Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > Canvey Hotels > Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Baylis Business Centre,Stoke Poges Lane , Slough, SL1 3PB
Baylis House is one of the architectural jewels in Slough’s crown. Set in four acres of landscaped grounds, the stunning Grade 1 listed building provides unique hotel, conference and banqueting facilities.

The stunning entrance with its long sweeping drive will captivate you from the moment you arrive. The newly built extension of beautifully appointed en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms offers superb accommodation for any traveller and Baylis House prides itself on its high standard of service and attention to detail. All rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, wireless internet and satellite TV. A large complimentary car park is also available for guest use. Dining at Baylis House is not to be missed too; Season’s Restaurant offers a wide selection of the best of Indian Cuisine freshly prepared by talented chefs and led by Head Chef D S Thapa. The well stocked bar offers a great range of wines and beers for guests to enjoy.

Slough Trading Estate plays home to many major international companies and is a short 5 minutes drive away.

The hotel is also ideally placed for visiting the many tourist attraction in the area from Legoland to Thorpe Park and Ascot Racecourse and London Heathrow is less than 10 miles away. For a superb day out, take time to visit Windsor castle, located less than 5 miles away.

Whether celebrating a wedding, an anniversary or attending a conference, Baylis House has superb conference and events facilities for up to 600 guests. Its flexible design allows for the smaller meetings for around ten people or for something a bit special the Boardroom in the Grade 1 listed mansion would be perfect.

Please note that when checking photo ID is required when making payment for your reservation.
Picture of Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre, Slough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but don't go if you want to sleep....
The room was very nice and was ideal for us however the noise was absolutely awful. They told us on arrival that there were some parties at the hotel but we shouldn't hear too much noise where we were in the hotel. this was the biggest understatement of the year! The noise was deafening and went on until nearly 1 in the morning. My 6 year old only had 6 hours sleep and we were there to get some sleep before a busy day at legoland. Not impressed at all.

Reviewed by
M Rose

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Thought that other reviews were a bit harsh

Reviewed by
S Hudson

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bleak
Huge estate, far too few staff. Tired decor.

Reviewed by
Jim C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Baylis House Review
Poor breakfast service and food quality.
Remote control was incompatible with the make and model of TV. Not rectified despite being reported to reception.

Reviewed by
R Davies

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good
Very low quality hotel.
Bar had one type of beer.
Smelly.
Would not go back.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice building, shame about the rest
There was a stink in the lobby and corridors emanating from the gents toilets, which left the whole place smelling like the loos at Glastonbury. The bedroom was small, no desk and forget about trying to use the wifi. The breakfast buffet was grubby and mean. Overall everything in the place, décor, fittings, televisions and food feel like they came from a pound shop or market stall.

Reviewed by
Peter O

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Woud rather sleep in my car
I called to advise late arrival which was handled very well.
The room was small and was in a seperate block- did not feel like a very secure bedroom block , the towels are small and worn, the bed quite simply was a disgrace, I get single rooms but they can still have a decent mattress - at one point I considered sleeping in my car, the only reason I stayed was I left at 6am.
This is a budget, tired facilty and really not worth saving a few £ for.

Reviewed by
F Matthew

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible!! DON'T BOOK
I booked a superior double room but feel it was definitely not superior. I was later told that the hotel staff had apparently upgraded me and I had stayed in their best room. Shut up! I'm disabled and found the amount of space to be terrible, even my not disabled partner found it a very small, very cramped room. Their was 1 small bedside cupboard with three small drawers - nothing else for storage! The closet had only 3 hangers! Totally terrible!!
All our problems are far too many to mention, but the restaurant is really terrible. It is not award winning. There is only a small amount of tables, its a very small room, and the service is absolutely awful! I think they even gave me the wrong curry sauce - I asked for Korma but it tasted more like Tikka Massala (I hate spicy food and it was quite hot, not like Korma usually) and it was the wrong colour too.
Housekeeping - we had to ask two out of four nights we were there for housekeeping to clean our room (and even after we asked as we went out and returned 6 hours later it still hadn't been done, and then it was too late at night!). Room service - the food was cold. Breakfast times were very limited - we went away for a break, not to get up and go for breakfast at 8 in the morning on a Saturday! Décor wasn't consistent. It was not disabled friendly at all - there is no lift and I did not see a single ramp.
Make sure you read other reviews before booking - but I'd recommend you to not book this hotel lol! Total mistake - looks great but certainly isn't. Very deceiving pictures and website. Fantastic exterior, but the interior . . . total disappoint and waste of money (and a waste of my time).

Reviewed by
Nicole Cooney

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
The hotel was very nice. Our room was room 40 it was well decorated, very clean, adequate for our requirements although the view was not great (brick wall). My only complaint would be the reception staff (possibly the security staff), they were lounging around on return from our night out in the comfortable chairs and when we asked for the key, we had to wait prob 4-5 mins for someone to arrive to get the key. I was unable to sleep due to security team having what appears to an argument with each other. At one point I shouted out the window "can you be quiet please", they were unable to hear this as it continued for at least 10 minutes.

Reviewed by
c sparks

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good food but very loud music at night
The quality of the rooms was ok, although given the hot temperatures it would have been good to turn the heating off! On 3 out of our 4 night stay there was very loud music from an event going on. Generally this would be ok, but the venue is about 10m from the rooms. This meant 3 very bad nights sleep. When I mentioned the problem I was offered a £5 discount, a little insulting given we had paid over £300. If I had been told about the noise before arrival I would have chosen to stay elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Naomi E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next