No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Metropolitan

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Old Park Lane , London, W1K 1LB
Indulge in the Metropolitan way of life: fresh, stylish, energetic. The Metropolitan in London is among the capital's most enduring design phenomena, a hotel that combines cool looks and cosseting service with a contemporary mindset, putting it squarely on the map of travellers seeking to be at the centre of the action.

From floor-to-ceiling windows, look out over a glittering skyline, comfortable in the knowledge you are standing right where it matters - on Park Lane, with the city's best bar and restaurant in the very same building. A contemporary hotel with an enduring design aesthetic. The hotel's sleek yet serene urban image combines soft whites, pear-wood panelling, suede upholstery and pure Egyptian cottons. Colours are subtle, featuring cosseting mauves and warm plum. Carefully selected pieces of antique Asian furniture introduce soft, Eastern accents. This is the work of Keith Hobbs, regarded as a true innovator in hotel design for the modern generation. Natural light floods the spaces, while walls of glass draw you into the city.

The Japanese- Peruvian restaurant, Nobu, buzzes at lunch and dinner with devotees of its Micehelin-starred cuisine. The Met Bar is a cult classic among the music, media and fashion crowd, a sultry lounge bar and club with live DJs and memorable Martinis.

For a quieter moment, retreat to the intimate and newly renovated COMO Shambhala Urban Escape offering a full-range of holistic, Asian-inspired therapies in addition to yoga and a fully-equipped private gym.

It is an uplifting perspective, proof of simplicity's power, and the chic appeal of understatement. It is your private haven at the heart of the metropolis, a place to retreat to when the need for quiet comes upon you.
Picture of Metropolitan, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 6 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, but rooms a bit tired around the edges
Great staff - friendly and helpful; lovely breakfast; the room could have been in better condition, considering what we paid for it - the woodwork on the cupboard doors and on the bathroom door was really worn and the varnish patchy - made a poor impression of the room when there is so much of the wood on show in it!

Reviewed by
G Webster

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic New Years stay
We stayed at the metropolitan for New Years, our first stay at this hotel. From the minute we pulled up in the cab the staff were fantastic, they were all welcoming and friendly.
We had a fantastic view of The London Eye, Big Ben and the Shard, great for New Years fireworks.
We are already planning a return visit in the near future for my birthday .

Reviewed by
E King

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nobu food was amazing
New Years meal was outstanding. Hotel room was good, great size but pretty standard for a 5star

Reviewed by
David B

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central location a minute away from Hyde Park, modern hotel with exceptional service.

Reviewed by
Olga H

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, lovely staff , food fab but really toast for 3 people £13 !!!
Had a lovely stay , hotel and staff faultless ! Food was lovely .. But really toast for 3 people to accompany breakfast £13... We did not want a full on continental & English at £28 per person ! so decided to select one item from menu, and ask for toast , coffee and juice.. When we got the bill all was fine for everything but for limp cold toast that much !!! I would stay at hotel again but say no toast !!!! Had a facial and massage which was lovely and ate at Nobu which was amazing

Reviewed by
Jane Y

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed with my wife for NYE and the overall experience was excellent..,
Suite overlooking the park was exactly as described and the check-in, room-service and door staff couldn't have been better. Gabor on check-in is a real asset and made us feel as special, as we were welcome.
There were two issues of cleanliness in the room: one of the TV remotes was sticky (not necessarily easy for the cleaner to spot), and the toilet didn't come with any 'wrapper' and appeared to have a stain on the seat lid.
We had two other negatives:
1. Concierge didn't know that there was no need to pay the congestion charge so we wasted money unnecessarily on that.
2. The in-house 'Met Bar' was not particularly welcoming in spite of the fact that we were residents - to be honest, we're NOT their core 20-something celebrity profile!
We are Brits, but we are not afraid to complain! Notwithstanding those various negatives, the overall impression was 5/6 and we absolutely would return, not least because of the overall staff attitude, location, and room content/layout (comfy bed and dreamy pillows especially).

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much indeed for your lovely feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you liked your room and the service that you received. Thank you also for highlighting the service that Gabor gave you. It is the staff that truly make the difference and in Gabor we have a very talented individual. I shall certainly pass your comments on to him. I am very sorry to hear that there were also elements of your stay that were less than perfect. Further to your comments I have followed up with the housekeeping team and also taken the liberty of refunding your credit card for the Congestion Charge that you were incorrectly advised on. I am also sorry that you did not feel welcomed in the Met Bar. Many of our loyal regular guest comment on the welcome they receive throughout the hotel so it is particularly disappointing to hear that your experience did not reflect this. Please let me know when you are planning a return visit to London, regardless how the reservation is made, as I would welcome the chance to restore faith and ensure your stay is memorable for all the right reasons. Warm regards, Andrew Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
James M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.