No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Owl Hotel by Marstons Inns

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
135 Main Road Hambleton, Selby, YO8 9JH
The Owl Hotel is situated in the village of Hambleton, just outside Selby. The Owl has 22 high quality ensuite bedrooms located both in the main building and a lodge adjacent. The pub serves food all day and is the perfect place to unwind after a hard day at work or after exploring the beautiful Yorkshire countryside. Our selection of hot meals include a choice of Steaks, expertly grilled, just the way you like them and traditional pub classics. We also have a range of specially selected wines along with cask ales and a choice of soft drinks, tea and coffee. The Owl Hotel is an ideally placed hotel for business travellers and tourists alike, with easy links to the A1/M62. The Owl is situated between Leeds and York (Both city centres within 30 minutes drive) Local attractions include Temple Newsam, Tropical World, York Dungeons, and York Racecourse. Our Room prices also include our fantastic breakfast and free Wifi.

Picture of The Owl Hotel by Marstons Inns, Selby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm and friendly welcome at The Owl Hambleton
Great value for money. Excellent staff helpful and friendly. Rooms comfortable and cosy

Reviewed by
Janis Horne

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Friendly and Value
We booked very late to break a long journey with our grandson. Whilst some of the decor was a little tired in some of the accomodation areas, it was clean comfortable and excellent value. The super service made up for the decor. Would not hessitate to stay again.

Reviewed by
Paul F

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Come again
Very welcoming, Emma especially. Good sized room, Better than others in the annex. Very clean and comfortable bed. Breakfast individually cooked which is far better than in larger hotels where left in heaters.

Reviewed by
Leon B

From Caterham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lack of customer service at the Owl.
This is the worst service I have ever had in any Hotel . I was ignored when waiting at the Bar .I was ignored when waiting to order breakfast. The staff seem to suffer from selective viewing and one of the female receptionists had a awful sarcastic stuck up attitude. I also reported a faulty door lock three times but nothing was done about it.
I was very surprised with the poor service as I have always found the staff at other Marstons Inns to be very good, may be its because its a country village Hotel and they think they are better than their customers. Some customer service training needed I think.

Reviewed by
ivor read

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff but bedroom in desperate need of refurbishment.
Room was very worn, backed onto main road, so was noisy, and the loo refused to flush.

Reviewed by
P Baker

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok, but not 4*
The Owl was ok for an overnight stay, but not 4* and worth the money I paid for the room.
It was very small with a small double bed and the hallway just outside the room smelt of damp.
The furniture and bed was in a good state of repair but it was fairly basic and quite tiny for two people.
We ate at the pub for the evening meal. Food was average, although good portions, but the pricing was expensive because it was the weekend and was not on Bogof.
Overall, it was ok, but the price should be lower for the quality/size of the room.

Reviewed by
Claire Z

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok, but needs a springclean
Having stayed here a few years previous I booked again. I found that like last time the overall experience was great, staff excellent as was the food. However the rooms in the annexe are now in need of a bit of a tidy up. It wouldn't deter me from staying again, but to a picky person it might be cause to complain.

Reviewed by
Brian H

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Stay
We were made very welcome. The room was suprisingly well appointed, clean and comfortable, The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had both an evening meal and breakfast and these were very good, with attentive service. Our 6 year old advised the staff that this was a better hotel than the place we stayed in at Canary Wharf a few weeks ago (4 *). Overall an excellent booking.
One minor point that the staff sorted quickly was that the booking for a family room with beds for 3 people did not transfer from late rooms to the hotel computer system - worth calling the hotel direct once you have booked to make them aware of your required sleeping arrangements.

Reviewed by
Alexandra Oldham

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's OK for a couple of nights, the single room I stayed in has a damp problem and no light bulb above the desk for working late. Not sure I would use this hotel for a romantic break but it would do for a work trip.

Reviewed by
Robert G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly small chain business hotel

Reviewed by
Tom B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next