Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > George Street Edinburgh Hotels > Crowne Plaza Edinburgh The Roxburghe Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crowne Plaza Edinburgh The Roxburghe Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh, EH2 4HQ
Centrally located on Edinburgh’s famous Charlotte Square, the iconic Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe is at the very heart of Edinburgh’s beautiful new town. The hotel is situated between Princes Street and George Street, only meters from bars, restaurants, shops and gardens.

Functional and luxurious, the hotel is the ideal choice for both business and leisure guests alike. With its mix of contemporary and traditional this grand Georgian hotel offers a palatial starting point for exploring the historic city of Edinburgh. Guests of Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe can enjoy 24 hour room service, high speed internet and docking stations as well as complimentary access to the Health and Fitness Suite, pool, sauna and gym. Guests are invited to start their day with a Scottish breakfast in the hotel restaurant, and to wind-down at the end of a long day in the bar and grill; where sumptuous locally sourced Scottish steaks are a specialty.

Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – The Roxburghe is located less than one mile from Waverley Train Station and only nine miles from Edinburgh International Airport making it the ideal base from which to explore Edinburgh and surrounding Scotland, whatever your reason for visiting.
Picture of Crowne Plaza Edinburgh The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of food
I had the chicken for an evening meal and it was a bit dry. Unfortunately the following morning there was no salt or pepper on the table at breakfast time. I asked for the condiments and was given two salts, I didn't realise and ended up ruining my breakfast. The maître d did say to my waitress to bring another but I'm diabetic, I had taken my insulin and it would've been too late to eat. I just filled up on toast. I wasn't offered a refund on my breakfast

Reviewed by
Jane Trayte

From Alexandria, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh at half term
From stepping into the Hotel until leaving the next day the service was excellent and the room was fantastic with a view of the castle -will definitely return

Reviewed by
D B

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday weekend celebration
Location of hotel was perfect for city centre, enjoyed the spa, breakfast was good although we had to queue for 10 mins as it was busy. Ordered room service. It was quick and the food we ordered was lovely.Im looking forward to visiting this hotel again.

Reviewed by
monica m

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel.
The hotel and staff were excellent.

Reviewed by
R CUMMINGS

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I arrived late at night so i couldn't find the car park (nothing on the website stated where it was) I had to leave my car on the main road only then to be told i had to book a parking space. I asked to leave my car all day the following day whilst working but nobody seemed to have answers. There was only one staff member checking in and several people waiting which wasn't good after a 4 hour drive! That said the hotel was clean, the room was lovely & everything i needed was available. It was close to the centre and the staff were much more helpful in the morning with directions and taking care of luggage etc.

ManagementResponse

Dear N Fellows, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I am pleased to read that the room accommodation and cleanliness suited you well. It is unfortunate the parking situation and level of service received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do take these reviews seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Sincerely, Charisse, IHG Care

Reviewed by
N Fellows

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2-night stay to see the commonwealth games
Friendly staff and very welcoming and accommodating. We even managed to check in beofre the specified time which was much appreciated.

Reviewed by
Linda W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Roxbugh Hotel
Had a great time, the room was clean and the staff are very helpful

Reviewed by
C Davies

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Disappointed
Our stay at Crowne Plaza was awful. Booked club room, with access to club lounge. What they don't mention is that it's only between 630-730pm. Prom on at same time as we stayed so room was noisy. Asked to be moved room but was told that there were no more rooms left, yet when we tried, we could still book a room online. Will never stay again.

ManagementResponse

Dear R Fleming, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
R Fleming

From Newton Stewart, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location very good hotel
Stayed here a couple of times recently - love the location so easy to get around town from here and a pleasant walk from the station if arriving by train. Welcome excellent - reception staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms comfortable, well appointed and spotless. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Graeme D

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel but the leisure facilities included in the price were below par and very noisy at night!
We enjoyed our stay but expected a little more for the price paid. The customer service was excellent but if your hotel bedroom backs on to the lively young street then be prepared to not get any sleep until after 2.30am. Also, unfortunately the residents in the rooms next to ours were banging doors until 3am which also kept us awake. The compromise for the lack of sleep is the location as you are in the heart of Edinburgh close to all the points of interest. If you are not considering paying extra for the spar facilities I would not bother bring leisure clothing as the pool is freesing cold and to small for the amount of residents and public using it (we went when a public swimming lesson was taking place and was limited to a small section of the pool), the changing facilities were also very small and dirty. So, best advice for booking if you stay at this hotel is request a room in the old part of the building away from young street and if your booking this hotel just because it has a pool, dont bother as it is not worth the premium you pay. Other than that enjoy your stay!

ManagementResponse

Dear Christopher B, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the noise challenges you had. We also regret the issues you encountered surrounding the use of our swimming pool. We have taken note of the points you've raised and these will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. Sincerely, Joel, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Christopher B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next