No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Moddershall Oaks

5Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
MODDERSHALL HOUSE, , STONE, ST15 8TG

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "Being pampered at this peaceful secluded spa in the Staffordshire countryside."

NO CHILDREN STRICTLY 16+/ALL ROOMS NON-SMOKING /LATEST CHECK-IN AT 21.00
Set in over 70 acres of some of Staffordshires most beautiful countryside Moddershall Oaks is a stunning base to operate from. Offering luxury Spa breaks, top notch business hotel or a central location to all tourist places of interest including Alton Towers, Wedgwood, Royal Doulton, Uttoxetter Racecourse etc.

Each Luxury suite has;

Underfloor heating throughout
Luxury en-suite bathrooms, bedroom area and lounge area with soft seating and patio doors leading out to a private deck with covered seating area.
High quality in-room entertainment with LCD wall-mounted TVs with CD/DVD player.
Access to an outdoor hot tub.

Our deluxe suite is a larger room with a walk in shower and spa bath
Our master suite is a larger room with a four-poster bed, desk, double terrace, walk in shower and spa bath
When you want to stay in style nowhere will beat Moddershall.

Picture of Moddershall Oaks, STONE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely recommend!!
My boyfriend and I were heading to Alton Towers for his birthday and wanted to stay at a spa hotel the night before. This hotel was everything we were looking for; excellent facilities for a relaxing stay, fantastic customer service, and delicious food!

Reviewed by
Kerry M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Found a Diamond
From the second we checked in to the moment we left we had an amazing time, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful secluded location and great rooms. Relaxed in the outdoor heated spa drinking champagne on the evening, loaned a couple of cycles for a morning ride before we ate breakfast outside overlooking the beautiful gardens and lake. Only wish we had more time to appreciate the range of facilities available.
A diamond of a place we will certainly go out of our way to visit again.

Reviewed by
Stuart M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing, quality experience
What a lovely place, a comprehensive tour and explanation of facilities given. Great suite and spa facilities. Inclusive breakfast good quality. Used on sit restaurant - it was great, really delicious meal. Renovations were taking place for spa extension, didn't impact stay at all. Even the builders had a friendly hello if you passed them. Will go again for sure.

Reviewed by
M McDonald - Junor

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Magical Modershall one of the best stays anywhere
From arrival to check out this hotel/spa has to be one of if not the best stays I have ever had. After booking with my wife for some time away from work and the kids, we arrived at around 6pm after visiting Alton towers which is only 20 mins away. Clare met us with a smile and could not have been more helpful in showing us to our room and explaining where everything was. The room was large with gorgeous decor that fitted with the peaceful ambience of the hotel and its location! the bed was huge and comfortable,There was a hot tub one minutes walk from our back door, + the room featured an ipod dock and had Sky Hd including movies and sports included what more could you ask for? The spa was fantastic with a great range of treatments and the food was exceptional I have stayed at many top hotels in the UK and abroad and can quite honestly say this hotel is now firmly one of my favourites. Ten out of Ten.

Reviewed by
paul richardson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful wonderful! Will be back.
Smiling from start to finish. Checked in after a day trip to Alton Towers with my other half. From the get go, the staff were so helpful, attentive and friendly. Stunning surroundings. The room was perfect. Dinner top notch. And the spa facilities that we spent the following day using were tip top! Girlfriend had a deep tissue massage treatment which she said was amazing. We both left feeling so relaxed and will definitely be back. We waited for nothing, we wanted for nothing. Gonna send my parents here for a couple days as an anniversary treat too. Well recommended.

Reviewed by
Zeki M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent through out our stay
From the moment we walked through the door to the moment we left, they couldn't do enough for us. 5 * service by everyone!

Reviewed by
Noel H

From Scunthorpe, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great facilities and food but watch out for hidden costs and rude manager
My partner and I stayed at moddershall oaks as a birthday surprise for him. On arrival staff were very friendly and showed us around the facilities and to our room. I was pleasantly surprised by the room, the decor was lovely however on close inspection it hadn't been cleaned to a high standard, we found hair by the dresser, floating bits in the toilet, a sharp edged carpet grip poking up right next to the bed and discolouration in the shower which I would not expect from a £200 a night room. In the evening we dined in the restaurant and were delighted to be told a 2 course meal was inclusive of our stay (I had booked the room so far in advance I couldn't remember the finer details) . Bearing that in mind, we decided to upgrade to another course and ordered a bottle of wine and other drinks. I have to say the food was of an excellent standard and the staff were very attentive. On our last day we made use of the spa facilities which were nice, the pool and hydrotherapy pool area were very clean and the experience was very relaxing. When it came time to leave, I was surprised at the bill as all our meal had been added, when I questioned this to the spa manager she advised that we had booked just bed and breakfast and when I said that the restaurant staff had told us otherwise she was extremely rude, basically accused me of lying and then followed it up by saying hat if she was in my position she would have known better. Voicing this in front of the other staff in the manner she used was atrocious and made me feel totally belittled. We ended up paying the full amount just in order to leave. In summary, the mistake was ours on the advice of staff but with a manager indulging in some mislaid self importance and a hotel room probably worth £110 not £200 a night, I wouldn't stay here again but would maybe recommend a spa day as the food and spa were good and bar the manager the staff were lovely.

Reviewed by
Gemma M

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.