Reviews - Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre


Baylis Business Centre,Stoke Poges Lane, Slough, SL1 3PB

Price From 126.96 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (59)

44% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Steve James

  • May 2014

Fulfills basic needs better than my previous choice of hotel

Just booked my 3rd visit in 3 weeks which is testimony in itself.

Easy to get to...secluded with more than ample parking. Clean tidy rooms, neither small or large. The best wi fi signal I've experienced at 20Mg...and free. You can have english courses at dinner, but there's a good Asian menu I recommend. English breakfast as other guests suggest is poor...but this is my only criticism. All in all...better than most at this level.

  • Steve Richardson

  • May 2014


It was quiet awesome to see the hotel come in to view behind the great gates.

Inside were period fireplaces and other features kept as original. The bedroom however was very modern. The bathroom was beautiful and very large. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept in yet,

In critism the selection of tea and coffee were not of a higher standard as you would expect from a 4* hotel. There was no hair dryer in the room and for whatever reason I didn't get my alarm call.

That being said, I had an enjoyable and very reasonably priced Indian restraunt and I enjoyed the whole stately home experience. I would definitely stay there again.

  • T Johal

  • April 2014

Good... But breakfast not included in high price

Room was well presented and in the newer part of the hotel.

Bed was comfortable the A\C was much appreciated in the room and the bathroom was clean and nice size. Drawbacks: we were next to the electric generators or transformers for the building so did get noisy but tv drowned that out, tv was tiny so could not read the text on the tv without getting up. Room was slightly small side for two grown men. On site facilities are pricey and for 75 a night I expected breakfast but this is charged at £8.99 each per person not the best value. However it was conveniently located and the hotel itself is very beautiful. Staff were helpful.

  • Robert Devonshire

  • April 2014

Slough hotel

Good quality hotel clean and friendly a bit noisy on our stay as there was an Asian wedding there but this comes from booking a Saturday night.

Would recommend this hotel if staying in Slough.

  • J jones

  • April 2014

Well were do I start, at first glance the hotel looked perfect long drive down to a grand looking hotel(were we thought we were staying).The lady at the desk was very pleasant and sent us to another part of the hotel grounds to the hotel accommodation we were staying (family rooms).

The room was very shabby, mould around the bottom of the walls, the light switch was loose, the tea tray was dirty with very little on offer two milk, coffee etc the carpet near the bathroom was wet, all in all it was very poor accommodation will Not be staying there again.

  • M Thomas

  • April 2014


I enjoyed my stay at this hotel it's a beautiful looking old mansion house, I would say it was clean but needs a little TLC the paint work was very shabby, and just the little things need attention.

The breakfast was very nice, being a buffet service and then a English breakfast. I would rate this hotel a 3 star rather than a 4 star.

  • Stephen W

  • April 2014

Poor experiance

No Hot Water in Room

Poor Breakfast service and food

  • M rhodes

  • March 2014

Get up Early

If you want a hot shower you must get up around 05:00 and if you eat in the restaurant take lots of clothes.

Dont let them open fires fool you - they are for display purposes only.

  • Robert R

  • March 2014


Highly recommend to anyone travelling to or near Slough.

An excellent deal. Had a great nights sleep and the accommodation was really good.

  • Robert Lucas

  • February 2014

Looks great as you approach via the drive

Very good parking, pleasant helpful staff at reception, all looked good until I got to the lobby and stairs to my room in the annex.

First impression here was very poor, dirty brown worn out carpet tiles, damage to walls and skirting it all looked a right mess which could have been transformed for a few quid. Room was tiny, but clean and bed comfy and linen very crisp and clean, okay for one night in the winter, would not stay here for any longer especially in the summer. I ate in the restaurant which was curry based and very good, staff at the bar very attentive, waiter was not, took the wrong order from the next table and no apology, so he needs training or sacking. A couple sitting at the next table hoping for a romantic meal sat in darkness on a table that lacked any charm, no flowers or decoration just plain boring!. Put a candle on the table and a single stem vase with a flower cheer up the place as people do actually go out to eat to enjoy themselves. Unfortunately I met the owner at the bar before I ordered my meal and he was keen to attract corporate clients to his hotel and asked me to promote his hotel to my clients, I would like to help but until more attention is paid to key areas of the business I can't see him winning new business. I give this a 3 out of 10 but with a bit of though the whole hotel could be turned around and get a 8 to 9 out of 10. I suggest the owner and managers book themselves into some of the better hotels in the area and get some tips and use them before it's too late, or bring in TV's Hotel Inspector Alex Polizzi she will sort it out!!!!