No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Green Lodge Hotel by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
2 Stanley Road,Hoylake , Wirral, CH47 1HW
The Green Lodge Hotel has six rooms, four doubles and two twin rooms all newly refurbished to a very high standard with new comfortable beds, En- suite bathrooms, Complimentary Biscuits with Tea/Coffee /Hot Chocolate making facilities in all bedrooms, New flat screen television, Free WiFi,Free bottled water and Complimentary full English Breakfast. The restaurant offers the Marstons Two For One menu with extensive chef's specials board also two for one. There is a lovely garden patio area for eating or drinks al fresco!

Ample Car Parking with CCTV. The hotel is located within three minutes walk of Hoylake town centre and train station, the local beach and the Royal Liverpool golf course. Boasting nearby picturesque views of the River Dee and Hilbre Isles it is ideal for a relaxing break or connections to Liverpool, Birkenhead and Chester.
Picture of Green Lodge Hotel by Marstons Inns, Wirral at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome, good introduction by staff. Clean room with en-suite. Comfortable and warm.

Reviewed by
C OSBORNE

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant one night stay at the Green Lodge.
Adjacent to Royal Liverpool Golf Club, 2 mins walk from the beach and 5 mins from rail link to Liverpool.
Friendly staff, a good room and a nice breakfast - the only slight negatives were a leaky underpowered shower and no blind in the bathroom.
Overall a very pleasant stay at a great price.

Reviewed by
Carl H

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value room, good service, breakfast tea below par
Briiliant location for rail and access to main market street. Great value room, large and a little cooler at night as radiators went off early and didn't come on in the morning. Clean, good shower, not much room but as hot as you like.
The one thing I would change is that for that first brew in the morning, they have a coffee percolator filled with hot water, doesn't cut it really. Other than that breakfast is ok for choice cereals, full English or full English, toast and fruit.

Reviewed by
phill wheatley

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Really happy with everything during my stay - room was large, comfy bed, well equipped and the bathroom was nice. Shower was disappointing, I only seemed to be able to get decent water pressure at scalding hot. The hairdryer was weaker than a hot breath, but that didn't really bother me. I'd stay again.

Reviewed by
B Sefton

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly old but clean the only thing that we found was the noisy banging of the bedroom doors but would visit again as price was right

Reviewed by
Carole Ann Allan

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value accommodation
Lovely room, ideal for accessing all the Wirral, nothing too much bother for the delightful staff, would definitely like to go back. Really outstanding value.

Reviewed by
A Greenaway

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
We paid £40 for two for one night, which was great value. The room was a good size, was clean and comfortable, and breakfast was good. Some other reviewers have noted that one checked in at the bar and this is a problem, particularly as we arrived at 7pm, a busy time for staff in the pub/restaurant.

Reviewed by
Niall M

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort
Everything was good nice and clean only thing that I would change is the pillows I had four but felt like I had none.

Reviewed by
Brian D

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Green Stodge Hotel
When is a hotel not a hotel? I have nothing good to say about the Green Lodge.
We stood at the "Hotel" reception which was at the end of the bar with our luggage for 5 mins before anyone acknowledged us. We were then shown to our room, which we were told was the largest of all, through a dank corridor.
Upon entering the room we were hit with a damp musty smell. No net curtains, so you're continuously on view to the public from 2 sides. The night entrance which is basically the 1st floor fire escape at the rear of the "Hotel" has no security whatsoever, so anyone can enter the building and break into your room, and in a case of an emergency there are no night staff to help you, the whole "Hotel" is completely deserted.
I was so disappointed with our room and the smell we actually stayed at the Holiday Inn over the road which is far superior and you can book a room for as little as £24pppn.
I complained about our room the following morning and lack of security and night staff to the manager. Bearing in mind double rooms cost £73, which we got at a discounted rate on this site for £44. Her response was that they don't promote the Green Lodge as a hotel and what did I expect for £44!!! What a response!!!
My advise is that the word "Hotel" should be removed from the building and please be aware the bedrooms look nothing like the images on the website.
Green Lodge Hotel? Green Stodge! Don't stay here.

Reviewed by
Andy P

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay.
We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. The room was spacious, clean and comfortabke with a good ensuite and plenty of refreshments. The breakfast in the morning was superb and well presented. Our stay was very enjoyable and great value and we would would definetly come again.

Reviewed by
P Kidd

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next