Reviews - Green Lodge Hotel by Marstons Inns


2 Stanley Road,Hoylake, Wirral, CH47 1HW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (43)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Tim E

  • November 2015

Decent accommodation

Much cheaper than the Holiday Inn over the road , a little less modern but clean and comfortable and a good breakfast and friendly service .


  • October 2015

Liverpool weekend

Stayed at Hoylake because it is easy to get the train into Liverpool.

Green Lodge is a typical Marstons 2 for 1 pub restaurant + rooms. The rooms were well maintained and clean. We ate at the pub and found that we got a discount off the food - Bonus. Breakfast was no more than ok and it seemed to be done for a price - we have had much better but then the B&B price is competitive. Train station is a 5 minute walk with regular trains into Liverpool. This area of Hoylake is very quiet and conservative which is good if you like quiet - which we do.

  • E Naughton

  • June 2015

Nice hotel, good location, give the restaurant a miss.

This is a nice place to stay.

The rooms are well finished of a good size with nice fittings and clean. It is in a good location and quiet too. Breakfast was good well cooked.

We ate in the pub restaurant but this was a big mistake. We ordered our drinks at the table but had to search for the waitress 1/2 hour later as she had forgotten us. This was the theme throughout our meal so it took 2 hours to finally complete being served. There was a complete lack of interest shown by the staff. The quality of the food was poor too. So nice hotel - forget the restaurant . Go elsewhere for your meal.

  • Linda O

  • June 2015

Lovely stay

Only stayed one night visiting friends but hotel and breakfast lovely and clean enormous bathroom and excellent price through late rooms.

Promenade at end of road so in great position .

  • derek franks

  • May 2015

green lodge

Love hoylake and connection with liverpool is ace,(train station about 250 mtrs,every 15 mins).

haved stayed at hotel before across the road, green lodge was quieter than I expected. room was adequate, good size bathroom, bath/shower, hot water and hot radiator controlled easily by self. breakfast was lovely fresh cooked and tasty. coffee machine at breakfast would be nice. handy to have restaurant downstairs. friendly staff.

  • C Jackson

  • April 2015

Very impressive

Really enjoyed our stay, helpful friendly staff and pleasant hotel, ample room and en suite, Cold water tap on bath didn't work but notified them for future stays, didn't have much food myself to comment, but what I had was fine.

Only comment would be perhaps breakfast a little too short or early on a Sunday, I don't have much appetite much before half past ten most days, so couldn't make most of a full breakfast. Nice little area, close to beach, station and shops. Would definitely recommend and go back again!

  • k wood

  • April 2015

Wonderful Wirral

Would stay here again.

Staff were really great. Food was good. Beer even better.

  • colin bradshaw

  • April 2015

You get more than you pay for!

Down for a family event and stayed at the Green Lodge which used to be my uncle's drinking haunt.

Firstly ever individual member of staff we came across was friendly, courteous and helpful which is a treat. The room was fine with a comfortable bed, individual reading lights, tea & coffee [instant], TV and a huge bathroom. They even provided a fan in case the room got too hot. The only downsides to the room were 1. it was a bit difficult to get the temperature of the shower ideal 2. only 1 bath and 1 hand towel which made both of us having a shower more functional than luxurious. The breakfast was excellent, especially the bacon. Fresh Coffee isn't obviously available but they are happy to supply it if asked.

The bar is really good with a couple of excellent real ales. I didn't eat as I arrived quite late but they do serve food till 10 pm [I think]. My brother's family ate there and said it was good solid fare, excellent value for money but not haute cuisine. Overall tho for food and especially for the rooms, you get a lot more than you pay for

  • Michael H

  • March 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff at check in and when serving food.

The room was nice and clean. As someone else said, they need brighter bulbs in the rooms as its too dark to read. Overall I would stay here again no problem.

  • s parmenter

  • February 2015

Last minute booking

The staff were very friendly and professional.

The room was clean and comfortable and I will have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anybody else.