Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Oxfordshire > Clanfield Hotels > The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Bourton Road Clanfield, Burford, OX18 2RB
The Cotswold Plough is a perfect example of a 16th Century, stylish yet informal hotel. The hotel is perfectly located to explore landmark Cotswold towns, the rolling countryside and the Dreaming Spires of Oxford.
Bampton, home to Downton Abbey, is right on the doorstep, Burford only 15 mins away and is the nearest hotel to Kelmscott Manor home to William Morris in 1878.

The Cotswold Plough has 11 elegant, confortable and spacious en-suite bedrooms, a restaurant and a bar serving local ales, quality everyday dining options, open fires and a sunshine terrace for Al fresco dining. The hotel offers something for everyone all year round, with an idyllic charm that allows guests to relax in comfort and there is free Wifi throughout. The restaurant serves an a la cate menu of seasonal mouth-watering dishes. Whereas the bar offers a more traditional British menu and the hotel's most unique offering: a Gin Pantry with over 150 individual gins and an incomparable knowledge of these drinks and their accompaniments.

Picture of The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant, Burford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem!
This hotel is a hidden gem! Very quiet village location, lovely old building full of character and very comfortable. No problem at all about bringing the dog and no extra charge which was much appreciated. Slightly disappointing to discover there was a better local offer for the night we stayed which would have halved what we paid, including food and wine - but nonetheless the hotel suited perfectly for what we needed for the night. Would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

ManagementResponse

Dear Kay, Thank you for taking the time to write in and for your kind thoughts. We a delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, appreciated our quiet location and character if the hotel. Did you manage to explore any of the beautiful local walks with the dog? We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Management

Reviewed by
Kay C

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An expensive over night stay
£95 bed and breakfast was the rate on Late rooms. The room was nice. The food was expensive and the staff did not listen to my request for my starter which I could not eat. It is nice to have nicely presented food but you can always add dressings you cant take them off. £41 had been taken as a deposit, strange. They charged £20 for the dogs. I note another review mentions service charge which was already on the bill. The shock for £213.75 confused me and I just paid. Drinks very expensive too. All told dont think we would stay there again, or recommend.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear that you experience was wholly different to many reviews we have on our pages. Whereby highlighting excellent food and service. I would like to apologies for us not following your instruction regarding the dressing on your starter, but gather it was rectified as soon as it was brought to the attention of the Kitchen. Regarding your comments on value for money your booking showed a large discount of over 40% for booking late. Your quality 3 course meal came to less than £30 per head and the average price of your 6 drinks was less than £5 each. The charge for dogs is far less than kennel prices within the local area. We do add a service charge to all residents¹ restaurant bills as clearly stated on the menu. When checking out it is marked on the bill as discretionary, therefore can be removed at your request. We are renowned for our food, service and good value for money and have a high reputation in the area and across the globe, as many guests travel to us from far flung places such as Japan and the USA. We are sorry that you do not join the 99.9% of our guest that enjoy their time with us. Kind regards, Management

Reviewed by
Ian W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, enjoyed our stay

ManagementResponse

Dear Edward, Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and we look forward to your return. Best wishes, Management

Reviewed by
Edward T

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Great location, very quiet, great food (and accommodating to my dietary requirements, being a Coeliac). Pub over the road if you need a change of scenery. Would definitely stay again with comfy rooms/bed etc and a fantastic selection of Gin.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Slade, Thank you for your kind words, we enjoyed having you to stay and look forward to your return soon. Kind regards, Reception

Reviewed by
Rob S

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Frequent Guest
Really nice hotel, very good customer service, great food in a relaxed atmosphere. Individual rooms with good facilities.

ManagementResponse

Dear Trevor Hough, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that the food was great and that you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. What did you choose off the menu? Kind regards, The Management

Reviewed by
Trevor Hough

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A truely wonderful hotel
First class hotel, set in a picturesque location,
A wonderful menu with exquisite food to tantalise your taste buds.
The staff are very attentive, but also now not to "hover" .
The rooms are very spacious, with comfortable beds and pillows, so a good night sleep is guaranteed.
Possibly my only issue would of been the shower heads in the bathroom, a multi option head would be a better choice, rather than the semi massage heads currently fitted, a regular rain option would of been nice. But that is personal preference.
A wonderful hotel your sure to enjoy time and again, well done all and thank you.

ManagementResponse

Dear James, Thank you for your positive review of your time with us. It is great to hear that the staff were very attentive and that the food was exquisite. What were the dishes that tantalized your taste buds? Thank you for your suggestion regarding the showerhead. We have made a note of this and shall take it into consideration when the shower is due for replacement/upgrade. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Reception.

Reviewed by
James H

From Shoreham by Sea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic end to our honeymoon, a massive thank you to Ben and everyone else at the plough

ManagementResponse

Dear Andrew, Delighted to hear that the Plough was a fantastic end to your honeymoon. Ben and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Reception

Reviewed by
Andrew A

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
Lovely Hotel, friendly staff, fantastic food, many more Gins to sample! we will be back.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Eggleton, Thank you for your posting your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Anita, Head of Reception

Reviewed by
K EGGLETON

From Faringdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay
We booked what we thought would be a quiet peaceful hotel, unfortunately this didn't turn out that way. A child was awfully behaved and nothing was said. The same child appeared at breakfast and if possible behaved even worse, when mentioning this to a staff member they just laughed and agreed. There was a poor choice of food which was overpriced both in the evening and again for breakfast. Then to top it all we were charged a service charge which was supposedly discretionary!!!!!! Whose discretion??? An extremely expensive and disappointing stay

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Marriott, Thank you for comments. We do try and monitor the behaviour of children at the Hotel , but we are dependent on the co-operation of their parents. On this occasion we did speak to the parents and asked if they could pay more attention to their children's behaviour but unfortunately we had very little co-operation from them. We are truly sorry that the behaviour of the children spoilt your stay with us. Regarding our menu, we have a selection of 6/7 starters, 6/7 mains and 6 puddings, plus cheese. We do pride ourselves on the standard and quality of our food. We feel that too many restaurants have a large selection on their Menus, but they serve mediocre food. At the Cotswold plough, we believe that quality is better than quantity and our prices are on a par with other quality restaurants in the area. Please read our reviews that have been left by other guests on Trip Advisor. We have an excellent rating of 80% on trip advisor. We appreciate your booking and we hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Cotswold Plough. Kind Regards Martin

Reviewed by
K Marriott

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Lots of thought put into the detail. Plug by mirror for hairdryer! Lovely extra large bed and good bedlinen. Staff all very friendly and knowledgeable. Selection of gins in the bar beyond comparison. Very good food, especially breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Carolyn S

From Radcliffe-on-Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next