Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Slough > Canvey Hotels > Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Baylis Business Centre,Stoke Poges Lane , Slough, SL1 3PB
Baylis House is one of the architectural jewels in Slough’s crown. Set in four acres of landscaped grounds, the stunning Grade 1 listed building provides unique hotel, conference and banqueting facilities.

The stunning entrance with its long sweeping drive will captivate you from the moment you arrive. The newly built extension of beautifully appointed en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms offers superb accommodation for any traveller and Baylis House prides itself on its high standard of service and attention to detail. All rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, wireless internet and satellite TV. A large complimentary car park is also available for guest use. Dining at Baylis House is not to be missed too; Season’s Restaurant offers a wide selection of the best of Indian Cuisine freshly prepared by talented chefs and led by Head Chef D S Thapa. The well stocked bar offers a great range of wines and beers for guests to enjoy.

Slough Trading Estate plays home to many major international companies and is a short 5 minutes drive away.

The hotel is also ideally placed for visiting the many tourist attraction in the area from Legoland to Thorpe Park and Ascot Racecourse and London Heathrow is less than 10 miles away. For a superb day out, take time to visit Windsor castle, located less than 5 miles away.

Whether celebrating a wedding, an anniversary or attending a conference, Baylis House has superb conference and events facilities for up to 600 guests. Its flexible design allows for the smaller meetings for around ten people or for something a bit special the Boardroom in the Grade 1 listed mansion would be perfect.

Please note that when checking photo ID is required when making payment for your reservation.
Picture of Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre, Slough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 106 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All style and no substance
The hotel appears very appealing and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful on our arrival. The room was small, but very clean. The walls were incredibly thin, and though we were aware that a wedding party in the hotel might be noisy, it was the TV in the room next door that kept us awake until 2am. The 'hot' water was tepid; when we mentioned this to reception they said they would try to sort it out, but we didn't hear from them again, and the next morning the temperature of the water was no better.

Reviewed by
Rachel S

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
The staff were mostly helpful and that is the best thing to say about this hotel. Booked for 2 nights, woke up after night 1 to find bathroom had ant invasion, moved to a different room with no ants and less dust. Veggie breakfast was beans, egg, tomato. Very disjointed decor, not sure what this hotel is trying to be, hostel chic?

Reviewed by
D W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality and Historic
Superb hotel. Will definitely stay there again.
The restaurant was excellent the food delicious.
People very friendly.
Loved it

Reviewed by
Colin Budden

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is most disappointing
If poor service and poor food at a good price are your thing, then this is the place to stay. The receptionist was unfriendly and not very efficient,. The room was not equipped very well and felt stark. The windows were left unlocked and had I not checked would have remained so all night... For a woman travelling alone this is not great. Basically very disappointing place where even a simple smile would have been nice but never happened.

Reviewed by
Debbie M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looking for an excuse
An amazing place. A little run down but actually it still looked and felt great. Food (Indian) was superb.
Very authentic..I could have been back in India.

Reviewed by
christopher harding

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Baylis - With something extra
I recently switched from an alternate hotel as I stay most weeks in Slough for 1 night. Baylis has ample parking, is easy to reach, rooms are fine and clean, pricing is comparable. The bonus is the great Indian kitchen which serves excellent food...seriously tasty food! On all my previous visits the English breakfast was, as described by many other visitors...a shocker, but I forgave them this as the Indian food was so great. I'm happy to report management however must have read feedback because on my last visit breakfast improved significantly.
Baylis can now have my 4 stars.

Reviewed by
Steve James

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we had was nice and clean, but very hot even with the window open.

Reviewed by
donna s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gutted never again
Room so tiny. Blind did not even fit in window hence light coming through. Bathroom light would not switch off. Reception informed of our issues and did not seem at all bothered. Breakfast was laughable. Gutted because I was planning on staying here at least once a month to visit my son in Windsor. Breakfast consisted of a choice of one cereal, 4 pastries on a plate, scrambled egg with brown bits in it, sausages well did not taste or look like sausages. And thank god I wasn't planning on a lie in on the Sunday morning as there was a wedding going on at 9am with bongo drums the whole Shabang!!!

Reviewed by
r jones

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't bother!
A lovely old building with a very interesting history. The room was cold the heating did not work in the room or the bath room. It had no double glazing and every little sound from outside could be heard. The six in the morning visit from the dustbin men was far from welcome, the sound of empty bottles rattling into the lorry was most impressive. Then to find that the hot water had all gone and the breakfast was dull and unappetizing sent us off in a grumpy mood for the day. we called at a supermarket and bought a breakfast for half the cost at the hotel and we then started to feel better.

Reviewed by
F Thompson

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When you drive up to the hotel it looks fantastic but from then on it was quite disappointing. We stayed in the refurbished part of the hotel in a deluxe room , the room was very nice until we looked out of the window to see rolls of old carpet. That evening and the following morning we had no hot water, thought it was expensive for what we got and we got it £20 cheaper than the actual rate of £95.

Reviewed by
K MALAM

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next