No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sudbury House

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
56 London Street , Faringdon, SN7 8AA
The Sudbury House Hotel nestles on the edge of the Cotswolds in the pretty market town of Faringdon, the hotel is midway between Oxford and Swindon, just off the A420 and within easy reach of the M4 and M40.

February 2014 sees the exciting launch of our new fine dining restaurant with Michelin star winning Executive Head Chef, Andrew Scott. Booking essential, please call us for more details.

All 49 bedrooms are ensuite with free internet access, tea and coffee tray, ironing facilities, desk and direct dial telephones. Our award winning restaurant offers a variety of menu choices to suit all tastes and budgets and you can relax in our lounge bar or if the weather is good, enjoy a drink or meal in our peaceful grounds

Whether you want to escape to the Cotswolds countryside, have business in the area or seek out the sights in the cities and towns, you can have it all at the Sudbury House.
Picture of Sudbury House, Faringdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Weekend
I had no idea what to expect just booked, after reading some of the reviews, which sometime can miss lead you ? but I am please to say it was very good, lots of parking, all the staff were very helpful and polite, happy and interested in making the guests feel at ease, nice surroundings great food, a good selection to choose from, made my weekend, a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Kenneth B

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location and nice hotel
This hotel, currently undergoing some refurbishment, is very pleasant and located just on the edge of Faringdon. As well as dining in the excellent hotel dining room, Faringdon has a number of pubs and restaurants.

Reviewed by
Trevor P

From Hailsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!
Smashing hotel! Room was lovely a clean. Food very nice, just a shame there wasn't a bit more of it.

Reviewed by
E South

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service at breakfast was very slow and had to ask for toast a couple of times, not a lot to choose from and it was another 45minutes to the end of service. Room was very nice and bed was comfortable and although there was a function on you could not hear any noise.

Reviewed by
a seager

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything about our stay was brilliant, food staff the lot,will stay again.

Reviewed by
g holman

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sudbury House Hotel Farringdon
A nice quiet hotel just out of the town centre of Farringdon, the hotel staff were friendly. The hotel provides good car parking amenities and hotel grounds were pretty. Breakfast was included in the room cost but sometimes not enough food on the breakfast self serve area, probably to avoid waste. Some other guests had to wait a bit too long whilst more was cooked, also a little confusing if you wanted something else to start the day. The hotel receptionist praised the Michelin stared chef as he had rave reviews in foody mags normally reviewing London restaurants, but because the Hotel was our base to explore the area, we ate out in the local villages and did not eat in the hotel restaurant. The rooms were clean, but tired and furniture looked dated. The hotel receptionist claimed the hotel was about to undergo a revamp of all the rooms and frontage of hotel reception. overall I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Reviewed by
David S

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely, couldn't fault it. The price of the room was a little expensive seeing as there wasn't much in the way of gym/swimming pool etc, but a lovely clean hotel.

Reviewed by
Kendra B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great nights stay
thoroughly enjoyable stay, all staff very friendly and helpful. Room really nice, clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
david s

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic food
Had a lovely stay at the hotel room nice bed really comfortable great nights sleep. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant great service and amazing food.

Reviewed by
C Grayling

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place to sleep
when I stay again I will be going out for my evening meal I had stake an 4 chips the chips stacked like bricks the soup could have been cupa soup the meal was expensive the hotel is good value for money the breakfast is self service but fresh. good place to sleep but go out for your evening meal.

Reviewed by
l parker

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next