No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Manse Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
19 Middleton Road, , , Pickering, YO18 8AL
The Old Manse is a lovely, North Yorkshire Edwardian hotel, with many of its original features like a large and beautifully maintain garden with its own orchard. The hotel has been awarded a two star hotel rating by Visit Britain and the AA. There are 10 rooms, all with en-suite facilities, colour TV, radio, hospitality tray and hairdryer. The rooms are pleasantly and thoughtfully decorated to make your stay as comfortable as possible. There is on-site parking for up to 12 cars which are provided for guest use. We do accept well behaved dogs. The hotel is located in Ryedale, which is a stunning part of North Yorkshire. Ideally suited for access to the picturesque market towns of Pickering, Malton, Helmsley and Kirkbymoorshire. All have a wealth of historic background for your finding and also have weekly street markets. Also situated nearby is a host of attractions like the Eden POW camp, Flamingo Land (Zoo and Theme Park), Castle Howard (One of Britain’s Finest Stately Homes), Folk Park Village and the abbey’s of Bylands and Rievaulx. Also for steam enthusiast there is the North Yorkshire Stream Railway which affords you a stunning trip of the North Yorkshire Moors.
Picture of Old Manse Hotel, Pickering at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and quality.
The Old Manse has for many years excelled with its service, quality of food and value for money. This visit was no exception. Val and her enthusiastic team embrace and capture everything that a client would want and expect. The quality of food is outstanding, breakfast s are of the highest quality, in between a comfortable nights sleep in a room entitled tranquil and relaxing.

Reviewed by
Paul Smith

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Bed & Breakfast, but would not class as a hotel.
Quiet room but in need of attention to decoration. Room very small, no proper wardrobe. should only be single occupancy.

Reviewed by
D Richards

From KINGS LYNN, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel full of character!
Lovely hotel, full of character! A warm friendly welcome, all the staff were very helpful as was the owner. I booked on the morning I stayed, my room was ready and waiting for me when I got there. The room was very clean and had everything I needed. The breakfast was lovely and very filling! The hotel is in an excellent location, and was in walking distance of the Steam Fair. I would highly recommend the Old Manse, and would be happy to book another break there sometime.

Reviewed by
Roger W

From Cleator Moor, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 star, but very comfortable, recommended
The rooms were clean and serviceable. Pity there wasn't a lift. Staff were nice, helpful and friendly. The food was excellent. Overall very good value for money. Would use again Newby Stanley

Reviewed by
D Stanley

From Grimsby, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a nice family run hotel rooms a bit on the small size but ok for a quick stay

Reviewed by
B Mellor

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Manse Hotel - Pickering.
Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also very good.

Reviewed by
Juliet E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in a ground level room with access to the garden. The breakfast was a feast, whatever your liking, it was there. Sorry only to be here for one night.

Reviewed by
D Lee

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant experience
I supported a blind person on a short break to pickering.The hotel really put a lot of thought into his accomodation.Everything about the hotel was superb.Lovely food,lovely staff,lovely bed.It was only by chance i booked this hotel but i would certainly like to go back for a longer next time Highly recomended

Reviewed by
graham vince

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The B&B's owner was extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. The property is on a quiet street but still quite central in Pickering. The breakfast was very good, with lots of choice, served in a lovely consevatory room overlooking the garden. The room decor was rather dated and the en suite badly needs updating, especially the shower which was a feeble trickle.

Reviewed by
Kate L

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception
We loved our brief stay at The Old Manse. We were given a very warm welcome and felt as if we were staying in someone's treasured home rather than an impersonal hotel. The only suggestion I would make is to label the doors leading off the entrance hall. When we arrived, because there's no official 'reception', we weren't sure if the rooms behind the lovely wooden doors were private/bedrooms/offices/lounge/dining room. So we had to chance it and pick a door, hoping there would be someone behind it to help us in our arrival!

Reviewed by
Anne M

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next