Reviews - Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre

4

Baylis Business Centre,Stoke Poges Lane, Slough, SL1 3PB

Price From 106.75 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (56)

39% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • David R

  • July 2014

No hot water

The staff were either unable or unwilling to repair the water heater.

We had hot water only on one evening after much complaint. Provision of towels was ungenerous and the plug did not easily fit in the bath.. Provision of coffee and tea was sparse. We left early preferring to drive home to our own bed.

  • S James

  • July 2014

Going the wrong way

I've been staying at Baylis regularly for months, and previously left enthused reviews.

Over the last 4 weeks (3 visits) there appears to have been a chnage in management and its all gone the wrong way.

Prices appear to have increased whilst all standards (aside the continuously helpful staff) have dropped.

Marketed as a 4 star hotel it falls short by a start or maybe even two. Breakfast which was cooked is now a poor continental. Coffee for example is a Nescafe sachet and hot water to make your own. Croissant were soft and doughy, clearly supermarket straight from packet and not warmed to crisp them up.

Dinner used to be a highlight, as Indian cuisine was a specialty of theirs, but corners have been cut again, on standards.

The internet wi-fi was 15MG...on each of my last 3 visits its stopped working. The televisions in the rooms suffer from poor reception. The televisions over the bar (previously a good place to meet other visitors and watch the football) have stopped working. It was never somewhere to take a partner, but did meet requirements for the business traveler. I'm afraid its lost my business now. Just too many things have changed for the negative and its overpriced for 2 star standards.

  • Matt H

  • July 2014

Baylis hotel Slough

The Baylis Hotel is in a very run down and tired state and rough around the edges, There is a strong smell of dampness around the hotel, the carpets on the way to the rooms are worn and a tripping hazard

  • Rachel S

  • June 2014

All style and no substance

The hotel appears very appealing and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful on our arrival.

The room was small, but very clean. The walls were incredibly thin, and though we were aware that a wedding party in the hotel might be noisy, it was the TV in the room next door that kept us awake until 2am. The 'hot' water was tepid; when we mentioned this to reception they said they would try to sort it out, but we didn't hear from them again, and the next morning the temperature of the water was no better.

  • D W

  • June 2014

Disappointing

The staff were mostly helpful and that is the best thing to say about this hotel.

Booked for 2 nights, woke up after night 1 to find bathroom had ant invasion, moved to a different room with no ants and less dust. Veggie breakfast was beans, egg, tomato. Very disjointed decor, not sure what this hotel is trying to be, hostel chic.

  • Colin Budden

  • June 2014

Quality and Historic

Superb hotel.

Will definitely stay there again. The restaurant was excellent the food delicious. People very friendly. Loved it

  • Steve James

  • June 2014

Baylis - With something extra

I recently switched from an alternate hotel as I stay most weeks in Slough for 1 night.

Baylis has ample parking, is easy to reach, rooms are fine and clean, pricing is comparable. The bonus is the great Indian kitchen which serves excellent food...seriously tasty food. On all my previous visits the English breakfast was, as described by many other visitors...a shocker, but I forgave them this as the Indian food was so great. I'm happy to report management however must have read feedback because on my last visit breakfast improved significantly.

Baylis can now have my 4 stars.

  • Debbie M

  • June 2014

This hotel is most disappointing

If poor service and poor food at a good price are your thing, then this is the place to stay.

The receptionist was unfriendly and not very efficient,. The room was not equipped very well and felt stark. The windows were left unlocked and had I not checked would have remained so all night... For a woman travelling alone this is not great. Basically very disappointing place where even a simple smile would have been nice but never happened.

  • christopher harding

  • June 2014

Looking for an excuse

An amazing place.

A little run down but actually it still looked and felt great. Food (Indian) was superb. Very authentic..I could have been back in India.

  • donna s

  • June 2014

The room we had was nice and clean, but very hot even with the window open.