No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sudbury House

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
56 London Street , Faringdon, SN7 8AA
The Sudbury House Hotel nestles on the edge of the Cotswolds in the pretty market town of Faringdon, the hotel is midway between Oxford and Swindon, just off the A420 and within easy reach of the M4 and M40.

February 2014 sees the exciting launch of our new fine dining restaurant with Michelin star winning Executive Head Chef, Andrew Scott. Booking essential, please call us for more details.

All 49 bedrooms are ensuite with free internet access, tea and coffee tray, ironing facilities, desk and direct dial telephones. Our award winning restaurant offers a variety of menu choices to suit all tastes and budgets and you can relax in our lounge bar or if the weather is good, enjoy a drink or meal in our peaceful grounds

Whether you want to escape to the Cotswolds countryside, have business in the area or seek out the sights in the cities and towns, you can have it all at the Sudbury House.
Picture of Sudbury House, Faringdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Refurbishment
I was bitterly disappointed when I checked in to discover the gym was being refurbished. I specifically look for a hotel with a gym and spa so to have booked and then to be told on check in that it was closed is very poor. I don't know who is to blame between the hotel and late rooms but I will ensure I don't fall into this trap again.

Reviewed by
Rob W

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff and a warm welcome!
The staff at Sudbury House could not have done more to make us feel welcome. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment but this in no way detracted from the enjoyment of our visit and if the quality of our refurbished room is an indication of the finished project I can only say that we look forward to our next stay!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth G

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent Quality accomadation. Polite and efficient staff

Reviewed by
Dave H

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't get anything to eat after travelling 4 hours
We checked in, showered and headed down to bar for something to eat at 4.30pm, only to be told the chef had gone home and there were no snacks available, not even crisps/nuts behind the bar. Chef was due back at 6pm and we did finally get something to eat.
Room was clean - bed very comfy, breakfast good.
Could do with washing moudly net curtains in room and fixing broken fixtures/fittings. There was also a large electrical cupboard near our room with the doors wide open and children running around. A neighbour said this had been reported the night before but still open in the morning.
Overall had a great stay, but hotel could do with little TLC and to make sure guests are able to have something to eat.

Reviewed by
paul a

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and grounds. Very helpful staff. Reasonably dog friendly.
I stayed at Sudbury House with my little dog and would definitely stay again.
The hotel is easy to find, good parking and access. I stayed with my little dog who was made welcome by the receptionists. Great communication with Rachel before I arrived who arranged a brilliant room for me with easy access outside to the extensive grassed areas.
All staff were very helpful and the room was lovely with a maasively comfortable bed! The few issues I did have were quickly remedied by friendly staff.
The only slight negative was that there wasn't anywhere for me to sit and eat with my dog, not even in the bar area. I was offered a seat in reception but I wouldn't have felt comfortable eating there so had my meals delivered to my room instead which was OK.
Overall, a lovely place to stay with dogs, near to some lovely places to walk and easy access outside.

Reviewed by
J Hill

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay experience
Exellent stay,staff exellent especially Julia, we had the taster menu - absolutely super - service second to none we intend to return in the not too distant future

Reviewed by
G Price

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
Glad to find a pet friendly hotel but disappointed that the hotel website fails to mention the extra payment for our dog to stay. On the whole a nice room and hotel that we would go back to, good breakfast and surrounds. The early morning dog walking in the grounds was pleasent with a good area of grass to walk around, the night walk was also good as plenty of lights lit up the gardens.

Reviewed by
Gary F

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality
The hotel was excellent and the staff were exceptionally pleasant as per the comments on Tripadvisor. The food was absolutely superb ( in fact as an ex chef I even used the word divine for the first time following dinner on the Saturday evening). We had no complaints whatsoever and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Cotswolds.

Reviewed by
David Hughes

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very pleasant hotel.
We were visiting the local RIAT airshow and just wanted a bed for the night before. However, we thought this was a delightful hotel, very welcoming and helpful staff and with a most pleasant ambiance overall.

Reviewed by
C Beckwith

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Weekend
I had no idea what to expect just booked, after reading some of the reviews, which sometime can miss lead you ? but I am please to say it was very good, lots of parking, all the staff were very helpful and polite, happy and interested in making the guests feel at ease, nice surroundings great food, a good selection to choose from, made my weekend, a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Kenneth B

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next