Reviews - The Somerville & Torquay Holiday Lettings


515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay, TQ1 1HJ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (18)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • July 2014

Fabulous.. The Sommerville was superb from start to end.

Food was delicious, continental breakfast was divine, fruits, cereals and choices upon choices, all top quality and displayed beautifully.

Then wonderful locally produced tea with a superb meat or vegetarian full English breakfast with toast galore and fresh orange juice.... Cooked brilliantly.. Thank you, food heaven, truly. Service was considerate, polite and professional while maintaining friendliness. The decor was really fab, very over the top, opulent, loved the mirrors and cherubs, delightful, our room was wonderfully furnished, immaculately tidy and comfortable. It was very hot and sunny all weekend so the tall, very quiet air fan was very welcomed. The host was polite and friendly, there was a fresh and scrummy selection of cakes freely available each day such as carrot cake, chocolate cake, brownies etc all very delicious too. We couldn't find anything but good about our stay as the weather was fabulous too. Thank you to the very professionally minded owners, clearly top of their game in hosting, a truly 5 star B & B experience, better than most hotels we've stayed in.

  • Maurice Greenslade

  • June 2014

Great week at the Somerville

Adam & Grant at the Somerville were very good, We met Adam on arrival and he removed our cases from the car and took them straight to the rooms, My partner and I were really impressed with the suite we had.

The food was very good and fresh. We would recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for something a little bit special. The staff were friendly and very helpful and everybody at the place made you feel welcome and comfortable. Thank you Adam & Grant for a great week.

  • Adams

  • April 2014

Simply The Best

The Somerville is very welcoming and has some wonderful small touches which make the stay that much more enjoyable like a complementary fruit bowl, afternoon cakes and fresh milk.

The breakfasts are also amazing and really set you up for the day. It's in a great location close to all amenities and the owners gave us some great advise on good places to visit which were really appreciated. We will definitely return again.

  • Eileen S

  • April 2014

Good place to stay

Nice hotel, very clean.

Good selection for breakfast, very well cooked. Friendly hosts. Not too far from harbour.

  • R McDonald

  • January 2014

Gorgeous and stylish B&B

We stayed here to see our first new year in together as a married couple and it was everything we had hoped for.

Having never been to Torquay before, I didn't know where to begin my search and when I found this b&b I thought it would suit us perfectly for a quiet new years eve after a dinner out and a short stroll back to our room. They couldn't have been more helpful both on the phone and when we arrived. It was so nice to be greeted by a well spoken gentleman who was more than willing to help us in any way he could.

The room was luxurious with great products in the bathroom and lovely little touches (like the sweets in the glass!)

The breakfast was absolutely delicious; excellent presentation, fantastic choice and everything was cooked perfectly. We hadn't planned on returning but on our departure both my husband and I said that we would love to come back and stay at The Somerville. Thank you for helping to make our first new years eve together a memorable one.

  • Neil M

  • November 2013

First Class Experience

I have stayed in 2 B&B's a month for the last 7 years and this is probably the best in all.

Fantastic accommodation, really helpful but not intrusive hosts and the breakfast was excellent. The yogurt bar was stunning for breakfast. I would recommend this establishment to everybody.

  • E Lucas

  • November 2013


What a place.

Surpassed all my expectations. Beautiful, comfortable, clean room, attention to detail was impeccable (fresh milk, cookies, local guide literature, loads of artwork on the walls, beautiful furniture, friendly team of staff). Breakfast blew my mind (dried apricots soaked in a star anise syrup, need I say more...!) and a lovely breakfast room too.

Such a well run, organised, fabulous fabulous place -loved it. THANK YOU SOMERVILLE!

  • Andy W

  • October 2013


Probably the best B&B in Torquay.

Just 5 minutes walk from the town centre, with it's own off street parking. Very comfortable bed & clean linen, good shower, & a very special breakfast. I hope to return in the near future.