Reviews - The Owl Hotel by Marstons Inns


135 Main Road Hambleton, Selby, YO8 9JH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (32)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Alison Johnston

  • October 2015

A comfortable place to stay!

We were visiting family in Selby and this was a handy place to stay.

Room was comfortable, staff were helpful and attentive. Food was good and reasonably priced. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Ken T

  • October 2015


Excellent in every way

  • Kate M

  • September 2015

Double booked

The hotel had double booked our room and couldn't find us another one.

The staff couldn't explain how the double booking had happened. Probably best to call and double check bookings made with this hotel if you choose to stay.

  • Tim L

  • August 2015

The Owl Hotel by Marstons Inns

The room was small and had not been cleaned since the previous guests.

I complained and the response was skillful and appropriate.

  • W Laverick

  • August 2015

Good little hotel

A nice friendly hotel with friendly staff.

Good value for money although the room could do with a little refurbishment.

  • J Grey

  • July 2015


OUTSTANDING STAFF let down by tired decor.

First impressions: the welcome from the staff was negated by the tatty entrance door to the room annex. Peeling paint, screws protuding from the lock, guttering at ground & roof level covered in moss etc. A rudimentary inspection appeared to show the room was tidy & clean: however, on further scrutiny the bathroom window blind was dirty & broken, the mirror cracked with its engraving half rubbed out, a round hole on the wash basin shelf, toilet roll holder very loose. A shower - although hot & powerful - showed the shower head to be loose & adjustable, furthermore it exposed an unsavoury smell from the plug area of the bath & hand basin. Overall the finish showed its age & the struggle for the cleaners to keep a high standard. Dinner was bland although breakfast was very good with both meals revealing delighful, attentive, cheerful, hard working staff 10/10. BUT the chairs hunger for replacement & the table legs are grubby. There are so many plaudits for the staff BUT Marstons need to open their cheque book to build on the positives.

  • Tony Q

  • July 2015

Good standard

  • Lindsay B

  • July 2015

Great Stay

The rooms are spacious and have all that you need for a great stay.

Our room was comfy, and with a quiet location, an enjoyable stay. It would be beneficial to have frosting on the bathroom window, as the blind when windy isn't always affective.

  • Steven B

  • June 2015

Would stay again

Quite a good level of accommodation for the cost.

Friendly, courteous staff who gave help as required and needed, especially at meal times. Room comfortable and fulfilled our needs. Good selection on menu and reasonably priced. Would recommend.

  • j Morley

  • March 2015

Getaway weekend

We have stayed in this hotel several times before and it has always been good.This visit was no exception.It is always good value for money as breakfast is included in the price.Will stay again.