Reviews - Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre


Baylis Business Centre,Stoke Poges Lane, Slough, SL1 3PB

Price From 191.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (59)

44% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • G Garratt

  • March 2015

Great value, good for pre airport stop over

Great value, room was modern, warm, clean, new bathroom etc tea & coffee making, FREE Wi Fi for as many devices as you want..

Old house lovely, breakfast in that room. Continental breakfast excellent value, would prefer a pot of tea & cup & saucer though. Rooms well insulated for warmth & sound. Corridor was bit noisy when youngsters returned but they soon settled in their rooms. Lovely views of the old park, duck pond, nice for a walk round the next morning.

  • Noemi K

  • February 2015

not quite as advertised

The hotel itself it's really sweet from the outside.

The inside dosent match although at all. And the room wasn't quite as advertised. Felt more like a hostel or so. Could have gotten much better for that price

  • I Dunn

  • February 2015

Good spot

Very helpful staff and room was ample for an overnight stay.

This is more of a conference centre than a hotel but it was clean and comfortable.

  • Ann R

  • January 2015

Baylis House Hotel & Conference Centre

Had my back screen smashed and contents stolen from out of my boot when parked overnight.

Car Park should be a lot lighter.

  • H Broom

  • December 2014

I would look elsewhere for the same money

I stayed at this hotel because I was going to a wedding nearby, I picked this hotel over another hotel (which was the same price except for breakfast) because it had breakfast.

However, I wish I had stayed at the other hotel. When we arrived we were greeted by helpful and friendly staff who told us that although we had booked breakfast they do not supply it on a Saturday and could only provide a cold continental breakfast, I promptly refused and I was given a refund for the breakfasts.

The staff were pleasant and friendly and the hotel looked impressive from the outside but that is where the good points stop. The room we stayed in was tiny and very dark. The bathroom had cracked tiles on the floor, the wooden flooring did not have a proper edge finish to where it met the tiles leaving a rather sharp edge to stub your foot, the shower (which is at a fixed height) was too low (I am only 5ft 5) and I had to bend down to wash my hair at a very uncomfortable angle, the paint was peeling off the window sill, the blind looked like it had been there for 20 years and the grouting around the bathroom was all stained a nasty yellowy colour. The bed felt like it had come straight out of the nearest dump (you could feel the springs in the mattress) and there were only 2 pillows supplied (1 for each person) that were not even worth having.

Now on to the noise ... we were on the ground floor and heard every guests conversation as they walked along the corridors and down the stairs from the upper levels over the TV. You could not hear them when they were in their rooms. This hotel is more of a £30-£40 night stay, it is a far cry from a £70 stay and I would recommend you look elsewhere for a more comfortable stay.

  • Stella B

  • November 2014

Quiet place for overnight

Lovely place to stay.

  • G Jenkins

  • October 2014

Slough? Shocker

Fantastic value for money, the room was as it should clean,big enough, everything worked , shower was great , as I turned onto the driveway I couldn't believe the view the driveway , gates and house , I stopped took a photo and put it onto Facebook, all this for the price and just outside the M25 fantastic

  • Paula M

  • September 2014

Lovely approach to the hotel - very disappointing inside

I arrived very late having got lost as the postcode on the website was not the postcode I had to follow.

The staff on check in were friendly. The room looked like a recent poor quality refurbishment. The sockets had holes around them, there was no mattress or pillow protectors (2 very poor quality pillows were stuffed into a pillowcase too small to accommodate them). The shower curtain was broken and filthy. I could not lock the window of my ground floor room and had to kill 4 very large spiders before a very uncomfortable night. The interior of the hotel was shabby and again not overly clean. I did not eat there.

  • John B

  • September 2014


When we arrived, receptionist didn't have any details of our booking.

When we explained we booked through she managed to find details, but needed to print out our sign-in form, but she didn't have any paper. After a 15 minute wait it arrived. I was then shocked to be asked for photographic ID (driving licence was used), and to then pay in advance - some 4* treatment!!. We were then told that the standard room that we booked was not available, but that we would be upgraded to a better room at no extra cost. When we found the room, it was minute. The bath was no more than a glorified shower tray/hip bath. I dread to think what the standard room would have been like. The room seemed clean, with laminate flooring, but the kettle had a really thick layer of dust on the lid, and the large circular mirror was dirty. The wardrobe was the cheapest available from somewhere like IKEA and was broken. The entrance door into our corridor was next to our room and very squeaky - quite loud in our room. No one on reception when we left.

  • Baboo Pramodh M

  • September 2014