No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dashwood Restaurant, Rooms and Bar

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
SOUTH GREEN , KIRTLINGTON, OX5 3HJ
Nestling in the beautiful North Oxfordshire village of Kirtlington near Bicester, The Dashwood Hotel is a historic grade II listed coaching house now serving as a restaurant and bar with hotel rooms.

With an award winning kitchen led by our head chef Tim Potten, the restaurant has a firm reputation for excellent food with a creative flair. If you are looking for a place to stay for business or leisure, our contemporary rooms offer a peaceful place in which to unwind.

The surrounding area offers a wealth of sights, activities and heritage with Oxford, Woodstock's Blenheim Palace and the popular Bicester Village Designer Outlet Shopping Centre all on the doorstep.
Picture of Dashwood Restaurant, Rooms and Bar, KIRTLINGTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel

Reviewed by
alan dowling

From North Walsham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room with everything you would need for a weekend away. Hotel in a quiet location. We opted not to have breakfast as we thought it was a bit too pricey.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us at The Dashwood. With reference to your comment on our breakfast being “a bit too pricy” for you – this may be due to the fact that it is not clearly explained on the LateRooms website due to limitations imposed on us, understandably by LateRooms with regard to lengthily descriptions. We welcome and encourage feedback from all our guests and I am happy to provide an explanation as to why we believe our breakfast is of a superior quality and value for money. Our continental Breakfast at £8.00pp: Includes an unlimited extensive selection of the following: Teas, including English Breakfast, Earl Grey, Fruit and Herbal tea, Douwe Egberts cafetiere, filtered or decaffeinated coffee, selection of fruit juices, Cereals, piping hot soft fresh assorted baked pastries, chefs homemade mixed fruit and nut muesli, delightful choice of quality individually bottled jams, preserves and spreads including an excellent selection of individually portioned and bottled yogurts along with warm toast and Netherland Farm Gloucestershire butter. For £4 extra pp you can enjoy a fine Full English breakfast prepared to order for you by one of our highly trained and experienced chefs. We try to keep our breakfasts as healthy as possible and prefer to grill most items as opposed to frying them; The Cooked English breakfast offers the following: Grilled Oaked Smoked Bacon, succulent meaty grilled pork sausage, grilled plum tomato, large grilled filed mushrooms, Clonakilty Black Pudding, fried bread all served with fresh free range farm eggs cooked to your liking. At The Dashwood we are proud of our quality produce breakfast and you can be assured that our Head Chef, Tim Potten ensures the standard of our breakfast is of the same quality and high standard in terms of quality produce and offer as is our A la carte menu. Of course the benefit of having highly trained chefs to prepare your breakfast meals is that, for those who have special dietary requirements or would like some exciting vegetarian options, they are on hand to help. The majority of our guests have breakfast with us and am happy to say are very complimentary, many of them taking the time to mention it in their review either on the LateRooms website or Tripadvisor, I am only sorry that you did not choose to sample it for yourself. Based on your positive review, I hope that you will consider us again when you are next planning to visit the area – we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind regards, Scott Patterson

Reviewed by
Kirsty N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very nice stay, at a very good price!
A lovely hotel situated in a really quiet village.
Extremely welcoming on arrival, showed us to our room rather than just point us somewhere in the direction.
Got chatting when we were checking in and when he found out we were going to Bicester shopping outlet on the day after, he gave us 2 10% VIP vouchers which we used in all the shops we went in.
The room was really nice and clean and the bathroom too. Would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone. We said we would use it again if we go to Oxford.

Reviewed by
Richard G

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room decent food nice little hotel

Reviewed by
m levy

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Lovely room in a small friendly hotel with great food.

Reviewed by
Susan B

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel in easy reach of Oxford
Very nice room in a lovely, quiet hotel. Lovely breakfast and good service.

Reviewed by
Lesley G

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place to stay
my boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel on route to the British Grand Prix. We got to the hotel pretty late (around 10pm) and were able to check in, which was great.
The place was really pretty, it has a restaurant/pub attached which is very convenient and surprisingly quiet for a Friday night (but due our late arrival we didn't sample it).
The room and ensuite was absolutely lovely, the bed was very comfortable. The room could be seen a little small but for us it was prefect.
We had to leave very early in the morning to go to Formula One, (around half 7) but unfortunately the reception was closed, and at the same time a food delivery van arrived and no one was there to greet him so he had to leave the food outside the door. As we were in a hurry to leave I attached my card key to the window with a note from me. They never rang me or charged me, so must of been ok by them!!!

Reviewed by
C LEWIS

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food
Staff were really friendly and welcoming. Dinner was fabulous, top notch stuff fairly reasonably priced. Just slightly disappointed i didn't get to try the cheese soufflé, although the baked camembert was good. Room was a little noisy from other guests opening doors though.

Reviewed by
Katherine M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful
Always a pleasure to stay at The Dashwood, the rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, comfy bed, good shower food and service are excellent

Reviewed by
Fiona R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean & quit place to stay. Food first class however, breakfast at £12.95 is a bit steep.
Take £5 off and it would be a better deal.
Nice staff & friendly welcome. I arrived earlier than expected and the room wasn't ready but the owner kindly gave me a complementary coffee while I waited and the room was ready in 10 minutes.
One small point, the bedroom could do with a low wattage night light as the lights above your head hurt your eyes if you get up in the night. Other than that, no problem with the room.
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Geoff H

From Halesworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next