No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Olde House by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Loundsley Green Road .Newbold, Chesterfield, S40 4RN
The structure of the Olde House dates back to 1678 when it was built as a farm house, only converting to a pub in the 1960’s. The pub now consists of two function rooms, a tastefully designed bar and dining area and 12 en-suite executive bedrooms with a king size bed, flatscreen TVs and free WiFi. The Olde House is situated one and a half miles from the centre of Chesterfield, home of the Crooked Spire church, and just 8 miles from Junction 30 of M1. Local attractions include the picturesque Peak District and the Chatsworth Estate, making the Olde House an ideal location for both business travellers and tourists alike.We have a civil license and can therefore cater for weddings and our function rooms are also suitable for parties, seminars and business meetings. We have a substantial car park to accommodate guests. At the Olde House, we specialise in traditional pub food at great value for money prices. You can choose from our selection of classic pub dishes such as fish and chips, sausage and mash, lasagne and steaks. We also have a range of light bites and sandwiches if you prefer a smaller meal. Food and drink can be enjoyed in our spacious, friendly pub. We serve a range of lagers and beers on draught as well as offering a selection of wine by the glass and bottle, spirits and soft drinks
Picture of Olde House by Marstons Inns, Chesterfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
Very nice stay friendly staff and nice food thank you.

Reviewed by
David Thomas

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great little hotel
Great little hotel will stay again

Reviewed by
e babiczuk

From louth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was very clean and nice amd it was the best hotel ive been in for a while

Reviewed by
J Doyle

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The food was lovely, especially the Breakfast, but my wife's light bite Gammon was a tad underdone

Reviewed by
Eric B

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old or Olde House?
Have stayed at Marstons Inns before. Generally good standard, basic accommodation. The Olde House is a pleasant looking building, easily located at the edge of Chesterfield, 10 mins from M1. Great value food, it was curry night when I stayed, for £14 I had a "man up" portion of curry with all the trimmings, washed down with 2 pints (you get a free pint with your meal) The room has all the basics, however I felt that the cleanliness of the bathroom could be a lot better, especially the bath - mildew around tiles and shower screen, with a musty smell. It appeared fairly new fixtures and fittings, but the toilet didn't flush properly and when having a shower the bath started filling due to some sort of blockage. The hotel literature in the room suggested that by booking via the Marstons website would be cheaper than late rooms, I paid £60 B&B through Late Rooms which turned out to be cheaper than the £75 which Marstons wanted. For a single night away on business, the Olde House is acceptable
However if you want something a little more polished then I suggest you look elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything was great apart from the window was locked shut with no key to open it and a very hot
We enjoyed our stay but our idea was to stay more rural in the peak district which will do next time

Reviewed by
N Evans

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent base to explore the area
On arrival at reception my wife and I were quickly booked in and given all the necessary information for our stay. Our room (no 5) was very quiet. There was a good choice of local and well prepared food for breakfast (mind the hot plates, a pet hate of mine is cold plates with hot food on them !) served by the lovely Emma. The restaurant can get busy in the evening but the choice of food and drink is excellent. AII the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A very enjoyable break.

Reviewed by
fred hutcheon

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As a diabetic would have liked Weetabix -type cereal to be available as those offered not good for those avoiding sugar. Other food very good , we also got evening meals with good food and prompt service despite the pub being busy over the holiday weekend.

Reviewed by
william h

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very warm welcome
I simply can not fault this hotel. I didnt arrive till after 10pm and i had a friend with me. To be fair we must have looked a right sight, she has half a head of extensions in and i had bright red hair dye on. I was quite concerned that they wouldnt be too halppy with the thought that the room could end up red. Instead we had a good laugh with the guy who checked us in. The room was simple. It very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely (i even bleached the bath to get rid of the red hair dye). Breakfast was great along with the service. I will definitely be staying there again.

Reviewed by
L Mackay

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Olde house
I was very pleased with my stay !
Staff was helpful , food was good , room was clean all in all a pleasant stay

Reviewed by
Zoe Martin

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next