No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1 Upper Strand Street , Sandwich, CT13 9EF
The Bell has been an important centre of Sandwich life since Tudor times. A Bell Inn has existed on The Quay, adjacent to the Barbican Gate and Toll, overlooking what would have been the harbour, now the River Stour, since about 1300. The present listed building is mainly 19th century. Today with its 37 en suite bedrooms; a Georgian regency room catering for up to 120 guests; and ‘The Old Dining Room Restaurant’ with a menu specialising in local produce and two bars. We now except Pets in some of our rooms by prior arrangement.
All accommodation rates quoted are inclusive of a continental or cooked breakfast. From the buffet, a basket of freshly baked croissants, pain au chocolat and mixed breads, fresh fruit salad, fruit basket, selection of cereals, jams and marmalades, local honey, local yoghurts - selection of plain or live, home baked ham and napoli salami and a platter of sliced cheese. There is a selection of local orchard juices, orange juice and cranberry juice. For a cooked breakfast choose from local free range eggs (poached, boiled, scrambled or fried), grilled smoked or unsmoked local bacon, homemade herb sausages, grilled mushrooms, fresh grilled tomatoes or smoked kippers.

We operate a no smoking policy in all the bedrooms.
Picture of The Bell Hotel, Sandwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Kent
We decided to have a weekend away in Kent and chose the Bell to stay in and were completely satisfied. It was everything you would want from a country hotel, clean, friendly, in a good position and good food - we would stay there again - one thing their door locks are a little strange - if you can't lock the door ask reception - there is a knack!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Geoff N

From Chertsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay in very pleasant surroundings , very nice room but would benefit from secondary dbl glazing to block out the tragic noise .
Food very good and service better
Thanks to all

Reviewed by
S Crosse

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel very helpful
We was ment to stay with friends but I had a bereavement so we didn't stay but friends did as was booked
Went in to see hotel as was down there spoke to Jill and she sorted everything out great service and management
They said fantastic hotel all going to stay there soon
Thanks Jill and manager xxx

Reviewed by
P Mcwilliams

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent very friendly staff, a very comfortable stay with great food, what more could you want

Reviewed by
i wolf

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the accommodation clean and comfortable but we were surprised that it was the same menu for the whole week in the restaurant in the evening and at lunch time, such a shame as we had hoped to bring a relative in for a meal with us.

Reviewed by
ann b

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grim unhelpful reception, 3rd floor family room no lift. lot of noise from bar
The window had been painted shut with the magnolia emulsion that was also on the walls and the rest of the wood work. Bath was chipped and when you sat in the bath the soapdish and underneath of the basin etc were obviously never cleaned. The Bell used to be quite an up market place but seems to have fallen on hard times with worn out carpets and a charity shop feel to the place with all the old
bags on display in the reception area. If you want the same quality of room for a fraction of the price hotel burst in Folkestone has great sea views...at the time of writing the bell hotel has a building site outside taking up the whole of the car park..i believe they are trying to build up the flood defences as the quay and surrounding area have a bad flooding problem. Looks like they a lot of work to yet..

Reviewed by
jonathan f

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sandwich Christmas Festival
We were very happy with all aspects of our three night stay. The facilities were slightly reduced because of extensive alterations being carried out at the time, which resulted in the loss of lounge facilities. They were not intrusive and no doubt will result in extended facilities.

Reviewed by
Geoff B

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sandwich
Comfortable stay although quite a lot of stairs to climb to room allocated.

Reviewed by
Mary

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Bell, the staff were the friendliest we have encountered and the food was excellent. We would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
E Williams

From Welling, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mid week break
Very pleasant stay. The staff were helpful and friendly and our room was comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel and it was of a very high quality and sensibly priced. We will stay again when next in the area.

Reviewed by
j griffin

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next