Reviews - Dovecliff Hall Hotel


Dovecliff Road, Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire, DE13 0DJ

Price From 170.86 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • K Oneill

  • May 2015

Canny weekend

Richie and bogdan great guys had a nice stay would definitely return food lovely.

  • Gary W

  • April 2015



  • March 2015

Excellent Hotel

Excellent hotel excellent staff, excellent food.

  • Diane Wilkinson

  • December 2014

Anniversary stay

Beautiful, quiet hotel.

Very comfortable room, everything you need for a short stay. Food is exceptional, service good, friendly, helpful staff, very welcoming. This was our third stay at this lovely hotel. Would definitely recommend.

  • Brenda B

  • December 2014

Weekend away

Surroundings and the location of the hotel were superb.

The staff were efficient and friendly. Surroundings were in context with the age of the building. It had been sympathetically restored. The evening meal was food to die for.

Restaurant staff were attentive and well informed. We will certainly return.

  • Ian M

  • November 2014

Gorgeous Georgian house

Stayed here one night.

Gorgeous building set in a few acres. Amazing good value for B&B. Staff were very professional, smartly dressed, helpful and informative, especially David J W, a credit to the business!!. Bedroom was spotless and very big. if you don't want to eat at the hotel, they have a discount price with a local taxi company to get to Burton for a night out or there is a pub just 15 mins walk away. The grounds are lovely to walk round and are by the River Dove. Breakfast was very nice. Would stay here again, without a doubt. Good wifi too.

  • Daniel M

  • November 2014

Wonderful nights stay

The hotel was picked due to the convience of its location.

the hotel staff where friendly and efficient. Book a table in the restraunt for dinner. the room was very spacious and clean. Having only fifteen rooms gave it a nice relaxing atmosphere. On entering the restraunt was met be the waiter who quickly got me the menus and a nice cold beer very nice. The menus has a grt choice and after some deliberation went for the three course set menu. The food was very nice espically to pok belly melt in your mouth and as for the toffee pudding :-) as i retired to my room i found the room temperature to be just right (nothing worse than a room either too hot or cold) I normally have trouble sleeping when staying one night but i have to admit the bed was comfortable and i enjoyed my eight hours. i woke to the a beautiful day and got to see the view from my room looking over the river Dove and across the fields. The breakfast did not dispoint the cooked breafast was a great way to set me up for the day ahead. i thank the staff for making my stay albeit some what short very nice. I will definetely return.

  • Helen W

  • October 2014

Great value for money, food was excellent as was the customer service.

Received a complimentary upgrade which was great. Stayed here to go to Alton Towers, only took about 40mins to get there.

  • Penny H

  • August 2014

Rather disappointing

Bedroom was large and comfortable, but not the cleanest I've stayed in, did not use towels due to dirty marks, and found discarded tissues on floor.

The Breakfast Room waitress was pleasant and efficient, but Reception staff appeared to be preoccupied with attending to the rather noisy wedding party booked for that weekend, probably not the best hotel for those travelling alone, My dog was tolerated but not welcome, would not stay there again.

  • Amanda H

  • July 2014

Dovecliff - a hidden gem

After escaping from a disastrous stay at another hotel - we used the Late Rooms App and found this wonderful hidden gem for almost the same value.

It was peaceful and well managed and the food was amazing. The staff were very attentive and we loved every minute of our stay. It was a good base to get into Derby and we also managed a trip to Chatsworth, Bakewell and Kedleston Hall. I would highly recommend this hotel, if you want a little Georgian charm and a slow paced break.