No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Station Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Castle Hill , Dudley, DY1 4RA
Nestled in the heart of the Midlands, just 5 minutes from Junction 2 of the M5 and opposite Dudley Zoo & Castle, this charming Hotel offers a warm friendly welcome, free Wi-Fi and parking.

The Hotel has a long and storied past and its grand staircase, high ceilings and tall windows evoke the traditional ambience of a bygone era.

Each of the en-suite bedrooms are comfortable and well appointed and they include free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities.

The Restaurant offers an extensive selection of fine food and wine all served in stylish and sophisticated surroundings. There is also a Lounge Bar leading onto an impressive conservatory where guests can relax and enjoy a few drinks with friends.

The Hotel is perfect positioned for those wishing to explore the historic Black Country and it’s just a short distance from The Black Country Museum, Merry Hill Centre and Birmingham City Centre.

Picture of Station Hotel, Dudley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Be aware that breakfast is extra, and tea or coffee. Room OK. Food not bad.

Reviewed by
C Ives

From Sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot and stuffy
The hotel was clean and the beds comfy but that's about it. It's so stuffy in the rooms and once the sun gets on them it's unbearable. I did ask for a fan but we decided to leave early instead. The noise from the main road makes sleeping difficult but that's not the hotels fault. The general 'grubbiness' of the outside of the building and it's grounds could be easily sorted with a bit of pride and a broom and paintbrush..!!
Having said all that, the staff were friendly enough and the hotel is well placed for the Black Country museum and the Zoo.

Reviewed by
lynda p

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Very tired hotel bathrooms were a bit dirty the tiles could do with a good wash old is ok but they can still be cleaned.
My friends had the all you can eat breakfast but it was not made clear that coffee and orange was charged on top per cup/glass not a problem but should be pointed out

Reviewed by
A Brown

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok but tired
room was spacious, but tired, still no complaints, it would be nice to see the hotel get a professional standard makeover instead of being patched up. other than that it was good value.

Reviewed by
a cartwright

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, friendly but dated hotel
The room was a decent size despite being a single, hotel was dated but it was mostly well maintained (better than some modern hotels i've stayed in nearby) and very clean. Rooms were bright are airy. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was good. Can't fault it for the price

Reviewed by
m smith

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 214. Scary as hell. Do not sleep in this room.

Reviewed by
a jones

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booking in was simple and quick. The bed was comfortable and clean. Road noise was not as bad as we thought it would be (but we were on 2nd floor). Although it was good to see self service at breakfast the choice was limited and it would have been better with fresh rolls/bread. Only given a cup of tea rather than a pot with additional hot water. Plenty of free parking.Could be a really nice hotel with some refurbishment

Reviewed by
Rosemary Clarke

From Brixham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good old fashioned hotel but could do with some TLC.
Staff friendly and helpful
Large helpings and good quality food.

Reviewed by
R Jewell

From Ebbw Vale, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dated
We were first put in a big room on the second floor at the front of the hotel which is situated on a main road junction. By 1am and still no sleep my husband went to reception to ask them for a quieter room or I was prepared to move hotels They moved us to a much smaller room at the back of hotel where it was quiet but very cramped and dated. No compensation was offered We had two nights there but wouldn't stay there again.

Reviewed by
Julie C

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
You get what you pay for, and this was a budget stop-over. Clean enough, tidy enough but tired...nothing wrong with it; just nothing to shout about either

Reviewed by
P W

From Camelford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next