No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dovecliff Hall Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Dovecliff Road , Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire, DE13 0DJ
Dovecliff Hall Country House is a “hidden gem” nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquillity.

Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have ensuite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities.

Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers.

Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park.

We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome.
Picture of Dovecliff Hall Hotel, Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Surroundings and the location of the hotel were superb.
The staff were efficient and friendly.
Surroundings were in context with the age of the building. It had been sympathetically restored.
The evening meal was food to die for!
Restaurant staff were attentive and well informed.
We will certainly return.

Reviewed by
Brenda B

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous Georgian house
Stayed here one night. Gorgeous building set in a few acres. Amazing good value for B&B. Staff were very professional, smartly dressed, helpful and informative, especially David J W, a credit to the business!!. Bedroom was spotless and very big. if you don't want to eat at the hotel, they have a discount price with a local taxi company to get to Burton for a night out or there is a pub just 15 mins walk away. The grounds are lovely to walk round and are by the River Dove. Breakfast was very nice. Would stay here again, without a doubt. Good wifi too.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful nights stay
The hotel was picked due to the convience of its location. the hotel staff where friendly and efficient. Book a table in the restraunt for dinner. the room was very spacious and clean. Having only fifteen rooms gave it a nice relaxing atmosphere. On entering the restraunt was met be the waiter who quickly got me the menus and a nice cold beer very nice. The menus has a grt choice and after some deliberation went for the three course set menu. The food was very nice espically to pok belly melt in your mouth and as for the toffee pudding :-) as i retired to my room i found the room temperature to be just right (nothing worse than a room either too hot or cold) I normally have trouble sleeping when staying one night but i have to admit the bed was comfortable and i enjoyed my eight hours. i woke to the a beautiful day and got to see the view from my room looking over the river Dove and across the fields. The breakfast did not dispoint the cooked breafast was a great way to set me up for the day ahead. i thank the staff for making my stay albeit some what short very nice. I will definetely return.

Reviewed by
Daniel M

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money, food was excellent as was the customer service. Received a complimentary upgrade which was great. Stayed here to go to Alton Towers, only took about 40mins to get there.

Reviewed by
Helen W

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rather disappointing
Bedroom was large and comfortable, but not the cleanest I've stayed in, did not use towels due to dirty marks, and found discarded tissues on floor. The Breakfast Room waitress was pleasant and efficient, but Reception staff appeared to be preoccupied with attending to the rather noisy wedding party booked for that weekend, probably not the best hotel for those travelling alone, My dog was tolerated but not welcome, would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
Penny H

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dovecliff - a hidden gem
After escaping from a disastrous stay at another hotel - we used the Late Rooms App and found this wonderful hidden gem for almost the same value. It was peaceful and well managed and the food was amazing. The staff were very attentive and we loved every minute of our stay. It was a good base to get into Derby and we also managed a trip to Chatsworth, Bakewell and Kedleston Hall. I would highly recommend this hotel, if you want a little Georgian charm and a slow paced break.

Reviewed by
Amanda H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, but breakfast disappointing
Stayed for one night. Lovely, quiet, huge room. Exceptionally clean and well presented. Dinner was very good value (table d'hote) and tasty. Breakfast was the disappointment. Service was slow, despite there only being one other person there and two of us waiting. I had to go to reception to find someone to serve us. The breakfast menu looked good, so I chose the cold meats and cheeses with some pastries from the waitress. No pastries were available, so I was given a croissant. The meat and cheese consisted of a slice of ham and two slices of a cheese (gouda I think), not really a selection. This took so long to arrive that I did not have time for anything else, and I was in the dining room for 40 minutes. A shame really, because the setting is lovely and the public rooms very calm and peaceful. I would stay again, but not on business when my time is precious.

Reviewed by
David D

From Craven Arms, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No problems here.
Nice surroundings, peaceful, Good clean rooms. my second time here.

Reviewed by
P Jepson

From Hailsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply superb
We were delighted with the superb room, service and breakfast which we had at the Dovecliff Hall hotel and we will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Marion K

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

peaceful hotel
Very nice and quiet. Customer service excellent. All staff members nice and smart. The only one thing that can improve is bathrooms should have extractor fans so when you have a shower the steam goes away. Everything else very good.

Reviewed by
amandev athwal

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next