Reviews - BERRY HEAD HOTEL

3

Berry Head, BRIXHAM , TQ5 9AJ

Price From 128.23 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (31)

87% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • t Campbell

  • April 2015

Brilliant location with excellence staff and facilities

  • Teresa T

  • March 2015

BERRY HEAD HOTEL

Fantastic location.

We return time and time again and love it. The staff are so friendly, courteous and helpful. Great indoor swimming pool. Lovely homely atmosphere.

  • Patrick T

  • March 2015

Let Down by Room

The hotel is beautifully situated with wonderful views across Torbay.

The public rooms are all starting to look tired but the views from the bar and restaurants make up for this. All of the staff were friendly and efficient. Food was tasty and good value ( lunch and breakfast). We paid extra, £110 for a seaview room, which we got but the room was cramped, with dated pine furniture and a basic but adequate clean bathroom. The indoor pool area is lovely. We were advised by Management that the rooms are being refurbished on a rolling programme.

  • T Lowe

  • February 2015

over priced weekend stay

I had high expectations for this wonderfully located, rather grand looking hotel but it seems these qualities are not reflected inside.The room was very small with only one bedside cabinet, dated pine furniture and a wardrobe that was partially obscured by the bedside cabinet.

The duvet was almost completely compressed due to 'over' laundering and the curtains faded and thin.The original sash windows in both the bathroom and bedroom were very stiff, badly maintained with flaking paint, in the sparsely furnished bathroom the net curtain simply stuck to the condensation. This is the kind of accommodation I would have expected in a 1980's b&b not a 2015 hotel. It certainly did not warrant the £109 per night price tag.

  • A Beech

  • January 2015

My stay at Berry Head Hotel

I arrived using Late Rooms.com and found a nice room at a bargain price.

The food was terrific. The view was fantastic and it was just over a mile from town. It was a good base to travel out from. A couple of things let them down:

The wifi was inadequate and I couldn't book my next stay on Late Rooms.com. The Hotel were aware of this and had acquired a new Router but it hadn't been installed. They did offer to assist me but this was just as I was leaving so too late really. The swimming pool was being refurbished so this was not available during my stay. The history of the hotel was stored in a ring binder using screwed up plastic pockets. I advised a member of staff that laminating the documents would make them look far more professional, but I'm not sure that my comments were heeded. These points are minor and I still enjoyed my stay and especially the breakfast. The setting is wonderful. The food is delicious. In my opinion the Hotel just needs to look again at the fine details.

  • Nicholas C

  • December 2014

Really great setting friendly staff and good restaurant

  • Helen Cottington

  • November 2014

Up grade

When we realized that our booked room only had one bed we were upgraded for two beds, with no extra charge.

Good

Everything was lovely with good views of the bay Only problem was that the room was cold and the radiator was quite noisy. We also needed the other heater in the room.Not so good. Otherwise it was a lovely stay food and staff were great.

  • Michael Bryant

  • November 2014

A real home from home

A lovely warm, welcoming, family run hotel.

Excellent food and friendly staff. Beautiful location. What's not to like?

  • Alan S

  • October 2014

Breakfast was "cooked to order", came well presented, by attentive staff, but the food was only warm and at the end of the meal I regretted that I had not sent it back.

Bathroom was dated and shower unusable (room 21). Again, not bad enough to make a complaint, it just left me a bit disappointed.

  • F Routledge

  • September 2014

A relaxing stay, you are looked after in a lovely environment

The hotel has great helpful staff.

Our room was small with a balcony overlooking the roof. No 16. It was a hot night and the bed was soft, the room could do with a window. Having said this we had a fantastic weekend, attending a family wedding held at the hotel. The food was fantastic and the waiting staff brilliant. The grounds of the hotel are lovely. Remember to bring swim wear as they have a lovely indoor swimming pool.