and banqueting facilities.

The stunning entrance with its long sweeping drive will captivate you from the moment you arrive. The newly built extension of beautifully appointed en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms offers superb accommodation for any traveller and Baylis House prides itself on its high standard of service and attention to detail. All rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, wireless internet and satellite TV. A large complimentary car park is also available for guest use. Dining at Baylis House is not to be missed too; Season’s Restaurant offers a wide selection of the best of Indian Cuisine freshly prepared by talented chefs and led by Head Chef D S Thapa. The well stocked bar offers a great range of wines and beers for guests to enjoy.

Slough Trading Estate plays home to many major international companies and is a short 5 minutes drive away.

The hotel is also ideally placed for visiting the many tourist attraction in the area from Legoland to Thorpe Park and Ascot Racecourse and London Heathrow is less than 10 miles away. For a superb day out, take time to visit Windsor castle, located less than 5 miles away.

Whether celebrating a wedding, an anniversary or attending a conference, Baylis House has superb conference and events facilities for up to 600 guests. Its flexible design allows for the smaller meetings for around ten people or for something a bit special the Boardroom in the Grade 1 listed mansion would be perfect.

Please note that when checking photo ID is required when making payment for your reservation.
Picture of Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre, Slough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely approach to the hotel - very disappointing inside
I arrived very late having got lost as the postcode on the website was not the postcode I had to follow.
The staff on check in were friendly. The room looked like a recent poor quality refurbishment. The sockets had holes around them, there was no mattress or pillow protectors (2 very poor quality pillows were stuffed into a pillowcase too small to accommodate them). The shower curtain was broken and filthy. I could not lock the window of my ground floor room and had to kill 4 very large spiders before a very uncomfortable night. The interior of the hotel was shabby and again not overly clean. I did not eat there.

Reviewed by
Paula M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great

Reviewed by
Baboo Pramodh M

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over-rated
When we arrived, receptionist didn't have any details of our booking. When we explained we booked through Laterooms.com she managed to find details, but needed to print out our sign-in form, but she didn't have any paper! After a 15 minute wait it arrived. I was then shocked to be asked for photographic ID (driving licence was used), and to then pay in advance - some 4* treatment!!! We were then told that the standard room that we booked was not available, but that we would be upgraded to a better room at no extra cost. When we found the room, it was minute. The bath was no more than a glorified shower tray/hip bath. I dread to think what the standard room would have been like! The room seemed clean, with laminate flooring, but the kettle had a really thick layer of dust on the lid, and the large circular mirror was dirty. The wardrobe was the cheapest available from somewhere like IKEA and was broken. The entrance door into our corridor was next to our room and very squeaky - quite loud in our room. No one on reception when we left.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a little unloved
Customer service is excellent. The hotel just needs a little touch up, there are chips out of the paintwork and it looks a little unloved in the public areas and the bedrooms. My room had several noticeable chips out of the paint on the walls. The lighting was poor in the bathroom - a blessing when you are 'a certain age' but not brilliant. The mattress listed badly so that my head sank down low when lying down, and when sitting up in bed, I was tilted backwards. I had to wash a teaspoon in the room before using it as it had chocolate on the handle. This was a little off putting and I didn't use the tea and coffee making facilities as a result.
That said, the customer service really was excellent, staff were welcoming and warm.

Reviewed by
Debbie H

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what was expected!!!
Considering this is meant to be a 4 star luxury hotel we found it very disappointing. From the initial welcome to the basic bedroom and dirty bathroom, out of date milk cartons, 2 small towels for 3 people, no plugs in sink or bath, shower terrible standing in ankle high water, no room service and phone didn't work to call reception. Not once were we told where the restaurant or bar was or if we wanted to book for dinner or if we needed help with luggage - just ushered out of the main building to an annexe around the corner where our room was. Very disappointing and for £95 is completely overpriced. The website is full of luxury this and luxury that - but unfortunately we didn't see or feel any luxury at all. There wasn't a manager to complain to when we left so had to speak with the receptionist. Not happy customers.

Reviewed by
Arsen I

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too Hot!
Although there was air conditioning in the rooms, it couldnt be changed and mine didnt appear to be working, even when i asked Reception to look at it, he coudlnt get it working either. He offered me a room fan, which never materialised. The rooms are very small and so very hot and the windows only open about 3cm!

Reviewed by
Liz R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh Dear!
Arrived at the hotel around 7pm only to be told at reception that our room was double booked, having booked this back in may i was a bit shocked. After about 40mins we were told a room was available after all! On the night we stayed there was a wedding reception a 50th birthday and a engagement party so not a very quite night! As for our room the air con was as much use as a chocolate fire guard! the room temp was 27c all night having tried to alter the air con to make it cooler was all to no avail felt like laying in a sauna room all night, The blind in the window was not a blackout blind just a thin cream coloured one which let in all of the light from outside so after no sleep at least we had our cooked breakfast to look forward to which i paid for while booking the room but guess what no cooked breakfast which i was told got stopped a few weeks ago! What we did get was a very poor continental consisting of cold doughy croissants that had not been near an oven toast and cereal. The breakfast area is not geared up for 30 odd people there was a 2 slice toaster which didn't pop up and 1 poor waitress try to serve everyone tea and coffee good job i never wanted a re-fill could have been waiting a while! I'm no hotel expert but i do expect a decent level of service and a room fit for the purpose buck up your ideas Baylis house or you wont have a hotel to run!! Ps the only nice part of the stay was our indian meal in the hotel restaurant which was well cooked and tasty the 3* is for the indian 1* for the breakfast.

Reviewed by
D Flack

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No hot water
The staff were either unable or unwilling to repair the water heater. We had hot water only on one evening after much complaint. Provision of towels was ungenerous and the plug did not easily fit in the bath..
Provision of coffee and tea was sparse.
We left early preferring to drive home to our own bed.

Reviewed by
David R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Going the wrong way
I've been staying at Baylis regularly for months, and previously left enthused reviews. Over the last 4 weeks (3 visits) there appears to have been a chnage in management and its all gone the wrong way.
Prices appear to have increased whilst all standards (aside the continuously helpful staff) have dropped.
Marketed as a 4 star hotel it falls short by a start or maybe even two. Breakfast which was cooked is now a poor continental. Coffee for example is a Nescafe sachet and hot water to make your own. Croissant were soft and doughy, clearly supermarket straight from packet and not warmed to crisp them up.
Dinner used to be a highlight, as Indian cuisine was a specialty of theirs, but corners have been cut again, on standards.
The internet wi-fi was 15MG...on each of my last 3 visits its stopped working.
The televisions in the rooms suffer from poor reception. The televisions over the bar (previously a good place to meet other visitors and watch the football) have stopped working.
It was never somewhere to take a partner, but did meet requirements for the business traveler. I'm afraid its lost my business now. Just too many things have changed for the negative and its overpriced for 2 star standards.

Reviewed by
S James

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Baylis hotel Slough
The Baylis Hotel is in a very run down and tired state and rough around the edges, There is a strong smell of dampness around the hotel, the carpets on the way to the rooms are worn and a tripping hazard

Reviewed by
Matt H

From Lauder, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next