Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Torbay > Torquay+Bus Hotels > The Somerville & Torquay Holiday Lettings
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Somerville & Torquay Holiday Lettings

5Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay, TQ1 1HJ
The award wining Somerville in Torquay has a superb central location and offers boutique hotel-style accommodation. Offering 5 star guest accommodation on a bed and breakfast basis, the Somerville is ideal for luxury holidays or short breaks on the English Riviera. Free wireless broadband access also means that it is ideal for guests travelling to Torbay on business. The Somerville is one of the few establishments in the centre of Torquay which is able to provide free spaces in its own car park for all of its guests.
Picture of The Somerville & Torquay Holiday Lettings, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 99% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Wonderful Experience!!
I booked this at short notice as I didnt have my children for the day and my partner had worked three long night shifts I decided to treat her to an overnight break.
Over the years I have stayed in numerous quality hotels in various regions of the country.
This one has to be tried to really be appreciated.
The welcome and the quality of the rooms and the beds were the best I have experienced.
I have been been in the furniture retail industry since 1981. Bed manufacturers have put me up in different hotels on factory visits and no hotel has reached this level of comfort or quality of service.
If you have a special ocassion to celebrate give this place a try.
I cannot wait to escape again soon. Hopefully for longer next time...

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Caldicot, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little piece of paradise in Torquay
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had a lovely welcome, with lots of information provided. The room was beautiful and the breakfasts were excellent. Attention to detail marks this hotel from the crowd and we would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Reviewed by
Clive M

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B and B

Reviewed by
Mick B

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hosts,location and venue
Overall a fabulous experience all round - friendly hosts, immaculate room, with excellent attention to detail, mouth watering breakfast and central location. A "not to be missed" gem if planning on visiting Torquay. Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Caroline H

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

back in time
I cannot understand why there r two facets (hot n cold) in the basin. modern bathrooms have a single facet with a mixer...you need to use a glass to get warm water.
the breakfast is truly outstanding perhaps as in years gone by

Reviewed by
m alphonso

From SINGAPORE, Singapore
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed at
Amazing place, first class service, excellent breakfast, would stay again

Reviewed by
Alan L

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
A great hotel to stay and relax, very friendly people will be going back very soon

Reviewed by
s workman

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Must the best B&B in Torquay
Quality room with nice furnishings and excellent touches with cookies and milk available. The breakfasts were superb and overall level of service was of an extremely high quality.

Reviewed by
Andy H

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and comfortable.
Good place to stay for business in or out of season.
Clean, well decorated comfortable room.
Only problem was internet connection. I booked this hotel specifically so that I could do some work in the evening - connected to wireless router no problem - no internet however. Never had this problem before. Spoke to staff who seemed keen to help, but they disappeared and I didn't see them again, so no internet. Would discourage me from staying here again when on business. Won't lose sleep because of it though.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for using LateRooms.com. Whilst we're pleased that the guest found his room clean and comfortable we are sorry that he experienced problems with his wifi. However, I should point out that his room was the closest to the router and that as he said there was no problem with the signal. We did attempt to help him connect but we are hoteliers and do not have detailed IT knowledge when it comes to individual devices and their ability to connect to the network. If he needed further assistance we were available and on check in he was shown a bell which is specifically there for guests when no member of staff is apparently around. He seemed to choose not to use it.

Reviewed by
Mike Bird

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sumptuous Somerville
Mine was a very quick selection the night before travelling down to Devon on business and boy did i make the right choice! Appreciate it is winter and Torquay isn't the most attractive of riviera winter breaks but nonetheless i travel the length and breadth of UK and the Somerville was outstanding value. The welcome was perfect, little touches like home baked cookies don't go a miss either and the selection of breakfast foods was delicious. I'll be back and no doubt bringing colleagues next time.

Reviewed by
Gareth W

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next