No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Station Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Castle Hill , Dudley, DY1 4RA
Nestled in the heart of the Midlands, just 5 minutes from Junction 2 of the M5 and opposite Dudley Zoo & Castle, this charming Hotel offers a warm friendly welcome, free Wi-Fi and parking.

The Hotel has a long and storied past and its grand staircase, high ceilings and tall windows evoke the traditional ambience of a bygone era.

Each of the en-suite bedrooms are comfortable and well appointed and they include free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities.

The Restaurant offers an extensive selection of fine food and wine all served in stylish and sophisticated surroundings. There is also a Lounge Bar leading onto an impressive conservatory where guests can relax and enjoy a few drinks with friends.

The Hotel is perfect positioned for those wishing to explore the historic Black Country and it’s just a short distance from The Black Country Museum, Merry Hill Centre and Birmingham City Centre.

Picture of Station Hotel, Dudley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booking in was simple and quick. The bed was comfortable and clean. Road noise was not as bad as we thought it would be (but we were on 2nd floor). Although it was good to see self service at breakfast the choice was limited and it would have been better with fresh rolls/bread. Only given a cup of tea rather than a pot with additional hot water. Plenty of free parking.Could be a really nice hotel with some refurbishment

Reviewed by
Rosemary Clarke

From Brixham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good old fashioned hotel but could do with some TLC.
Staff friendly and helpful
Large helpings and good quality food.

Reviewed by
R Jewell

From Ebbw Vale, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dated
We were first put in a big room on the second floor at the front of the hotel which is situated on a main road junction. By 1am and still no sleep my husband went to reception to ask them for a quieter room or I was prepared to move hotels They moved us to a much smaller room at the back of hotel where it was quiet but very cramped and dated. No compensation was offered We had two nights there but wouldn't stay there again.

Reviewed by
Julie C

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
You get what you pay for, and this was a budget stop-over. Clean enough, tidy enough but tired...nothing wrong with it; just nothing to shout about either

Reviewed by
P W

From Camelford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomodation as expected, clean, ideal location for our needs, attending family party and visiting other relatives in the area. We were told by other people hotel was haunted but no one came to visit us while we stayed there.

Reviewed by
susan h

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the most promising prospect from the outside - could do with some tender loving care. Once inside however, the staff could not have been more helpful or courteous. There is no hiding the fact that this is an old hotel but it was clean and comfortable with plenty of parking. No frills such as toiletries or internet. Perfect for an overnight stay.

Reviewed by
L Rose

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Station Hotel, Dudley
Specifically booked this hotel because of it's close proximity to the zoo which we were visiting. The hotel was clean, good food and staff very friendly. The building itself is impressive and has an interesting history. I would recommend this hotel to others for an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
T Handley

From Maesteg, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hears johnny

Reviewed by
samuel r

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Stayed at the Station for one night in a single room. It is true to say the room I had is no premier inn, but I knew this when paying less than half their price. This place is so cheap, its cheaper for me to book a night there than get a taxi home to Wolverhampton!! Have stayed here twice this year and staff always very friendly and the room does what is says on the tin. Will be staying their again for sure.

Reviewed by
Alan L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Station Hotel Dudley
I only stayed for one night, booked a single room the room was great clean tidy everything i needed for the night.

Reviewed by
N Smith

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next