Reviews - The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant

4

Bourton Road Clanfield, Burford, OX18 2RB

Price From 214.75 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (20)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Neil S

  • February 2016

Pleasant but pricey food and drink

Very quiet on a mid-week January evening stay.

Receptionist a bit overrun at check-in running between serving at the bar, answering phone and attending to my check-in. Room pleasant enough. Only three guests in the bar/restaurant so no worry about noise. Food was tasty but not huge portions; pleasant wines but a bit pricey by the glass.

  • C Travis

  • August 2015

Hotel for work

Had a long day, ready for bed and a good nights sleep.

Did not happen, I was in a room over the dining room (room 8) and the customer noise did not stop until 11pm then the cleaners started, about midnight before I got to sleep.

  • s williams

  • April 2015

The Cotswold Plough-Clanfield

We stayed one night in their room 2 and got to stay one of the best overnight stays we have had.

Was a wow moment from the time we entered the room to booking out. Beautiful large room, large bathroom, we found it very peaceful, lovely setting, nice walks from the hotel on your doorstep, pleasant staff, and filling breakfast (vary varied options too). Would recommend and definitely stay again, good value for money.

Response from hotel

Dear S Williams,

Thank you for taking the time to write and for your kind words. Delighted to hear that you appreciated all aspects of the establishment and local area.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes Management

  • Catherine D

  • April 2015

Wonderful weekend treat

It was a late decision to go away for the weekend and this proved the perfect place for a relaxing stay.

Despite our later than intended arrival, the staff were friendly and welcoming, continuing to be so throughout the whole weekend. Our room was really traditional without feeling stuffy or old-fashioned and had a wonderfully comfortable bed. We had dinner on the first night (it was definitely a restaurant which happens to be in an inn, rather than a pub which does food) and the cheese soufflé starter was one of the best I've had anywhere. Breakfast was excellent with perfectly buttery croissants and a nice range of hot dishes expertly cooked to order. The second evening we got back after a day in of wandering, museum & dinner in Oxford (35 minute drive) and relaxed in the bar with a great pint of local ale. The Plough is somewhere we discovered by happy accident and hope to return to many times (gin tasting?) if it maintains it's current standards.

Response from hotel

Dear Catharine,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you found the bed comfortable, the food excellent, where able to relax, staff where friendly and you enjoyed local attractions in Oxford. Our aim is to continue these standards as our minimum so we look forward to welcoming you back and serving you a G&T!

With best wishes from All at The Cotswold Plough

  • B Davies

  • April 2015

Cosy and characterful

Cosy bar and lounge area.

Rooms clean and well appointed. Dinner menu was not extensive but very well cooked. Breakfast was excellent.

Response from hotel

Dear B Davies,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards, Reception.

  • Alan B

  • March 2015

Relaxed and comfortable

Lovely hotel old building but modern facilities.

Room was clean warm and well designed kept old world charm with modern conveniences. Bar and restaurant are relaxed the menu is very good!beer well cared for no complaints.

Staff very friendly and chatty except one tall girl who could smile at least once......Corine was lovely though as she is Scottish we may be biased. Overall we would recommend this hotel the little touches such as the tea and coffee tray in the roo. Complete with a kit kat.

Response from hotel

Dear Alan B,

Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your return and any of your friends that you recommend.

Kind regards, Reception

  • Paul S

  • February 2015

Charming hotel

It was a fairly last minute booking and wasn't sure what to expect.

The room was very quaint and cosy ( with the most comfortable bed I have EVER slept in) the welcome was warm and friendly and the food excellent. I woke up in the morning and felt really relaxed. would definitely stay here again.

Response from hotel

Dear Paul S,

Thank you for your kind words, delighted to hear that you slept like a log.

Found the service warm and friendly and food excellent ­ what dish did you have? We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards, Reception

  • Gary A

  • January 2015

The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant

The hotel was exactly what I thought it would be unfortunately there was a power cut when we arrived.

When we went down for dinner there was a restricted menu and nothing on there that we fancied so we drove down to a nearby village. Not the evening I wanted but couldn't fault the hotel and a surprise upgrade.

Response from hotel

Dear Gary A,

We are sorry too that this did not end up being the evening you wanted too; but are glad to hear that you could not fault us. We are sorry that we could not get the lights on sooner, but look forward to welcoming you upon your return.

Best wishes,

Management

  • J Owens

  • January 2015

Excellent in every way

An on the day booking at the Plough.

They found us a room and upgraded us to a 4 poster room. Very comfortable bed, huge room (room 6) and a nice spacious bathroom. All very clean and well appointed.

We really enjoyed drinks in front of the fire in the bar, and the cooking was exemplary.

Good breakfast included in room rate. Lovely staff.

I can't recommend the Plough strongly enough.

Response from hotel

Dear J Owens,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, in one of our spacious four poster rooms, appreciated the décor, enjoyed the bar ambiance and found the food delicious. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully sometime soon.

Best wishes, Management

  • Kay C

  • August 2014

Hidden Gem!

This hotel is a hidden gem.

Very quiet village location, lovely old building full of character and very comfortable. No problem at all about bringing the dog and no extra charge which was much appreciated. Slightly disappointing to discover there was a better local offer for the night we stayed which would have halved what we paid, including food and wine - but nonetheless the hotel suited perfectly for what we needed for the night. Would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

Response from hotel

Dear Kay,

Thank you for taking the time to write in and for your kind thoughts.

We a delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, appreciated our quiet location and character if the hotel.

Did you manage to explore any of the beautiful local walks with the dog? We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management