No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dovecliff Hall Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Dovecliff Road , Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire, DE13 0DJ
Dovecliff Hall Country House is a “hidden gem” nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquillity.

Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have ensuite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities.

Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers.

Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park.

We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome.
Picture of Dovecliff Hall Hotel, Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rather disappointing
Bedroom was large and comfortable, but not the cleanest I've stayed in, did not use towels due to dirty marks, and found discarded tissues on floor. The Breakfast Room waitress was pleasant and efficient, but Reception staff appeared to be preoccupied with attending to the rather noisy wedding party booked for that weekend, probably not the best hotel for those travelling alone, My dog was tolerated but not welcome, would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
Penny H

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dovecliff - a hidden gem
After escaping from a disastrous stay at another hotel - we used the Late Rooms App and found this wonderful hidden gem for almost the same value. It was peaceful and well managed and the food was amazing. The staff were very attentive and we loved every minute of our stay. It was a good base to get into Derby and we also managed a trip to Chatsworth, Bakewell and Kedleston Hall. I would highly recommend this hotel, if you want a little Georgian charm and a slow paced break.

Reviewed by
Amanda H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, but breakfast disappointing
Stayed for one night. Lovely, quiet, huge room. Exceptionally clean and well presented. Dinner was very good value (table d'hote) and tasty. Breakfast was the disappointment. Service was slow, despite there only being one other person there and two of us waiting. I had to go to reception to find someone to serve us. The breakfast menu looked good, so I chose the cold meats and cheeses with some pastries from the waitress. No pastries were available, so I was given a croissant. The meat and cheese consisted of a slice of ham and two slices of a cheese (gouda I think), not really a selection. This took so long to arrive that I did not have time for anything else, and I was in the dining room for 40 minutes. A shame really, because the setting is lovely and the public rooms very calm and peaceful. I would stay again, but not on business when my time is precious.

Reviewed by
David D

From Craven Arms, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No problems here.
Nice surroundings, peaceful, Good clean rooms. my second time here.

Reviewed by
P Jepson

From Hailsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply superb
We were delighted with the superb room, service and breakfast which we had at the Dovecliff Hall hotel and we will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Marion K

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

peaceful hotel
Very nice and quiet. Customer service excellent. All staff members nice and smart. The only one thing that can improve is bathrooms should have extractor fans so when you have a shower the steam goes away. Everything else very good.

Reviewed by
amandev athwal

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent experience
A relaxing stay in a stunning hotel. Wonderful room, food was superb and great customer service.

Reviewed by
Antony G

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Discovered this little gem by chance,just a great all round place to stay,had 2 dogs with ,no problem,room service was quick/efficient and food very good,Just try it.

Reviewed by
Gareth I

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
no mention of the short cut to our room

Reviewed by
T Harris

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accomodation poor dining experience.
Hotel accommodation excellent and staff very friendly however dinner at the hotel was disappointing. Frozen chips, soggy onion rings. A supposedly 21 day aged steak was chewy.
Breakfast included under cooked black pudding and fried egg.
I would go back to this hotel but eat elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Susan Spendlove

From Uttoxeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next