Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > Canvey Hotels > Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Baylis Business Centre,Stoke Poges Lane , Slough, SL1 3PB
Baylis House is one of the architectural jewels in Slough’s crown. Set in four acres of landscaped grounds, the stunning Grade 1 listed building provides unique hotel, conference and banqueting facilities.

The stunning entrance with its long sweeping drive will captivate you from the moment you arrive. The newly built extension of beautifully appointed en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms offers superb accommodation for any traveller and Baylis House prides itself on its high standard of service and attention to detail. All rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, wireless internet and satellite TV. A large complimentary car park is also available for guest use. Dining at Baylis House is not to be missed too; Season’s Restaurant offers a wide selection of the best of Indian Cuisine freshly prepared by talented chefs and led by Head Chef D S Thapa. The well stocked bar offers a great range of wines and beers for guests to enjoy.

Slough Trading Estate plays home to many major international companies and is a short 5 minutes drive away.

The hotel is also ideally placed for visiting the many tourist attraction in the area from Legoland to Thorpe Park and Ascot Racecourse and London Heathrow is less than 10 miles away. For a superb day out, take time to visit Windsor castle, located less than 5 miles away.

Whether celebrating a wedding, an anniversary or attending a conference, Baylis House has superb conference and events facilities for up to 600 guests. Its flexible design allows for the smaller meetings for around ten people or for something a bit special the Boardroom in the Grade 1 listed mansion would be perfect.

Please note that when checking photo ID is required when making payment for your reservation.
Picture of Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre, Slough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Four star hotel at best a dodgy three star
Very grand driveway to the front of this hotel, then it goes downhill from their - the rooms were small - compact - first room we were given I opened the tap and the power of wage and shape of the sink made me and the floor soaking wet - then the shower pull plug came off in my hand - hence no shower faculty - we asked to change room and the next had dirty sheets - we asked for a third and after a long wait we were given another room. - my girlfriend turned the quilt over and again major stains etc were visible on the quilt cover ! Shame as it could be so much better. - we will not stay here again.

Reviewed by
Paul Cook

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay, quite pleasant and good value.
Waiting staff were very pleasant and helpful, a good evening meal and I got a lovely room which was good value for money. Paid for a single and the only room left was a big, very comfortable family suite which was great! I would stay there again based on this. Breakfast was OK, but perhaps not worth £11, and there was an additional £3 charge for WIFI. The desk staff were not as friendly as I would have expected, navigating your way through some parts of the hotel - from my room to the dining room for example - meant lots of stairs and going in and outside so I wouldn't recommend it for anyone with mobility problems. When I tried to call reception from my room for help with something it was picked up but then not actually answered just heard background noise and the receiver was placed down.

Reviewed by
C Clarke

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced tiny room
I booked an Executive Single Room. The booking said
"Executive Package includes bed & breakfast, fresh fruit basket upon arrival and wireless access in an upgraded room type. Including lounge access where you can have a meal or a drink (soft drinks and snacks free) or enjoy a game of pool. "
What I got was very different....the room was very small, with little room around the bed. To be fair, the bathroom was very nice, and the room was clean. I chose the executive room as it was on offer £95 instead of £200 per night....I would have been demanding my money back if I had paid full price. I never saw my fresh fruit basket and was never told about or saw any lounge which was mentioned in my booking. It was unlikely I would have taken advantage of the lounge and I only noted these were part of the deal when I printed the confirmation after my stay.
The staff we helpful when asked a question, but did not tell me about the lounge or fruit basket.

Reviewed by
Mark M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
The view on the drive in alone was worth the money. Note this is a converted listed building so rooms are small, however they have everything you could possibly need and the staff are more than helpful. Dinner at the restaurant was fantastic for the price, and was thoroughly enjoyed by my clients who I met there.

Reviewed by
D Billy

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was adequate for the price I paid.

Reviewed by
Cath Briggs

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor internet!!!

Reviewed by
Keith H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cant complain for 55 pounds a night
for a short stay the value was perfect for what i needed. wouldnt want to pay anymore

Reviewed by
s atkins

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Might stay here again, but not top of the list.
Great location with loads of parking. The reception isnt really signposted, it just looks like a door and the first impressions when you walk in arent great. The decor makes the place look like your walking into someones house. Things never got off to a great start as the receptionist never had my booking and at one stage I thought I was going to sleep in the car. Then she tried to charge me for breakfast until I explained that it was an inclusive rate. I set off towards my room, turned a corner and walked through a doorway and all of a sudden it was like I'd walked into a different place. The quality of the accommodation area was excellent with a really high quality wooden floor material used throughout. The room was a bit on the small side, but the bed was comfy, heating just right and spotlessly clean. One thing though, there is a large courtyard outside and the light was right outside my room and the curtains never stopped any light - It was a bit like sleeping in daylight.
Breakfast was disappointing and my advice is not to bother. A bit of cereal and 1/2 loaf of bread was available. Cooked breakfast was 1 sausage, 1 egg and a couple of rashers of bacon so it falls way short of the offerings of the local competition, particulaly at Sunningdale Hall.

Reviewed by
Stuart Adair

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid.
Best avoid this place. They show a picture of a stately home thought it was to good to be true. Clearly the accommodation is away from the main house. My room was in an annexe approx 100 metres away from the main house. Very poor decor, everything looks like it has been purchased from pounds and,they probably asked for change whilst purchasing items.
The corridors to the room were full of chewing gum marks and other stains, appalling colour decor very small rooms. I was travelling on my own so I hoped some other guests would be around. It was totally empty. Seriously I stay in hundreds of hotels and this can only be described as a refugee hostel at best. Decor and quality of rooms is appalling. I would be ashamed if this was my hotel and I charged people over £30 a night. Also area is bad they close gates after 12. Which I think says something. Anyway enjoy your stay if you choose to ignore.

Reviewed by
G Mitchell

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, very convenient central location with Free parking!
The hotel is an old impressive building with good character. I stayed in the new wing of the hotel so can only comment on these rooms. On the whole the accommodation was very good for the price I paid and the modern rooms where small, but well appointed. I would have liked the WiFi to be free as standard, as this is one of the reasons I chose this hotel - maybe a note to the owners that hotels with free facilities such as wifi and parking are reasons people choose hotels when on a budget. Can't comment on the food as did not have a meal, but food smelled good when walking past the restaurant! Recommended if you need a central slough hotel with free parking at a reasonable rate (£30 less than holiday in express on the day I booked).

Reviewed by
Robert N

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next