No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thorns Hall

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Cuatley Road, Sedbergh, LA10 5LE
Thorns Hall is a small 16th century manor house which nestles at the foot of the Howgill Fells in the attractive market town of Sedbergh. During your visit you can relax in our comfortable lounge, enjoy a drink in our bar, or take a short stroll to enjoy the town’s celebrated book shops.

This is an ideal location from which to explore the Yorkshire Dales and Cumbria, with superb walks right on our doorstep. Wensleydale, Kendal and the Settle to Carlisle Railway are all within easy reach. If you’re exploring on foot we have a well equipped boot and drying room, and an excellent selection of maps, guidebooks and walk directions which guests can borrow.

Communal dining at fixed dinner times.
Picture of Thorns Hall, Sedbergh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 6 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sedbergh visit
Spent one night here in March 2014: a pleasant and comfortable experience

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding
The hotel was very nice, clean and friendly

Reviewed by
gary m

From Fleetwood, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is mainly only interested in walkers and not B&B stayers , Service from manager was very poor and made to feel unwelcome, The accomodation itself being a very small double room in a converted outbuilding was very dirty with cracked window pain and the toilet floor covering was coming away , thick mold in the shower . . i have stayed in far better accomodation for far less money . . overall it was a very neglected and tired space.

Reviewed by
Martin J

From Hull, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suprisingly good!
This stay was a suprise for my wife as it was our 10 year wedding anniversary. I was hugely reluctant at first thinking oh, its an old manor house, bit 'fuddy duddy' and stuffy but with no other accomodation left in the village I thought I'd go for it. So pleased I did! The house is a 5 min stroll from the village centre, is set in amazing grounds and totally handles walkers. There was a lovely chap from HF Holidays walking leader there to great us as we walked in, gave us the low down on the hotel. We were a bit early for our room so went for our walk and on our return he sorted our room
The Room
We booked a twin room as it was the last one left and weren't disappointed, the duvets were double size and so thick and warm, lovely, same with the pillows. a lovely flat screen tv on the wall and tea/coffee with plenty of milk!
Shower was instantly hot and plenty powerful. bathroom itself was big and nicely tiled.
The room had plenty hangers and coat hoots on the back of the door, great! we had our view over the courtyard which is really pretty and cobbled. The courtyard also has a boot-room and drying room. how's that for equipped!
Breakfast/dining room was lovely and very organised and we sat with the other guests which I think were all part of the walking party, all very friendly so don't let that put you off!
Would I stay again? absolutely! can't wait to go back.

Reviewed by
Jason M

From Whitley Bay, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had the place to ourselveves as the hall was not open for its usuall business, so we were all alone in this big house which was a bit spooky but I am happy to announce there were no bumps or spooks in the night. A very good breakfast and welcomimng hosts. I reccommend it.

Reviewed by
P Mathison

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
Lovely old atmospheric hall dates back to 1530's. Rooms were clean, bedding very clean and comfortable. We were in the main house so obvously rooms are all different in size and shape. Ours had a flat screen tv, kettle and plenty of coffee and tea. Was a very cold weekend but our room was pleasantly warm. My only gripe would be that they did not appear to clean/tidy the room on our second day and we had no more replacement teas and coffees and we had to go in search of extra toilet roll. Breakfast was superb and there was so much choice of all types of foods available and locally sourced too.

Reviewed by
dawn c

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.