Reviews - Plough Motel & Restaurant

Campbell Road,, STOKE-ON-TRENT, ST4 4EN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (106)

45% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Richard D

  • November 2014

Plough Motel & Restaurant

Basic room but good value for money.

  • julie h

  • November 2014

Pretty poor!

Being honest the whole place is in desperate need of a face lift.

Not enough pillows, no extra bedding. Stains up the wall where the tea and coffee facility's were. The bathroom skirting was dirty. Generally un clean. Best bit about it was the shower!!

  • S Davies

  • November 2014

Not up to the standard expected from Late

The initial impression was ok until you went to the reception and saw sign that said to look for someone in the bar.

The bar looked closed and in darkness but we did find someone who then took a while to find keys for our room. We eventually found room from vague directions avoiding cleaners and builders to get to it. The room was cold - window left open on coldest day and no heating on, minimal tea/coffee. We went out to find a petrol station as staff didn't know were local one was and came back at dusk to a poorly lit outside area which had standing water and light fittings/boxes not to mention other trip hazards to negotiate. We went out for the evening and left heater on full room was eventually warm when we got back at about 1am but lighting outside still poor. All we wanted at that time was a nice comfy bed and a good nights sleep but instead all we could feel was the bed frame (and no we are not overweight). They seem to have their renovation ideas wrong - as much as its nice to have lots of storage space and fancy lights a comfy bed is far more important. Did we mention this when we booked out no. Reason we and at least 5 other guests couldn't find anyone to book out even though they were meant to be serving breakfast. We ended up leaving keys on the reception desk - so much for 24hr reception. Personally even though we got this on a special deal I still think it was too much for what we got.

  • S Hughes

  • November 2014

cheap and basic

Very basic accomodation with the thinest quilt I have ever seen.

For the £30 I paid it was ok. Food in the bar was very poor quality but again it was cheap. I would not recomend for leisure but for a one night stay on business it was adequate.

  • Sarah W

  • November 2014

Clean, value for money, nice breakfast

The room was clean barring some black mould on the bath tub.

bedding was clean and fresh, the duvet was a little thin but there was a heater which made this not a problem, clean towels and soap was provided, the room didnt have any toilet roll at all, but i didnt ask for some as we had tissues with us and we arrived late at night. the breakfast was fresh and hot and there was plenty of variety and served quickly.

  • Terry Fenn

  • November 2014


It does exactly what it says on the tin

  • r Giles

  • November 2014

Basic room but very pleasant staff and very reasonable for food.

  • susan s

  • October 2014


Very much you get what you pay for at this Motel.

Rooms are very worn but warm and everything worked. Shower was a nightmare, hardly any water pressure and cold was the first to go when it ebbed so we all ended up with scorched skin. Restaurant was again very basic menu but was tasty and hot. If you just want a quick basic stopover then this is fine

  • andy h

  • October 2014

over night er for alton towers

The review when we 1st looked said 10 miles away, well double that practically.

The room itself was in good condition and nice and clean. The only downfalls I would say is the hard mattress an the state of the kettle.

  • K Woof

  • October 2014


I have already reviewed this accomodation on Trip Advisor.

I would never recommend this Motel neither would I stay again. Customer service was awful - staff were grumpy/miserable.

If people are going to stay here - your vehicles really are left at your own risk!!. Staff letting off fireworks right by the customers vehicles.. woke up to my car being covered in cardboard from the fireworks. Angry/upset was an understatement.