Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > Canvey Hotels > Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Baylis Business Centre,Stoke Poges Lane , Slough, SL1 3PB
Baylis House is one of the architectural jewels in Slough’s crown. Set in four acres of landscaped grounds, the stunning Grade 1 listed building provides unique hotel, conference and banqueting facilities.

The stunning entrance with its long sweeping drive will captivate you from the moment you arrive. The newly built extension of beautifully appointed en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms offers superb accommodation for any traveller and Baylis House prides itself on its high standard of service and attention to detail. All rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, wireless internet and satellite TV. A large complimentary car park is also available for guest use. Dining at Baylis House is not to be missed too; Season’s Restaurant offers a wide selection of the best of Indian Cuisine freshly prepared by talented chefs and led by Head Chef D S Thapa. The well stocked bar offers a great range of wines and beers for guests to enjoy.

Slough Trading Estate plays home to many major international companies and is a short 5 minutes drive away.

The hotel is also ideally placed for visiting the many tourist attraction in the area from Legoland to Thorpe Park and Ascot Racecourse and London Heathrow is less than 10 miles away. For a superb day out, take time to visit Windsor castle, located less than 5 miles away.

Whether celebrating a wedding, an anniversary or attending a conference, Baylis House has superb conference and events facilities for up to 600 guests. Its flexible design allows for the smaller meetings for around ten people or for something a bit special the Boardroom in the Grade 1 listed mansion would be perfect.

Please note that when checking photo ID is required when making payment for your reservation.
Picture of Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre, Slough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fulfills basic needs better than my previous choice of hotel
Just booked my 3rd visit in 3 weeks which is testimony in itself.
Easy to get to...secluded with more than ample parking.
Clean tidy rooms, neither small or large.
The best wi fi signal I've experienced at 20Mg...and free.
You can have english courses at dinner, but there's a good Asian menu I recommend.
English breakfast as other guests suggest is poor...but this is my only criticism.
All in all...better than most at this level.

Reviewed by
Steve James

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good... But breakfast not included in high price
Room was well presented and in the newer part of the hotel. Bed was comfortable the A\C was much appreciated in the room and the bathroom was clean and nice size. Drawbacks: we were next to the electric generators or transformers for the building so did get noisy but tv drowned that out, tv was tiny so could not read the text on the tv without getting up. Room was slightly small side for two grown men.
On site facilities are pricey and for 75 a night I expected breakfast but this is charged at £8.99 each per person not the best value. However it was conveniently located and the hotel itself is very beautiful. Staff were helpful.

Reviewed by
T Johal

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slough hotel
Good quality hotel clean and friendly a bit noisy on our stay as there was an Asian wedding there but this comes from booking a Saturday night. Would recommend this hotel if staying in Slough.

Reviewed by
Robert Devonshire

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel it's a beautiful looking old mansion house, I would say it was clean but needs a little TLC the paint work was very shabby, and just the little things need attention. The breakfast was very nice, being a buffet service and then a English breakfast.
I would rate this hotel a 3 star rather than a 4 star.

Reviewed by
M Thomas

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well were do I start, at first glance the hotel looked perfect long drive down to a grand looking hotel(were we thought we were staying).The lady at the desk was very pleasant and sent us to another part of the hotel grounds to the hotel accommodation we were staying (family rooms). The room was very shabby, mould around the bottom of the walls, the light switch was loose, the tea tray was dirty with very little on offer two milk, coffee etc the carpet near the bathroom was wet, all in all it was very poor accommodation will Not be staying there again.

Reviewed by
J jones

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor experiance
No Hot Water in Room
Poor Breakfast service and food

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get up Early
If you want a hot shower you must get up around 05:00 and if you eat in the restaurant take lots of clothes. Dont let them open fires fool you - they are for display purposes only.

Reviewed by
M rhodes

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Highly recommend to anyone travelling to or near Slough. An excellent deal. Had a great nights sleep and the accommodation was really good.

Reviewed by
Robert R

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looks great as you approach via the drive
Very good parking, pleasant helpful staff at reception, all looked good until I got to the lobby and stairs to my room in the annex! First impression here was very poor, dirty brown worn out carpet tiles, damage to walls and skirting it all looked a right mess which could have been transformed for a few quid! Room was tiny, but clean and bed comfy and linen very crisp and clean, okay for one night in the winter, would not stay here for any longer especially in the summer. I ate in the restaurant which was curry based and very good, staff at the bar very attentive, waiter was not, took the wrong order from the next table and no apology, so he needs training or sacking! A couple sitting at the next table hoping for a romantic meal sat in darkness on a table that lacked any charm, no flowers or decoration just plain boring!! Put a candle on the table and a single stem vase with a flower cheer up the place as people do actually go out to eat to enjoy themselves. Unfortunately I met the owner at the bar before I ordered my meal and he was keen to attract corporate clients to his hotel and asked me to promote his hotel to my clients, I would like to help but until more attention is paid to key areas of the business I can't see him winning new business. I give this a 3 out of 10 but with a bit of though the whole hotel could be turned around and get a 8 to 9 out of 10.
I suggest the owner and managers book themselves into some of the better hotels in the area and get some tips and use them before it's too late, or bring in TV's Hotel Inspector Alex Polizzi she will sort it out!!!!

Reviewed by
Robert Lucas

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Baylis House Hotel
After initially being directed to the annex, which did not fit the room advertised on the website, a simple conversation with the management was all it took to be redirected to a very lovely airy room with great facilities including a bath and a very comfortable bed. Friendly and professional staff.

Reviewed by
K Williamson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next