Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > Canvey Hotels > Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Baylis Business Centre,Stoke Poges Lane , Slough, SL1 3PB
Baylis House is one of the architectural jewels in Slough’s crown. Set in four acres of landscaped grounds, the stunning Grade 1 listed building provides unique hotel, conference and banqueting facilities.

The stunning entrance with its long sweeping drive will captivate you from the moment you arrive. The newly built extension of beautifully appointed en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms offers superb accommodation for any traveller and Baylis House prides itself on its high standard of service and attention to detail. All rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, wireless internet and satellite TV. A large complimentary car park is also available for guest use. Dining at Baylis House is not to be missed too; Season’s Restaurant offers a wide selection of the best of Indian Cuisine freshly prepared by talented chefs and led by Head Chef D S Thapa. The well stocked bar offers a great range of wines and beers for guests to enjoy.

Slough Trading Estate plays home to many major international companies and is a short 5 minutes drive away.

The hotel is also ideally placed for visiting the many tourist attraction in the area from Legoland to Thorpe Park and Ascot Racecourse and London Heathrow is less than 10 miles away. For a superb day out, take time to visit Windsor castle, located less than 5 miles away.

Whether celebrating a wedding, an anniversary or attending a conference, Baylis House has superb conference and events facilities for up to 600 guests. Its flexible design allows for the smaller meetings for around ten people or for something a bit special the Boardroom in the Grade 1 listed mansion would be perfect.

Please note that when checking photo ID is required when making payment for your reservation.
Picture of Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre, Slough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 104 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too Hot!
Although there was air conditioning in the rooms, it couldnt be changed and mine didnt appear to be working, even when i asked Reception to look at it, he coudlnt get it working either. He offered me a room fan, which never materialised. The rooms are very small and so very hot and the windows only open about 3cm!

Reviewed by
Liz R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh Dear!
Arrived at the hotel around 7pm only to be told at reception that our room was double booked, having booked this back in may i was a bit shocked. After about 40mins we were told a room was available after all! On the night we stayed there was a wedding reception a 50th birthday and a engagement party so not a very quite night! As for our room the air con was as much use as a chocolate fire guard! the room temp was 27c all night having tried to alter the air con to make it cooler was all to no avail felt like laying in a sauna room all night, The blind in the window was not a blackout blind just a thin cream coloured one which let in all of the light from outside so after no sleep at least we had our cooked breakfast to look forward to which i paid for while booking the room but guess what no cooked breakfast which i was told got stopped a few weeks ago! What we did get was a very poor continental consisting of cold doughy croissants that had not been near an oven toast and cereal. The breakfast area is not geared up for 30 odd people there was a 2 slice toaster which didn't pop up and 1 poor waitress try to serve everyone tea and coffee good job i never wanted a re-fill could have been waiting a while! I'm no hotel expert but i do expect a decent level of service and a room fit for the purpose buck up your ideas Baylis house or you wont have a hotel to run!! Ps the only nice part of the stay was our indian meal in the hotel restaurant which was well cooked and tasty the 3* is for the indian 1* for the breakfast.

Reviewed by
D Flack

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No hot water
The staff were either unable or unwilling to repair the water heater. We had hot water only on one evening after much complaint. Provision of towels was ungenerous and the plug did not easily fit in the bath..
Provision of coffee and tea was sparse.
We left early preferring to drive home to our own bed.

Reviewed by
David R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Going the wrong way
I've been staying at Baylis regularly for months, and previously left enthused reviews. Over the last 4 weeks (3 visits) there appears to have been a chnage in management and its all gone the wrong way.
Prices appear to have increased whilst all standards (aside the continuously helpful staff) have dropped.
Marketed as a 4 star hotel it falls short by a start or maybe even two. Breakfast which was cooked is now a poor continental. Coffee for example is a Nescafe sachet and hot water to make your own. Croissant were soft and doughy, clearly supermarket straight from packet and not warmed to crisp them up.
Dinner used to be a highlight, as Indian cuisine was a specialty of theirs, but corners have been cut again, on standards.
The internet wi-fi was 15MG...on each of my last 3 visits its stopped working.
The televisions in the rooms suffer from poor reception. The televisions over the bar (previously a good place to meet other visitors and watch the football) have stopped working.
It was never somewhere to take a partner, but did meet requirements for the business traveler. I'm afraid its lost my business now. Just too many things have changed for the negative and its overpriced for 2 star standards.

Reviewed by
S James

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Baylis hotel Slough
The Baylis Hotel is in a very run down and tired state and rough around the edges, There is a strong smell of dampness around the hotel, the carpets on the way to the rooms are worn and a tripping hazard

Reviewed by
Matt H

From Lauder, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All style and no substance
The hotel appears very appealing and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful on our arrival. The room was small, but very clean. The walls were incredibly thin, and though we were aware that a wedding party in the hotel might be noisy, it was the TV in the room next door that kept us awake until 2am. The 'hot' water was tepid; when we mentioned this to reception they said they would try to sort it out, but we didn't hear from them again, and the next morning the temperature of the water was no better.

Reviewed by
Rachel S

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
The staff were mostly helpful and that is the best thing to say about this hotel. Booked for 2 nights, woke up after night 1 to find bathroom had ant invasion, moved to a different room with no ants and less dust. Veggie breakfast was beans, egg, tomato. Very disjointed decor, not sure what this hotel is trying to be, hostel chic?

Reviewed by
D W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality and Historic
Superb hotel. Will definitely stay there again.
The restaurant was excellent the food delicious.
People very friendly.
Loved it

Reviewed by
Colin Budden

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is most disappointing
If poor service and poor food at a good price are your thing, then this is the place to stay. The receptionist was unfriendly and not very efficient,. The room was not equipped very well and felt stark. The windows were left unlocked and had I not checked would have remained so all night... For a woman travelling alone this is not great. Basically very disappointing place where even a simple smile would have been nice but never happened.

Reviewed by
Debbie M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looking for an excuse
An amazing place. A little run down but actually it still looked and felt great. Food (Indian) was superb.
Very authentic..I could have been back in India.

Reviewed by
christopher harding

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next