Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > Canvey Hotels > Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Baylis Business Centre,Stoke Poges Lane , Slough, SL1 3PB
Baylis House is one of the architectural jewels in Slough’s crown. Set in four acres of landscaped grounds, the stunning Grade 1 listed building provides unique hotel, conference and banqueting facilities.

The stunning entrance with its long sweeping drive will captivate you from the moment you arrive. The newly built extension of beautifully appointed en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms offers superb accommodation for any traveller and Baylis House prides itself on its high standard of service and attention to detail. All rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, wireless internet and satellite TV. A large complimentary car park is also available for guest use. Dining at Baylis House is not to be missed too; Season’s Restaurant offers a wide selection of the best of Indian Cuisine freshly prepared by talented chefs and led by Head Chef D S Thapa. The well stocked bar offers a great range of wines and beers for guests to enjoy.

Slough Trading Estate plays home to many major international companies and is a short 5 minutes drive away.

The hotel is also ideally placed for visiting the many tourist attraction in the area from Legoland to Thorpe Park and Ascot Racecourse and London Heathrow is less than 10 miles away. For a superb day out, take time to visit Windsor castle, located less than 5 miles away.

Whether celebrating a wedding, an anniversary or attending a conference, Baylis House has superb conference and events facilities for up to 600 guests. Its flexible design allows for the smaller meetings for around ten people or for something a bit special the Boardroom in the Grade 1 listed mansion would be perfect.

Please note that when checking photo ID is required when making payment for your reservation.
Picture of Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre, Slough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
The room itself was small, but it was very clean and had everything I needed for my 1 night stay on a business trip. The bed was very comfy, and staff very helpful so a pleasant stay all round. Although the cooked breakfast wasn't great.

Reviewed by
G Lloyd Jones

From Wales
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stuff
This hotel is very grand. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are just what you would expect for the price! Cheaper than Premier Inn but just as good!

Reviewed by
E Ferrie

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but not perfect
the wifi is not working well, the rooms are quite small and the location is very badly indicated...

Reviewed by
César C

From PARIS, France
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty Towers here we come!
Rather odd experience. Arrived late and were hit by the smell of a Indian Restaurant (which was a very nice smell) which was a bit incongruous with a stately home look. Neither my room nor my colleagues room had a towel. My colleagues room's aircon didn't work. Breakfast was ok except 'bacon and tomatoes' got translated to 'bacon and mushrooms'. When I told the girl who delivered it she said 'you would like more mushrooms'? The 'Latte' I was brought was anything but - a somewhat offensive brown liquid. All this combined with bizarre decor made for an entertaining experience. Having said all this, excellent value for money. I'd definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Phil H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

night at baylis
Did not feel welcomed just a part player to the events. Guest facilities poor with guest lounge a corridor.

Reviewed by
Steve Myatt

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor condition of the hotel and room. Initially we were given untidy room I would not recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

Reviewed by
O Khalid

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival we had to pay upfront for rooms. After we was given our room key i can understand why they take money from you upfront. As we went into our room we was greated with what could only be described as a broom cupboard sized room that barely had enough room for the double bed. To make things even more welcoming the toilet was broken and we couldn't stop the flow of water. The glasses in the bathroom had white powder in them. Only one towel was provided. Floor was dirty in the sleeping area. The bedroom blinds didn't cover the window and where so white and thin daylight just shone through. Would have been better just leaving them open. Needless to say we complained about the room and was given another room next door. The only difference was the bed was slightly bigger. The charge for breakfast was £11 per person and they display what the breakfast consists of. Any way after a sleepless night due to noise pollution from a party we ventured down for breakfast only to be greated with stale bread and a toaster that took 5 minutes to toast your bread. Our fabulous £11 full English breakfast arrived minus the hash browns and mushroom. The plate consisted of 1 sausage 2 crispy fried eggs simular to a card board cut out two rashers of stiff hard bacon and a bowl of baked beans in the middle of the plate. On asking the waitress about the mushrooms and hash browns we was told they was not included. So inevitably my darling partner had to point out to the waitress the breakfast menu hence the waitress retracting her last statement and replacing it by sorry we have run out. The breakfast was so appealing we refused to eat it and asked for a refund of the £44 for two of us for two days breakfast. The whole experience of staying at this place was not a pleasant one no wonder the car park was virtually empty of guests. The staff lacked any hospitality skills and certainly lacked any culinary skills. The exterior of the hotel was the only positive thing we could say about this place. Certainly not worth the rates they charge. And would put this place in the 20 - 30 pound per room bracket per night.

Reviewed by
robin d

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed bag
On the one hand a lovely venue with a great room and well furnished.
On the other hand there was a wedding in a marquee in the grounds blaring our Bhangra dance music and the double glazing and dodgy windows did little to dampen the noise. Had to go to bed with television set to talk radio to drown out the thumping bass.
The breakfast was a big disappointment too. "Juice" was actually squash, "ham" was just processed meat (probably spam) and the cooked breakfast was pretty stingy - one rash bacon, one nasty sausage, even the beans were a tiny portion. The fruit in the continental breakfast was canned and clearly a few days old (cling film left on, and looking tired).
So on balance. Would not recommend staying without checking about whether anything noisy going on the same night.

Reviewed by
C Robinson

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and has the potential to be better
First impression was reception, adequate but staff could be more friendly and informative I felt I was interrupting his supper.
Hotel is charming and has character, some areas need a refurb.
Bar, lounge and dinning area were lovely with good atmos and staff here attentive and friendly.
Superior room very small with bed and one chair, not superier standard but clean and new.
Set in lovely grounds and quiet which is good for Slough.
I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not worth the money, basic, unfinished hotel, shower not fixed to wall , toilet seat not attached
dont stay here unless your getting a 70% discount off the price

Reviewed by
N EDWARDS

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next