Reviews - Sudbury House


56 London Street, Faringdon, SN7 8AA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (19)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Peter G

  • August 2015

Wish I could have stayed longer

My room was spacious, clean, new looking fittings and furnishing, good size bathroom, really nice, heading towards luxurious...

I didn't have a chance to sample any food unfortunately.

  • Nic S

  • January 2015

Very good - and improved since last visit

We only spent one night here between Christmas and the New Year, visiting relatives close by.

We were impressed the last time we stayed by the helpfulness of the staff and this has not changed. We had asked for one of the three rooms booked to have a walk-in shower and, in fact, were given all three with walk-in showers. These had recently been fully re-furbished to a good standard as part of their rolling programme of refurbishment. The breakfast room was much improved having also been re-furbished since our last visit. It was a quiet time to visit with few guests but they are certainly making steady improvements.

We did not eat dinner here, but the breakfast was good and substantial (good bacon!)

The hotel is good value with exceptional service. We will use again and can recommend it.

  • A Whittle

  • December 2014


Having stayed here before we knew it was a hotel looking tired, but it's situation was very convenient for us.

However we were very pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel had undergone a major refurbishment and was nearly finished. The room was lovely, and so were the staff. It is a such a lovely

Location that it needs to be cherished.

  • Rob W

  • October 2014


I was bitterly disappointed when I checked in to discover the gym was being refurbished.

I specifically look for a hotel with a gym and spa so to have booked and then to be told on check in that it was closed is very poor. I don't know who is to blame between the hotel and late rooms but I will ensure I don't fall into this trap again.

  • Elizabeth G

  • October 2014

Great staff and a warm welcome!

The staff at Sudbury House could not have done more to make us feel welcome.

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment but this in no way detracted from the enjoyment of our visit and if the quality of our refurbished room is an indication of the finished project I can only say that we look forward to our next stay!

  • Dave H

  • October 2014

Decent Quality accomadation. Polite and efficient staff

  • paul a

  • September 2014

Couldn't get anything to eat after travelling 4 hours

We checked in, showered and headed down to bar for something to eat at 4.30pm, only to be told the chef had gone home and there were no snacks available, not even crisps/nuts behind the bar.

Chef was due back at 6pm and we did finally get something to eat. Room was clean - bed very comfy, breakfast good. Could do with washing moudly net curtains in room and fixing broken fixtures/fittings. There was also a large electrical cupboard near our room with the doors wide open and children running around. A neighbour said this had been reported the night before but still open in the morning. Overall had a great stay, but hotel could do with little TLC and to make sure guests are able to have something to eat.

  • J Hill

  • September 2014

Lovely hotel and grounds. Very helpful staff. Reasonably dog friendly.

I stayed at Sudbury House with my little dog and would definitely stay again.

The hotel is easy to find, good parking and access. I stayed with my little dog who was made welcome by the receptionists. Great communication with Rachel before I arrived who arranged a brilliant room for me with easy access outside to the extensive grassed areas. All staff were very helpful and the room was lovely with a maasively comfortable bed. The few issues I did have were quickly remedied by friendly staff. The only slight negative was that there wasn't anywhere for me to sit and eat with my dog, not even in the bar area. I was offered a seat in reception but I wouldn't have felt comfortable eating there so had my meals delivered to my room instead which was OK. Overall, a lovely place to stay with dogs, near to some lovely places to walk and easy access outside.

  • G Price

  • August 2014

Stay experience

Exellent stay,staff exellent especially Julia, we had the taster menu - absolutely super - service second to none we intend to return in the not too distant future

  • David Hughes

  • August 2014


The hotel was excellent and the staff were exceptionally pleasant as per the comments on Tripadvisor.

The food was absolutely superb ( in fact as an ex chef I even used the word divine for the first time following dinner on the Saturday evening). We had no complaints whatsoever and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Cotswolds.