Reviews - Plough Motel & Restaurant


Campbell Road,, STOKE-ON-TRENT, ST4 4EN

Price From 68.90 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (124)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • David G

  • September 2015

No too impressed. Clean but very shabby.

After nearly 6 hours of driving I was looking forward to a bath only to discover that the water would not divert to the bath taps.

Someone had replaced the shower hose which came off the taps with a fitting that had no diverter valve. I filled the bath with the shower head lying in the bath. The bed was unbelievable. The springs dug in to me and I had to sleep on top of the duvet with it wrapped over me. Luckily I was in a double bed on my own. I was up at 7-00 ready for a early start only to be told that cooked breakfast did not start until 8-00. Seems very late. I did get what was described as a continental breakfast.

  • Lisa D

  • August 2015

Great value for money.

Food excellent.

  • K Schofield

  • July 2015

Plough Motel & Restaurant

Cheap and cheerful just let down with bathroom

  • E Ferrier

  • July 2015

You get what you pay for!

More than a little TLC required here.

Room adequate with clean bed, bath and basin. The rest was filthy with skirting boards half off, doors unpainted and mucky, main door handle hanging off. Outside was worse. Lovely red tiled corridor and stairs which had not been cleaned in decades. Piles of dust and fag ends in corners. Could not hold handrail to go down stairs as it was filthy. Only towels supplied were thin hand towels. Watching a 16stone man drying with one of these after a shower almost made it worth it.

  • James Stewart

  • June 2015

Overnight stay

Keenly priced tradesman's motel lacking any kind of luxury.

Basic frozen food although breakfast good. Your price at £37(no breakfast) claimed to be best rate but booking direct with motel was £35 including breakfast so you need to look at that and although you later arranged breakfast at £4 each we were still out of pocket. Okay for an overnight and reasonable value for money. Other revues on Trip Advisor not good

  • Mary S

  • June 2015


Stayed with children welcome good very helpful re local activities.Rooms need upgrading duvet grubby and worn under clean cover.

Mattress springs worn.TV working.Value for money for short stay.

  • Sean P

  • May 2015

Worst experience of my life

After reading the reviews on late rooms and spending 7 years in the Army I thought that I would be able to ruff out the accommodation, after all it was just somewhere to stay overnight.

I have never been so wrong. I booked a room and breakfast for two nights but for unforeseen reasons turned up on the second day to 'because you didn't turn up yesterday we have canceled your booking and you will not get a refund', I then asked if their were any rooms free to a grunt of no. After calling late rooms, within three minutes of being told that their was no rooms a room had miraculously been found. The rooms are dirty and discard full and the staff have no manners. The only one thing that I would like to say about the hotel is that the breakfast waitress was its only saving grace, she was polite well dressed and well mannered.

  • Iain D

  • May 2015

old worn stained sheets

The accommodation was old and tired, the worst however was the bedding, there were stains on the duvet but also lumps of ingrained dirt, I'd hoped it was old food ...

Though this was just a guess. TV had one channel. The staff didn't know the meaning of customer service or service. I was booked for two nights but chose to drive 4 hours home rather than face a second night there, this was after a long day working- probably a good indication of the quality of this place. Cheap but still not worth it.

  • J Palmer

  • May 2015

No cold water so could not have a shower or bath as there was only scalding hot water.

The cold tap did not work.

Bathroom floor was filthy.

  • Jason H

  • May 2015

Bed of Nails?

People have said "you get what you pay for" in reviewing this hotel before.

But you definitely pay for a mattress and not a pile of springs wrapped in cloth that will impale you. It's a fine, no frills, budget motel BUT they need to invest in new matresses or it's not worth staying there because you can't sleep.