Reviews - Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre


Baylis Business Centre,Stoke Poges Lane, Slough, SL1 3PB

Price From 104.59 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (59)

39% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M rhodes

  • March 2014

Get up Early

If you want a hot shower you must get up around 05:00 and if you eat in the restaurant take lots of clothes.

Dont let them open fires fool you - they are for display purposes only.

  • Robert R

  • March 2014


Highly recommend to anyone travelling to or near Slough.

An excellent deal. Had a great nights sleep and the accommodation was really good.

  • Robert Lucas

  • February 2014

Looks great as you approach via the drive

Very good parking, pleasant helpful staff at reception, all looked good until I got to the lobby and stairs to my room in the annex.

First impression here was very poor, dirty brown worn out carpet tiles, damage to walls and skirting it all looked a right mess which could have been transformed for a few quid. Room was tiny, but clean and bed comfy and linen very crisp and clean, okay for one night in the winter, would not stay here for any longer especially in the summer. I ate in the restaurant which was curry based and very good, staff at the bar very attentive, waiter was not, took the wrong order from the next table and no apology, so he needs training or sacking. A couple sitting at the next table hoping for a romantic meal sat in darkness on a table that lacked any charm, no flowers or decoration just plain boring!. Put a candle on the table and a single stem vase with a flower cheer up the place as people do actually go out to eat to enjoy themselves. Unfortunately I met the owner at the bar before I ordered my meal and he was keen to attract corporate clients to his hotel and asked me to promote his hotel to my clients, I would like to help but until more attention is paid to key areas of the business I can't see him winning new business. I give this a 3 out of 10 but with a bit of though the whole hotel could be turned around and get a 8 to 9 out of 10. I suggest the owner and managers book themselves into some of the better hotels in the area and get some tips and use them before it's too late, or bring in TV's Hotel Inspector Alex Polizzi she will sort it out!!!!

  • K Williamson

  • January 2014

Baylis House Hotel

After initially being directed to the annex, which did not fit the room advertised on the website, a simple conversation with the management was all it took to be redirected to a very lovely airy room with great facilities including a bath and a very comfortable bed.

Friendly and professional staff.

  • Charlotte T

  • December 2013


We landed at Heathrow fairly late so rather than drive all the way home that night we decided to stay locally.

I wish we had driven home instead. The hotel looks nice from the outside but it is very worn out inside. There was a dreadful smell in the corridor and despite paying extra for a superior room, it was tiny. Also in another corridor someone gad clearly been smoking as it stank of smoke so i was concerned the smoke detectors didnt work?. In our room, one of the lights by the bed had the cover missing. The room itself was fairly clean but very tired. They had tried to fit a little desk in but the room was so small the desk meant you could get to one side of the bed. There were 2 parties on that night so and clearly not enough staff. When we were trying to check in 1 of the parties came to make a complaint that they had no service and wanted to order more drinks. We ate in the restaurant which was a small very cold room which seemed like it was only being used beside the parties were on. The poor girl waitressing looked very stressed out. Food was average. The next morning really finished off a rubbish stay. We had booked breakfast so went down and the waiter who spoke very poor English attempted to take our order. My partner asked for poached eggs but the waiter clearly had no idea what we were saying so we eventually got to fried eggs. I asked for a full English cooked breakfast. My partner got offered a hot drink but I didn't. When the food came out we got 2 plates each withv1 fried egg on... Useless. My partner complained and we were told it was the waiters first day?. We gave up, checked out and left. All in all a terrible stay and we definitely will not he going back. I recommend everyone stays away from this place.

  • sadeq ahmed

  • December 2013

Bayliss house hotel review

Very good service.

Room was very nice. Good location.

  • Tracy Butterworth

  • December 2013

Stay here!

This is a hidden gem.

I've been working in Slough for a few months and didn't even know it existed. Tucked away, you know you're going to like it as soon as you drive up the long film set like path. The staff are very friendly, venue is terrific with lots of lounges and expansive gardens. The room was good (although my heating didn't work) and the restaurant food was very good indeed. I will stay here again and would recommend it.

  • D Ward

  • December 2013

Ok if you like Indian food which I don't.

  • e juryeff

  • December 2013

tired Travellers

Impossible to find the place.

It was in the midts of a very out of control wedding function. It was dirty, but the evening staff tried to be friendly.