Reviews - Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre


Baylis Business Centre,Stoke Poges Lane, Slough, SL1 3PB

Price From 125.51 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (59)

39% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Rachel S

  • June 2014

All style and no substance

The hotel appears very appealing and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful on our arrival.

The room was small, but very clean. The walls were incredibly thin, and though we were aware that a wedding party in the hotel might be noisy, it was the TV in the room next door that kept us awake until 2am. The 'hot' water was tepid; when we mentioned this to reception they said they would try to sort it out, but we didn't hear from them again, and the next morning the temperature of the water was no better.

  • D W

  • June 2014


The staff were mostly helpful and that is the best thing to say about this hotel.

Booked for 2 nights, woke up after night 1 to find bathroom had ant invasion, moved to a different room with no ants and less dust. Veggie breakfast was beans, egg, tomato. Very disjointed decor, not sure what this hotel is trying to be, hostel chic.

  • Colin Budden

  • June 2014

Quality and Historic

Superb hotel.

Will definitely stay there again. The restaurant was excellent the food delicious. People very friendly. Loved it

  • Steve James

  • June 2014

Baylis - With something extra

I recently switched from an alternate hotel as I stay most weeks in Slough for 1 night.

Baylis has ample parking, is easy to reach, rooms are fine and clean, pricing is comparable. The bonus is the great Indian kitchen which serves excellent food...seriously tasty food. On all my previous visits the English breakfast was, as described by many other visitors...a shocker, but I forgave them this as the Indian food was so great. I'm happy to report management however must have read feedback because on my last visit breakfast improved significantly.

Baylis can now have my 4 stars.

  • Debbie M

  • June 2014

This hotel is most disappointing

If poor service and poor food at a good price are your thing, then this is the place to stay.

The receptionist was unfriendly and not very efficient,. The room was not equipped very well and felt stark. The windows were left unlocked and had I not checked would have remained so all night... For a woman travelling alone this is not great. Basically very disappointing place where even a simple smile would have been nice but never happened.

  • christopher harding

  • June 2014

Looking for an excuse

An amazing place.

A little run down but actually it still looked and felt great. Food (Indian) was superb. Very authentic..I could have been back in India.

  • donna s

  • June 2014

The room we had was nice and clean, but very hot even with the window open.

  • r jones

  • June 2014

Gutted never again

Room so tiny.

Blind did not even fit in window hence light coming through. Bathroom light would not switch off. Reception informed of our issues and did not seem at all bothered. Breakfast was laughable. Gutted because I was planning on staying here at least once a month to visit my son in Windsor. Breakfast consisted of a choice of one cereal, 4 pastries on a plate, scrambled egg with brown bits in it, sausages well did not taste or look like sausages. And thank god I wasn't planning on a lie in on the Sunday morning as there was a wedding going on at 9am with bongo drums the whole Shabang!!!

  • Michelle B

  • May 2014

Overnight stay midweek

Room very small and very noisy - you could hear all conversations in the corridors.

Outside view of a rolled up dirty carpet in the courtyard. Bed very lumpy and uncomfortable, 'side tables' were actually old office desk drawers. Booked in for breakfast at 8am, ordered promptyly but although there were only 4 other tables in the restuarant, had to chase up order at 8.30 and it arrived at 8.55am!!!. Overall would not stay again and would not recommend

  • F Thompson

  • May 2014

Don't bother!

A lovely old building with a very interesting history.

The room was cold the heating did not work in the room or the bath room. It had no double glazing and every little sound from outside could be heard. The six in the morning visit from the dustbin men was far from welcome, the sound of empty bottles rattling into the lorry was most impressive. Then to find that the hot water had all gone and the breakfast was dull and unappetizing sent us off in a grumpy mood for the day. we called at a supermarket and bought a breakfast for half the cost at the hotel and we then started to feel better.