No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oakland Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
2-6 Reeves Way,South Woodham Ferrers , Chelmsford, CM3 5XF
The Oakland Hotel is situated in the centre of the riverside town of South Woodham Ferrers. Close to the River Crouch, all rooms have private bathrooms. Rooms also feature T.V., tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers and have free Wi-Fi access.

Jaydeez Bar is open daily and also shows live Sporting events. The friendly staff aim to make you feel welcome. On Friday and Saturday nights the Bar becomes a Nightclub with live music or a DJ until 2:00 a.m. The Hotel will endeavour to allocate quiet rooms where possible but some rooms will experience noise from the Nightclub.

The Hotel is 15 minutes from South Woodham Ferrers Rail Station, while South Woodham Swimming Pool and Club Woodham Fitness are only a minute's walk away. The Hotel is within easy reach of A127, A12 and M25.

Whether you are staying here for business locally during the week, or visiting friends and family at the weekend you will find all our rooms are competitively priced.

The Hotel has easy access to the Olympic Stadium, with trains from South Woodham Ferrers to Stratford taking 45 minutes
Picture of The Oakland Hotel, Chelmsford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value accommodation with helpful and pleasant staff.

Reviewed by
Trevor E

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay, nice breakfaet

Reviewed by
steve G

From Dymock, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Staff could have shown a happy face and friendly chat, That warm and fluffy feeling was missing. But aside from this a great stay.

Reviewed by
Gordon Barrett

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean place
The room was very clean, with all the necessary needed for a comfortable stay. I liked having the privacy to enter my room from the street, along with the option to go into the bar.

Reviewed by
Hugh Templeton

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stayer
on arriving pleasant reception,
room very good and clean as always, good nights sleep.
breakfast fine and hot .just right to set us on journey home.
will be back.

Reviewed by
barry khan

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

adequate for me.

Reviewed by
b henshaw

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception
Reception was unmanned but the young lady did get to us within a minute.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Swindon, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very tired and dated hotel. Very poor. Would not recommend.

Reviewed by
K Pritchard

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible showers
A reasonable venue for what we wanted i.e. a bed after a party
However the shower was the worst i have ever encountered in a hotel & i have stayed in many.
It was terrible the old joke about running around in it to get wet was nowhere near the truth.
It spoiled a reasonable stay.

Reviewed by
Mick Perridge

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I arranged an early check-in over the phone and said not to worry about the room being clean as I was just dropping stuff off. Got there and the room was already cleaned! The room itself was clean, tidy and the bed was comfy. It was also quiet and dark, so if you book, I can recommend rooms 38 to 41.

Reviewed by
R Waring

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next