No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bath Arms

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Horningsham , Warminster, BA12 7LY
Located on the magnificent Longleat Estate, not far from Longleat Safari park and within easy reach of Bath, Salisbury and Stonehenge this Stylish boutique hotel offers, free Wi-Fi in public areas, a two AA Rosette Awarded Restaurants. With stunning individually designed rooms, simple but perfectly cooked modern british cusine and a friendly, relaxed atmosphere The Bath Arms is the perfect place for guests looking for a relaxing break in the country, where nothing is too much trouble.
The design, look and furnishings in each of the properties 15 bedrooms are completely unique. Designed by Miv Watts, the noted interior designer, the unique rooms all have distinctively individual looks with effective use of lighting and colour. Each room has en-suite facilities, Flat screen TVs with a range of digital channels, DVD players and complementary designer toiletries. Several of the rooms have been specifically designed to accommodate cots and small children’s beds. Overall, the emphasis is on comfort, luxury, functionality and a healthy pinch of eccentricity.

The team of talented chefs offer simple and beautifully cooked British at a reasonable price. The hotel believes making the most of local produce and using local suppliers is at the heart of the hotel's ethos and their aim is for the main raw ingredients of each dish to be supplied from within 50 miles of the hotel. There is an emphasis on traditional preserving methods - smoking, curing, potting and pickling, etc - and on the use of game, fish, rare breed and offal. The chefs combine all these ingredients to create an original and sumptuous menu, with dishes to suit every palate.

The Bath Arms sits in an area of exceptional and unspoilt beauty, in addition to the magnificent Longleat estate, the surrounding counties, Wiltshire, Somerset and Dorset, each contain their own unique assortment of stately homes, historic monuments and many other attractions. Stourhead House and Gardens, Wilton House and Ilford Manor are just minutes away by car and each has some of the most splendid gardens in the country, if not the world. The World Heritage Site of Stonehenge is only a thirty minute drive away and of course who could forget the Longleat House and Safari park which is less than a kilometre from the hotel.
Picture of Bath Arms, Warminster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Right on doorstep for Longleat Safari Park
Lovely hotel but could do with a refresh. Food was brilliant (costly but worth it)

Reviewed by
Andrew Hunt

From St Columb, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our evening meal was brilliant but breakfast let it down

Reviewed by
j latimer

From swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bath Arms
Excellent country pub in lovely setting. Friendly staff - excellent evening meal and breakfast. Would suit couples. Very convenient for Longleat. Very impressed !

Reviewed by
John T

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A memoriable stay, lovely comfortable bed, nice lighting, decor, friendly staff, everything we expected and more.

Reviewed by
C Bailey

From Newton le Willows, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky? Tacky more like
In hindsight, the warning signs were there from the moment we arrived. Initially there was no sign of our booking although this was quickly rectified. Then when we went to our room,there was an envelope propped on the bed but addressed to someone else. When I took this to reception, they told us that this guest had arrived the previous day!
The superior double room was a sad disappointment. The decor was not quirky, just plain tacky more akin tow student bedsit with cheap pictures etc. There was a lot of furniture burnout much of it was very functional. The wardrobe had no full length hanging space, the TV was too low to bee seen from bed but there was no armchair or sofa. There was a nicely appointed seating area on the landing but as this was sadly not heated, was not an option for sitting in.
Breakfast was included and the cooked breakfast was good quality though the buffet selection was a bit sparse. We had one evening meal and the food was again very good, if a bit on the small side and definitely pricey forwent it was. Although a couple of the staff were very friendly and appropriate, others could definitely learn the benefits of the occasional smile!
There was also one occasion when our room wasn't serviced and we had to call and wait for this to be resolved with a quick change of crockery and towels when requested.
Our visit was littered with a flurry of minor irritations but they all contributed to a disappointing stay. TheBath Arms did not live up to its aspirations - but our impression was seriously coloured by our disappointing room. Avoid staying in room 2 that they call Karma Sutra - maybe the other rooms pulled off the quirky theme more successfully!

Reviewed by
Peter

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good service, friendly staff. In terms of the room (the twin room), the decor was a little basic (scratchy carpet, more like a mat) and room arranged so the tv was round the corner from the bathroom, out of view. But the selection of teas, coffees, biscuits and mineral waters provided were excellent. The room itself was very clean. In the bathroom, the toilet had not been flushed since last use which was very off-putting, but the toilet seat, surrounds and bathroom otherwise seemed to have been cleaned. The toiletries provided were also good. I would recommend a stay here to friends overall. Very good value for money. The food was lovely as well and the breakfast had a wide range of options. Conveniently located near to Longleat and the Aqua Sana spa at Centerparcs. I would definitely stay here again (assuming the toilet slip-up was a one-off!)

Reviewed by
hilary t

From England
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace
This hotel is I suspect unsung.... its location in the heart of Wiltshire really is something, quiet, well presented, staff are jovial, helpful, well mannered and in a way, quiet - un pushy so to speak.
Room was pretty good for the money I paid.
The food however is good quality and uncomplicated, a real surprise....
Consistent throughout and I would have no hesitations in staying again.
JR

Reviewed by
Jonathan R

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything is just right, food, room,location, can not fault anything, really enjoy staying there, shame to have to share it really

Reviewed by
b boyle

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great get away with lots in the area to see & do.
The Bath Arms is very welcoming and set in a lovely area.
The food was superb and the rooms luxurious. I travelled with my dog and he was made to feel welcome too, with his own little bed.
I would recommend staying here and hopefully I shall again.

Reviewed by
Lois Curtis

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accommodation
Great food, great beer and a comfortable room all at a reasonable price.

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Ringwood, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4